We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel but not 5 star -badly needs refurbishing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ta' Cenc

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ta' Cenc to your Saves list
Hotel Ta' Cenc
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cenc Street, Sannat, Island of Gozo VCT 112 , Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sannat
Marsaxlokk, Malta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel but not 5 star -badly needs refurbishing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We saw reviews about this hotel after we booked so we complained and asked for a better room. They said they will give us the best room available.

The room was quite spacious and very well lit. However the bathroom needs refurbishing. There was a ceiling fan attached which does not even work. The fridge was very old as well. Bed was quute comfortable overall. There was a soffit ceiling in corridor which was stained and had holes in it.

The outside pools especially the family pool had broken tiles and was dirty

We were disappointed with the Spa as children were only allowed from 9-12, I understand this is because of the noise as this is a relaxing environment, however during the time we visited there wasnt anyone. They should do this only in peak periods when the hotel is busy.

Spa pool is very nice, it is indoor and outdoor at the same time. The outdoor part is beautiful and very well maintained.

Restaurant was quite nice and the food was very good. Staff very friendly and polite.

Overall a beautiful hotel however if it needs refurbishing as its not a 5 star for sure!




  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    135
    66
    26
    25
See reviews for
87
277
13
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We spent the day here. Cost 30 euros.
We read reviews that where good and bad. Outside was a little run down but out of season.

This was a treat for my birthday and to begin with I was gutted. We had our 4yr old daughter with us and went straight to the kids pool. Cold I expected dirty no.
But then we went for our inclusive light lunch and was blown away excellent food excellent service.
Fillet steak with all the trimmings, 8 giant king prawns with a beautiful salad and chips, best macaroni Bolognese on the island.
We then went indoors to the spa. Waw
Staff amazing couldn't do enough, pool lovely and warm. Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, and gym

I will be back and would recommend a day out here to anyone visiting Gozo
My 4yr old Lea loved it
Thank you all for a wonderful day out.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Malta
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

It is a quite and poshy Hotel,love it.The staff are GR8T the food is is excellent,the rooms are clean and breakfast served in rooms wowwwww It is very relaxing try it,you won't be disappoited for sure. Location is only 10mins drive to Rabat,I love GOZO.

Room Tip: I had a pool view room it is amazing.Breakfast served in rooms while I was in the bathroom watching...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We booked in and two hours later booked out. This looks like a once smart hotel that's now worn at the edges and in need of a major upgrade. The lack of a proper walk-in shower in our room, filthy loungers and pool were the deal breakers for us. Just because you put a paper ribbon round the toilet seat and tell the staff to wear ties doesn't make it a five star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I spent a lovely 6 nights in a trullo bungalow over the Easter holiday. Although I agree with some previous visitors that they were a little grubby with dated furniture, we felt the overall ambience was great and we could ignore that. I believe some of the other suites have been refurbished so we would go for one of those if the price was right for next time.
We were on half board which we were very pleased with. Breakfast was excellent with a huge selection of hot and cold food to suit all tastes and cultures.
Evening meals included in half board were very generous 4 courses with plenty of choice and changed every day. The food was very much 5 star as was the service in the restaurant by the charming Ferdinand and the rest of the team. They all spoke to us with such friendliness and answered all the many questions we asked them about the locality, etc with enthusiasm.
The spa was beautiful. Probably could have had more staff though.
Outside pools looked like they weren't being used but as we left they were being cleaned so we assume the season is only just beginning (we left 6th April).
The many lounge and bar areas were beautiful, looking out over Comino and Malta.
So thank you very much Ta Cenc hotel and see you again soon we hope!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The breakfast area and the restaurant was quite nice and clean. However our room was a nightmare! We had spiders, mushroom in the wardrobe and awful smell in the whole room. It wasn't possible to change the room because whole hotel was fully booked. Outside of the bungalow (the rooms are in the bungalows) was a lot of dirtiness also. The stay was a nightmare and I do not recommend anyone to overpay the stay in this hotel. It is worth maximum 60 euro per two people, not 170!! I upload pics of mushroom in the wardrobe and outside dirt on the sunbeds. I am highly disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ta' Xbiex, Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Myself and some friends of mine decided to spend a day at the Ta' Cenc Spa. When trying to call for some information before we actually went to the Spa, the staff was not that helpful, the receptionist or beauty therapist at the spa failed to answer the calls so we had to wait for her to call back, which she did. Prices are reasonable if you're just using the basic facilities (steam room, jacuzzi, heated pool and gym) for a day.

However when we arrived at the spa we waited for over 15 minutes at the reception since no one was there to show us around or give us towels etc. We ended up going to the hotel reception and one of the receptionists had to come to the Spa himself to give us the towels. Since we were in a 5 star hotel we expected 5 star treatment, i.e. towels, towel slippers and a bathrobe, however we were only given 1 towel and there were some plastic covers which one could wear instead of the slippers.

We weren't even given a key for a locker to put our belongings in and there was no soap or shampoo to have a shower afterwards. There was no privacy in the changing rooms and the toilets were not that clean. We ended up going round the spa with no bathrobe and when I asked the beauty therapist for a massage she answered that "it is a bit impossible today"! So we only used the jacuzzi, steam room and heated pool and we ended up leaving quite early; we spent 3 hrs max instead of the full day we had initially planned. It is hardly a spa, but rather a hotel with indoor facilities.

The Spa has the most beautiful heated pool which extends to an outside area and the environment is just perfect for relaxation but unfortunately the service is not that of a 5 star hotel and it was definitely not to our expectations.

Although the hotel is renowned for its rustic ambience and exquisite food, it lacks the 5 star service!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ta' Cenc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ta' Cenc

Address: Cenc Street, Sannat, Island of Gozo VCT 112 , Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Sannat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sannat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ta' Cenc 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ta' Cenc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ta' Cenc Island Of Gozo, Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ta' Cenc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.