We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in San Lawrenz” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tatita's Restaurant

Tatita's Restaurant
Pjazza San Lawrenz, San Lawrenz, Island of Gozo, Malta
00356 79652346
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in San Lawrenz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Ate here twice in the week we were in San Lawrenz. Staff very welcoming and friendly. On both occassions we were able to sit outside in a lovely setting by San Lawrenz Church. We were given complementary bread to start which came with butter and either a sun dried tomatoe dip or a bean and tuna dip which were very tasty and meant that we did not need a starter. Main courses tried were steak, chicken in taragon sauce, dot - local fish and lobster. All very well cooked, presented and reasonably priced. Desserts were delicious and we were given a complementary liquer to end. Overall all we had an excellent evening on both occassions and only wish we had discovered it sooner so we could have gone again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    48
    31
    10
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Return of a much missed dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Closed for several months due to road works in San Lawrenz Tatitas was still shut when we were in Gozo earlier this year but reopened in June. Situated in a stunning location in San Lawrenz and housed in lovely restored building the setting is nigh perfect. The same can also be said of the charming service and the food on the evening of our visit with the lamb earning the ultimate praise from my wife, she stopped talking when she was eating it. Welcome back!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“An idylic Restaurant in a Stunning Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Having read previous reviews we had to visit this Restaurant. From our original online reservation to our arrival it was wonderful. The setting for Tatita's is just stunning with a backround of San Lawrence Church. What could be better. The weather was kind and we were able to sit outside. We were greeted by the wife of this operation and felt so welcomed. Orders were taken. Rabbit Ravioli and Chicken Gallini. Just both Sublime. Mains Rib Eye with Borderlaise Reduction & Chicken with Mushroom Sauce. The delicate fusion of Flavours just perfection in all the Dishes. Creme Brulee to finish. Perfection. A complimentary glass of Wine to Finish. A Lovely way to finish a perfect evening .You would be foolish not to visit this establishment. Great Service, Great Quality. Not to be missed :-)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heytesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“The culinary find of our week in Gozo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Delightful setting, charming service led by the lovely lady owner! Great food, especially the fish. Amazing extra touches like the lemon sorbet between courses. Course tried were the lampuki, the dot, mussels, asparagus, marinated octopus. All were greatly complimented by our party. If you go to Gozo you must visit this restaurant!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

After previous visits over the last six years we expected good things from Tatita's but sadly things were not as we'd hoped. Quality and presentation seem to have dropped....the current version of the pear and blue cheese starter, for example, is a pale imitation of its former incarnation and definitely lacks the previous finesse. Service was diabolically slow, a failing finally acknowledged by the staff who sought to make amends but alas too little too late. The setting is however much improved now the construction work in the square outside the restaurant is, at long last, virtually complete.
Bottom line is that on this visit to Gozo we only visited Tatita's once; in previous years we would have dined here at least twice. Shame.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tatita's Restaurant also viewed

San Lawrenz, Island of Gozo
Gharb, Island of Gozo
 
San Lawrenz, Island of Gozo
Gharb, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Tatita's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tatita's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.