We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il-Girna Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Il-Girna Residence to your Saves list
Il-Girna Residence
2.0 of 5 Condominium   |   5 Skerla Street, Sannat, Island of Gozo VCT 112, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Copenhagen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Excellent place where you will feel like one of the locals. The owners are extremelly helpful and strive to make the stay a great experience. When we arrived we mentioned that we wanted to go diving the next day, and Maria (the owner) immediatelly called a diving center to arrange for our diving tour the day after, which saved us a few hours having to look for one ourselves!
If anything bad is worth noting is probably the location, it is a little out of the way, but public transport is just a couple of hundred meters away. I definitelly recommend this place, the rooms are very spacious and clean.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    14
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
42
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We just spent a week at Il Girna Residence and it was the most magical holiday thanks to the world class hospiality of Maria and Teddy. They look after everyone as if you are family; with dinner at their resuarant, and Ted's guiding hand for visits and excursions. We spent a day on a yacht arranged by Teddy in Comino bay, swimming in the Blue Lagoon, BBQ, drinks and much fun. We are already planning to go back in the New Year.
We booked directly with them through their website, having eaten in their restaurant last year and loved the food.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 5 days in September. You owe it to yourself to visit Gozo- it's a great island and deserves a few days. The place is tucked away at the end of the road in the village of Sannat, about ten minutes walk from the magnificent cliffs of Ta Cenc which deserve to be far more famous... There is only one bus an hour to Sannat so you may want to consider hiring a car if you plan on getting out and about.

The hotel is closer to a guesthouse in some respects but this is no bad thing. Breakfast is a feast of meats, fruit, cereal, eggs, fruit juice and tea and coffee around a communal table. The rooms (we saw two of them) are large, very clean and well appointed though the absence of air-con might be a problem in the height of summer. Our room had two fans.

The staff are great- very helpful and friendly: Teddy even drove us to the harbour the day we left and Maria sorted out car hire for us! Teddy and Maria run a restaurant very near the hotel and because there is not much else in Sannat you may find yourself in there a lot- lucky that it's a fantastic restaurant then! The pepper steak I had was one of the best I've ever had- and I eat a lot of steak! The restaurant also does excellent pizzas though you may need to ask for the pizza menu.

The pool area is lovely and gets the sun for most of the day. The water is bracing and very refreshing... If you fancy a walk, there is a lovely spot for snokelling called Mgarr Ix Xini about 25-35 minutes walk away: don't turn right towards the cliffs, keep going along the dusty track until it drops down to the sea...

All-in-all, this is a fantastic place to spend some time- do yourself a favour and hole up here for a few days of relaxation on a fascinating island....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piazzola sul brenta, italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

My wife and I booked this vacation with no prior info on the islands. IL Girna offered us a great last minute hotel for great rates and it was all well worth it! The staff is more like an extended family throughout your vacation, as they are ready and wiling to do just about anything to accommodate their guests. The rooms were clean and BIG and there was always a fresh breakfast waiting in the morn. This place is self-equipped with everything (restaurants/ pool/ kitchenette, NET, etc. etc. etc.) you need to have a fantastic MED vacation! Don't waste your time gettin the run around, get your money's worth HERE!

Room Tip: try to have atleast 3nights stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

This is a lovely little place. I've just got back from a weekend break there with my girlfriend. The building is classically styled but modern, tastefully and well decorated such that you would easily mistake it for being a hotel with a much higher asking price for its quality rooms.

The room we had was on the second floor and we were made to feel very welcome depsite arriving not much before midnight. The owner carried my girlfriend's case up the winding grand-looking highly polished granite staircase for her and we were shown to our room. The owners ensured we were comfortable and happy before we turned in for the night. The double-bedded room was huge, clean, tidy, airy and tastefully decorated with ample storage for clothes and everything else you might bring with you to a hotel, a large west-facing balcony (with equally large doors to let in lots of light) offering fantastic views over the hills and towns of Gozo as well as chance to catch a gorgeous sunset (if you time it right!) and of course a view of the substantial and inviting swimming pool directly below.

Despite the room not having air conditioning, even during the height of summer the rooom did not feel uncomfortably hot to us. And with the provision of a 5 speed ceiling fan and a portable upright fan, should you feel hot, a relaxing waft of air is there when you want it.

The en-suite traditionally tiled bathroom consists of a press button to flush toilet, a large sink/vanity area repleat with an equally large mirror. The large stylish rectangular corner shower was as impeccably clean as the rest of the room, water pressure was more than adequate and the hot water was actually hot!

There's a sitting room with comfy chairs and on the 2nd floor landing there's a large table around which groups of guests can gather and plan their day's activies before (or after) heading to get breakfast!...

Breakfast was a feast of all you can eat self-service cereals and rounds of toast bought to you on plates hot and fresh from the kitchen until you are full up enough to say "no thank you!" to any more, while the single, large table where all guests gather around to eat is festooned with fresh sliced meats, cheeses, yoghurts, strawberries, conserves, butters and cartons of fruit juice. If you can't find anything to eat here for breakfast among all of this, really you shouldn't be staying in any hotel in the first place - try self catering instead!

The owners were warm, friendly and did everything possible to accommodate our needs - I needed an extra pillow and that was no problem.

I would throughly recommended this establishment to anyone wanting simple, quiet, quality, no-hassle, relaxing accommodation. It's down a number of side streets and thus is probably not an establishment that attracts much passing trade but that truly is a shame, it's a gem of a place that deserves to be booked up each and every night, during both high and low season!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We just got back from a weekend in Gozo, staying at Il-Girna. It's a lovely guesthouse, beautifully decorated, impeccably kept and with a pool. The owners are very lovely people and they make you feel at home as if you are part of their family and provide the opportunity for guests to mingle and get to know each other. They are also there to provide any help or service you may require and go out of their way to help. They also give advice on where to visit and offer trips to Comino on Mondays (not sure if they do on other days too).

The continental breakfast was very abundant. We had cereal, as much toast as you can eat, ham, luncheon meat and cheese, fresh fruit, yoghurt, tea and coffee... you will definitely get all the energy you need in the morning!

The room was beautiful, spacious and very clean, as was the en-suite shower, and there was a great view from our balcony.

Although the location is not one that most people will look for in the beginning, it is a very ideal location for those wanting a quiet and relaxing holiday. There are amazing views, and you can walk to the Ta' Cenc cliffs. You can almost see the whole island from this location.

They also have a restaurant close by, which serves delicious Mediterranean food.

I will definitely stay there again when visiting Gozo next and recommend it to everyone I know.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

We had an excellent week at this lovely, welcoming hotel. The owners are a very friendly couple, and encouraged us to help ourselves to tea and coffee whenever we fancied a cup, even though we stayed on a b&b basis. The room was very clean with a lovely big double bed, and the en-suite shower room suited us perfectly. There was a shared fridge on each landing so we could keep our drinks nice and cold, which was essential as it was very warm during our stay. The swimming pool area has ample sunbeds, and as there are only 10 rooms it never gets crowded.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys a totally relaxing holiday, and this beautiful island is well worth exploring from this super base. We booked our hire car through the hotel too and got an excellent deal, and I would have no hesitation in doing the whole thing all over again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il-Girna Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il-Girna Residence

Address: 5 Skerla Street, Sannat, Island of Gozo VCT 112, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Sannat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Sannat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Il-Girna Residence 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Il-Girna Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il-Girna Residence Island Of Gozo, Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il-Girna Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.