We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and nice relaxing atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moby Dick Restaurant

Moby Dick Restaurant
4 marina street, Xlendi, Island of Gozo XLN 1011, Malta
+356 2156 1518
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 29 Restaurants in Xlendi
Price range: $0 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Safi, Malta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food and nice relaxing atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We ate 4 nights in a row at this restaurant. Have been to Xlendi several times in recent years and have tried the majority of the other restaurants in the bay. This is by far the best we've been at since. In these four days we have had pizzas, meats, fish and also chinese, so tried all the menu. We have always been served in a timely and efficient manner. Staff was always extremely polite and friendly. All the food we have eaten was always cooked to perfection and in larger than normal portions. Considering all the above the prices were extremely reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    68
    25
    11
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kalkara, Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were greeted with a welcome smile and was placed on a table for two. The restaurant itself looks very nice, which it was a good start.

I'm not a fan of starters so I skipped the starter and we ordered two pizzas. I'm a cook myself, and I have to say, the pizza is one of the best I have ever tasted, if not the best!, It's all about the dough ! It stayed crunchy even till the last bite. I tasted a chicken pizza and a bufala pizza, the bufala is amazingly delicious! :)

Around 2-3 days after, I had breakfast here too.. and again it was very good. Nothing extra-ordinary but a filled fresh plate.

I'm a fan of coffee and just a little suggestion, I would preferred my coffee with a small biscuit on the side!

but overall, I'm a happy man!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“about a food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This weekend we ate at MobyDick. We ordered the set menu which consisted of bruschetta, fish soup and swordfish. The swordfish were either frozen or else not fresh. When we told the waiter, he did not give us any satisfaction but was arrogant at us. Will not recommend this restaurant, not value for money at all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“An okay supper”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We chose from the set menu which was fine but nothing special. It was a bit dark and poorly lit to eat boney fresh fish but it was quite tasty. It was unfortunate that we had tried to get in somewhere else so we were feeling slightly negative from the start. Try it, we just weren't in the right frame of mind.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good sea bream with scenic views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Well, the sea bream was delicious.

The service has improved since my last visit.

It's a well priced restaurant with very nice sea views of the Xlendi bay.

If you go there for lunch, you might be slashed with some sea water coming from (wild) people swimming/playing in the vicinity of the restaurant. Apart from that, it's a good choice.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moby Dick Restaurant also viewed

Xlendi, Island of Gozo
Xlendi, Island of Gozo
 
Xlendi, Island of Gozo
Xlendi, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Moby Dick Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moby Dick Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.