We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Andrea Hotel

Save Saved
You added San Andrea Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Andrea Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Xlendi Promenade, Xlendi, Island of Gozo, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Xlendi
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“lovely location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We last stayed here in 2008, and said we would come back one day. Could only find time for 3 nights before we go to Malta. The staff could not do more for you, so friendly. How nice to be able to do by the sea to eat your meals. Go for 1/2 board, the food is fantastic and cheaper if prebooked. Hotel is right by the side of the sea. It gets very busy in xlendi at weekends, but still friendly and a nice feel.

Room Tip: Go for seaview if there are any left
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    216
    133
    22
    8
    8
See reviews for
38
228
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sliema, Malta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed just one weekend. Our room was a small side view. Big bed but small room. Not to linger in. Staff was helpful, Restaurant very good, location perfect, right by the sea.
Great for walks and good access to Rabat and Marsaldforn. Sea view room would have made it perfect.

Room Tip: Try and avoid side view rooms, they are small and cramped. Otherwise this was excellent value for mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the San Andrea hotel as part of our Exodus trip to Gozo and Malta. What a great hotel - although the room was compact, it was clean and well maintained. Breakfast could be eaten inside or out - and the choice whilst not vast was plentiful. We were delighted to be upgraded free of charge to a sea view with a balcony from our second night and had great fun watching the world go by. The staff were friendly and helpful, and this hotel thoroughly deserves the great reviews it receives.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed 6 nights in San Andrea Hotel where staff could not do more for you. One even offered to post my cards in his own time. The hotel is family run and you feel part of a family. The restaurant is excellent and offers a 3 course set menu for residents for 15 Euro. We had a seaview room which I recommend and although the rooms are small most people we found it adequate for 6 nights. Other aspects of the hotel make up for this. The location is the best on the Island and as the Island so small everywhere is within reach. Recommned a car though.

Room Tip: Rooms at side of building overlook a road which is not constantly busy but is noisier than a room at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the San Andrea Hotel for six nights after an earlier four nights spent at a self-contained apartment in Xlendi. The apartment was horrible - but thankfully I had pre-booked a stay at the San Andrea & the following six nights spent there were fantastic & saved my holiday. The hotel is very clean, modern, superbly well located, a good restaurant and is family run with excellent service. Nothing is too much trouble. The price is competitive and for me worth every cent. I am already planning our next trip to Gozo & another stay at the San Andrea.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My friend spent 9 nights here in July. We had a great stay at this lovely hotel and felt at home from the moment we arrived. The staff were all pleasant and courteous and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was also very good and reasonably priced. We each had a sea view room which was definitely worth paying the extra for. We also loved the roof top terrace. We shall return, hopefully next year

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Very enjoyable 6 night stay. . Lovely balcony overlooking the bay. Our room was compact with few places to put things, this being really the only negative point.
Second night, the air conditioning didn’t appear to work which was very uncomfortable in the heat. We reported it to the reception and it was attended to immediately and repaired within a couple of hours.
Breakfast was inside or outside. Selection of beautifully fresh choices, all nicely displayed and covered. Enjoyed having a more limited choice of breakfast which was excellent and different every day.
Really enjoyed Xlendi. Fabulous choice of restaurants along the waterfront – visited six and all of them great.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Andrea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Andrea Hotel

Address: Xlendi Promenade, Xlendi, Island of Gozo, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xlendi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Xlendi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Andrea Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your San Andrea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Andrea Xlendi
Hotel San Andrea
San Andrea Hotel Xlendi, Island Of Gozo, Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Andrea Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.