We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Veranda

Veranda
Triq Manoel De Vilhena, 3 | Mgarr Harbour, Mgarr, Island of Gozo, Malta
+356 79030676
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Mgarr
Price range: $6 - $58
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We want you to feel at home in our restaurant and we have designed it specifically to create a warm, welcoming and friendly atmosphere. We also have a lovely veranda where you can sit outside.Our menu changes every week because the freshest ingredients are always used. We have, of course, included a few classics Italian plates, but there is always something different to try.
Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A delightful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Been here last Sunday for the third time. Food was consistently tasty. We were served warm savour zeppoli and bread as soon as we ordered. The staff was gentle and patient with our children. We had an extra dessert, as this is our favourite part of the dinner, with pannacotta with frutti di bosco, chocolate tiramisu and chocolate cheesecake. All three were wonderful ! Look forward to the next visit. Thumbs up.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    15
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Good food!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Me and my boyfriend we had spaghetti marinara which was really good although we have waited a long time for our dishes to arrive on the table. But overall very good food and staff.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best place to eat in whole Malta and Gozo Islands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We are visiting this place since two years. Every time we come there the quality of food and warm atmosphere is well delivered. Why we keep coming back? Because of food quality and genuine dishes. We are not fast food, deep fried food, mass food funs. On the contrary we have travelled lots in our lives, eaten in different places of the world, plus teavelled whole Italy as well - we can easily see the effort and genuinity in the food, and here we saw it from the first time. Being back so many times more.We were surprised as in Malta food is massive,fast food like, deep fried, over greasy with low quality ingredients, to find such place. If u like quality go there, u like masses food go to Mc D. I personally suggest fish soup (u will be surpriesed super good!) sea food dishes from great starters choice can be ordered as a main-if u like fish or/and sea food. But don't forget u are on an island and it is THE place to eat such food, pizza or steaks u can eat every where !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Menu changes every few weeks. Very delicious plates every time we visit.
Hosts provide excellent service.
Highly recommended!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A new Gozo favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We ended up here partly by accident after finding our old haunt Rexys closed, we decided to investigate Mgarr and in the end are delighted we did as we had no idea what we were missing. The restaurant is on a side street just off the harbour flanked by several other restaurants making for a pleasant little setting. The Italian influence becomes more evident in the cosy interior and we were given a friendly welcome by our waiters (two brothers who are also the owners) who led us to a table in the downstairs of the restaurant. The menu was extensive and we were all delighted with our meals, my mushroom and truffle pasta was absolutely delicious and it proved very good value for five people. As a final aside, as a huge football fan I enjoyed the Cisk pint glasses adorned with the Maltese football crest and at the end of the meal asked if we would be able to purchase one - we were very kindly given one for free, a lovely gesture that summed up the excellent service throughout. Will definitely become a regular stop for our annual Gozo visits.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veranda also viewed

Mgarr, Island of Gozo
Mgarr, Island of Gozo
 
Mgarr, Island of Gozo
Mgarr, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Veranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veranda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.