We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Piece Of Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Andrea Hotel

Save Saved
You added San Andrea Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Andrea Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Xlendi Promenade, Xlendi, Island of Gozo, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Xlendi
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Piece Of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

A beautiful small hotel, close to the sea.

Good breakfast, clean rooms.

You can sunbathe on the sand. The beach is covered by water, but there are benches and cliffs where you can lie down. Also, the hotes has a roof terace with sunbeds.
There are no supermarkets: a food truck comes every day at noon or you can buy delicious icecream, fruits salad, chocolate, biscuits and water from little shops.
Food you can eat at the many restaurants along the shorline. The most expensive, peffer steak, about 22 euros.

The biggest disadvantage is transportation to Xlendi. From Malta airport we took a bus (almost an hour trip), then the ferry, then a cab (sick about the bus).

I would always come back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    132
    22
    8
    8
See reviews for
38
225
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Qormi, Malta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Great location. Rooms ok had a room upgrade with sea view of Xlendi bay wow enjoy sunset. Staff super friendly even with young kids. English bfast at a charge but worth the cost. Will definately visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

There are two waterfront hotels in Xlendi Bay -- San Andrea and St Patrick's. San Andrea wins hands-down.

San Andrea is half the price of St Patrick's and the only amenity you don't get is a small roof-top pool. You do still get a roof-top terrace & entertainment area with food & drinks from the downstairs restaurant.

The staff was extremely attentive & the awe-inspiring beauty of the location quickly makes you overlook any rough edges there may be (and there were few).

The only thing that kept the San Adrea from getting a "5" was the annoying practice of the room not having power when you're not there -- you have to enter your key in a slot when you walk in the door for everything to work.

Room Tip: Security conscious people note that room doors do not have secondary locks nor keyholes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I have just arrived home after a 2 week holiday at the San Andrea Hotel, and am already missing the lovely staff who made my holiday so enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble, each and everyone exceeded expectations in a most professional and friendly manner. Thank you.
The food was really lovely, in the 14 days I stayed each meal was very enjoyable and well presented. The hotel has free secure WiFi which I used daily and a free room safe.
My room was sea facing on the 4th floor, well worth the extra cost. My thanks to the lovely lady who kept it spotlessly clean for me.
Zlendi is a lovely place to stay, I used the regular reliable bus service nearly every day, the bus stop is only 2 minutes walk from the hotel.
Yes I read the review about the baby in reception however in my opinion this was not a problem. This is a lovely family run hotel for families, couples and single travellers, any children in the hotel (staying or visiting) were extremely well behaved.
Yes I plan to stay at the San Andrea Hotel again and would recommend it very highly.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are well worth extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosby, Liverpool, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Nothing but good reports about this hotel and the village itself. Yes, fairly unique for the baby being looked after at the reception desk, but quite a pleasant little difference and why not - it is their home after all!
Great views, staff, service and restaurant, and yes, whilst there was a little work going on outside at the time, we overlooked the road and didn't bother us in the slightest. Other good bars and restaurants in the village which provided choice if you wanted it.
One regret was the weather whilst we were there last week, which restricted us enjoying what I'm sure would have been great ambience right across the bay - day and night!
Would definitely go again - and perhaps see how the baby has grown up!

Room Tip: Sea view a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I booked this hotel on the strength of the majority of the reviews on trip advisor, and I'm really, really glad I did despite my pre-holiday concerns about noise. I can honestly say that even though our room faced on to the road we weren't really bothered by noise at all, and this is coming from someone who is especially noise-sensitive. This might have been helped by the fact that we were on the fourth floor but I can only see noise being a problem if you go to bed especially early as the road is more or less silent by midnight. I also disagree with people saying that this hotel is only worthwile with a sea-view room. The rooms at the side of the hotel are very nice, incredibly good value, and you have exclusive use of a roof terrace at the hotel which overlooks the bay, so you have a sea view anyway!
By far and away the best thing about this hotel is the wonderful service and fantastic staff. This really is 5 star service in a 3 star hotel. Staff are friendly, remember you and whatever information you give them about yourself, room service is prompt, and it's just a really happy place to be because the staff are obviously happy in their work. This place is a real little gem, and Xlendi bay itself is beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Really liked little Xlendi, although there is very little to do there but relax, eat and drink - which was fine for us for a couple of days! On arrival at the hotel, we located Reception which is pretty small at the best of times and even smaller with the owners' travel cot and baby in situ. I don't think I've ever checked in anywhere where the receptionist (who I think was the owner) was juggling a baby, paperwork and room keys! Not a particularly professional reception, but efficient in spite of the childcare going on. As soon as we accessed our room, I heard the noise of the clanging grate(s) in the road which were referred to by a previous reviewer. I must admit my heart sank a little bit as I thought that the roadworks and clanging had been resolved by now. It was cool enough in the room to keep the patio door shut at night to block out the noise of the regular bus service to the capital and other transport being re-routed past the hotel at present. Ate in the restaurant on the first night, which was lovely and recommended. We ate a la carte and didn't try the hotel set menu option. Staff generally very friendly, although one of the waiters was a bit snooty about us sitting outside just for drinks at about 6pm on the Sunday night as all the tables had been laid up for dinner (only one of the approx 15 or so tables was occupied!). To be fair, the other waiter(s) were all accommodating and genial. Our final morning was ruined by hammering on steel railings and a pneumatic drill digging up the pavement outside the hotel just after 7.30am. This was outside of the hotel's control from what we could gather as it was local government works. However, it wasn't the best end to our trip and if tourism is important to the local economy, perhaps the Gozitans need to be a bit more considerate of tourists on holiday before organising noisy works by a beach early in the morning!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Andrea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Andrea Hotel

Address: Xlendi Promenade, Xlendi, Island of Gozo, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xlendi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Xlendi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Andrea Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your San Andrea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Andrea Xlendi
Hotel San Andrea
San Andrea Hotel Xlendi, Island Of Gozo, Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Andrea Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.