We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely night by the sea ^.^” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moby Dick Restaurant

Moby Dick Restaurant
4 marina street, Xlendi, Island of Gozo XLN 1011, Malta
+356 2156 1518
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 27 Restaurants in Xlendi
Price range: $0 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Marsascala, Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely night by the sea ^.^”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Lovely ambience, fantastic food and super friendly service!! Already been twice and looking forward to the next visit ((:

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    62
    22
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“dreadful appalling and worse”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Dreadful service. Told we had to wait for Chinese menu. Explained we and two young children had been travelling since 2am GMT. So ordered alternatives as we didn't want to wait. Others around us served Chinese food before us! After 40 mins we were served an adult pizza. Nothing else. Appalling response from manager when we complained. Why wouldn't we complain? Had to listen to silly poor excuses. And worse because we never saw the manager again and not once asked what we thought would help sort our concerns. And worse because table next to us complained about fries only to be told "that's how we cook them"! So read some of the other reviews. You will get the theme. In our experience businesses like this don't last long. We won't be back. It really really is the worst restaurant we have been to - ever

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food, affordable, nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Had some nice italian dishes for a late lunch with the benefit of a great view on Xlendi Bay.
If you come here, have a try.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta EUROPE
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Idyllic setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Whether for lunch or dinner, whether winter or summer, whether a couple, family, with friends or alone, this is the place to be. Tables are literally at the water's edge, right inside the tiny picturesque unspoilt bay. And the menu? I honestly have never encountered such a vast and varied menu! Anything from pasta (try their fresh seafood) to pizza (I love the typical Gozitana pizza with anchovies and potatoes) to fresh fish to meat...... to Chinese!! This is not the place for a hurried meal and definitely not fast food, but if it is a relaxed meal you are after, then bag a table asap.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth visiting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Good service and nice food. Especially the ginger/soya sea bass was excellent and will not be forgotten in a long time! The staff also picked the bone out of the sea bass for the youngest one of us :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moby Dick Restaurant also viewed

Xlendi, Island of Gozo
Xlendi, Island of Gozo
 
Xlendi, Island of Gozo
Xlendi, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Moby Dick Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moby Dick Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.