We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay as usual!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Andrea Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added San Andrea Hotel to your Saves list
San Andrea Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Xlendi Promenade, Xlendi, Island of Gozo, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Xlendi
Bundaberg, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stay as usual!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

As always, the San Andrea Hotel was a pleasure to stay at. The rooms might be small but they are quite comfortable. The location of the hotel is fantastic and the Zafiro Restaurant serves excellent food. We have never been disappointed! Jason and his staff are wonderful hosts and very attentive. We love it and will always return!!! Thank you!

Room Tip: Bay view rooms are the nicest with great views and sea breeze. All rooms are airconditioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    146
    22
    8
    9
See reviews for
43
261
41
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My partner and I returned to the hotel, and stayed for 6 nights .
Book this hotel if you want pure relaxation , great food and swimming on your doorstep
The hotel is family run , and Jason and his team go the extra mile to accommodate , always with a smile .
This year we ate breakfast at the hotel which was ample : eggs , cereals , bread , cheese , fruits all fresh . Everything clean and fresh . There are lots of near by restaurants so you will not be spoilt for choice .
The rooms are small but comfortable , and if can afford it at a reasonabke price book a seaview room . Waking up in the morning , sitting on a balcony and looking out to sea is amazing !!
Thanks Neal and Johhny

Room Tip: Sea view room a must where you will have fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qala, Malta
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was the very first hotel we ever stayed in in Gozo. In January it was UNBELIEVABLY cheap and so, we didn't expect much. Were we in for a surprise!!!

The centre of Xlendi has a large, open air car park and you can enter the hotel via the side door so, it's not until you walk out of the front, after you've checked in and settled, that you realise you are so close to the beach you could toss pennies into the sea from the hotel door!

Our room was a little small but big enough for what we needed and VERY good value for money. The entire hotel was immaculately clean and everything worked just as it should.

The reception area is quaint and the restaurant has a lovely 1950's feel to it.

The food in the restaurant was good and the breakfast plates were stacked high. The service in the bar was friendly and speedy.

Tip: Don't park under the trees, they attract a LOT of birds in the evening. By morning, your hire car will be pebble dashed!

Room Tip: Buy the upgrade to a sea view room. This puts the sunset right outside your bedroom window! Amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is a lovely, family run hotel in a good location right next to the sea in Xlendi. The restaurant is very good, the staff are friendly and helpful, and the rooms small but comfortable. I enjoy scuba diving so being next to a very good dive operation added to the attraction of the hotel. One of the few downsides to the location is that it is right next to a road with a well-justified 'Accident Black Spot' sign. The road goes up a short, steep section so we often heard the sounds of cars and lorries making emergency stops or revving hard to make the top. This is only a small point though - this is a good place to stay and I think it is worth the extra to get a sea view room - the view is really nice.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Great little hotel with beach access and plenty of restaurants nearby. Staff was most pleasant. Would stay here again - would opt for sea view. Take the time to visit Gozo in its entirety, not just Xlendi. This hotel has good bus service to do it. Also has plenty of dive operators nearby.

Room Tip: Opt for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stay here twice every year, lovely hotel, excellent sea view room with two balconies looking out onto a stunning view, perfect to relax with a glass of wine. Staff are friendly, always ready to help, cleanliness and customer service second to none. Restaurant is excellent with great food. Jason and his family go out of their way to ensure that you have the best possible time with them. Only returned this week and counting the days till we return in september, this is definitely my second home, love it.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms a must for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

San Andrea hotel is real family run hotel Jason and his family are great hosts and do everything they can to make sure you have the best possible time with them. We had a room with a balcony right over the water perfect to enjoy the view and a glass of local rose. The food in the restaurant is very good and reasonably priced. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends and family and will definitely return

Room Tip: It's worth paying a little more for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to San Andrea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Andrea Hotel

Address: Xlendi Promenade, Xlendi, Island of Gozo, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xlendi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Xlendi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Andrea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Andrea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Andrea Xlendi
Hotel San Andrea
San Andrea Hotel Xlendi, Island Of Gozo, Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Andrea Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.