We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“views across to malta, lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mgarr, Island of Gozo GSM 9026, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
johannesburg
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“views across to malta, lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

stayed at this hotel August 2012, would strongly recommend the top flight rooms with terrace, for the views across the Gozo Channel to Malta.
Good value for the room size, excellent quality room service and good breakfast buffet in the morning.
several good restaurants in Mgarr to try out, so did not eat here for lunch or dinner. All places were within walking distance.
really nice pool area with views across the Channel again.

Room Tip: spend the extra for the terrace rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    228
    60
    19
    8
See reviews for
104
409
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Easy to get to the Gozo Ferry Terminal by Bus from Malta Airport (Catch Bus X1) costing 5 Euros for a family of 4 (One way) Collected from the Ferry Terminal by the Hotel, a lovely welcome drink on arrival, We were early so had to wait for our room, but this was fine as we had access to the pool - (Free Pool Towels a nice touch - collect from Reception) Our Family room was just amazing - Huge with a Kingsize Bed, x2 Single Beds, Dining table and chairs and sofas, opening up onto a gigantic balcony which had x2 Sunbeds and a table with Chair plus Umbrella overlooking the Harbour.
The hotel staff were fantastic, friendly & helpful - especially Carmelino in the dining room, who remember our room number every day! The food was very good, with proper pork sausages in the morning Buffet and a 3 course meal in the evening served to an exceptional standard. 3 nights a week there is a BBQ on the roof.
The Hotel also runs a free bus services to local beaches and Victoria.
No entertainment in the evening and no entertainement local to the hotel either, so perfect if you want a quiet relaxing break.

Room Tip: Family Rooms are HUGE
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Brilliant 11 day stay at the Grand. Staff are WONDERFUL and couldn't have been more helpful and pleasant.
We stayed B&B and the breakfast was very good. Plenty of choice with cooked meat, cheeses, toast, rolls, cereal, salads, fruit and cooked breakfast. There's a snack menu at lunch and dinner which offers a good choice. There's a rooftop barbecue 3 times a week which we didn't try and a choice of a la carte or buffet dinner the other nights. Both were good but we preferred eating at one of the several harbour restaurants - all within a 10 minute walking distance.

Superior sea view rooms are large and comfortable with seating area and large balconies with fantastic views over the harbour, Gozo channel, Comino and Malta. Pool is lovely - also with lovely views. There aren't a lot of loungers but we always found a space of our choice as most residents seem to go out for the day to the various beaches or on trips. The hotel has daily trips to these beaches and various sightseeing tours of the island. Our only trip was to the Blue Lagoon and Comino caves. Go to the Blue Lagoon as early in the day as you can as it gets very crowded, and not very pleasant!

We are already planning our next visit

Room Tip: The higher up you are the better the room. The biggest rooms are those ending 03 or 04. 603 is huge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Having just returned from 7 nights at the Grand Hotel, all I can say is fantastic. We had booked a standard room, but seeing we weren't in there much it suited us fine. The staff are so polite and courteous no matter how busy they were. The views from the hotel are brilliant we could have quite easily sat on the terrace all day admiring the views. The location is well suited easy enough to get to the harbour and to catch the buses to Victoria. The hotel also offers a bus service to the Ramala Beach, Hondog Beach free of charge but only on certain days. All the staff need a pat on the back for all their had work. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have just returned from two weeks in the Grand Hotel and it was worth every single penny. We had a huge room with a view of the harbour and the beds were the best we have ever had in a family room.
We felt thoroughly spoiled during our stay because if the quality of the food and the attentive staff. They really couldn't have done more and the management should recognise the wealth of talent they have in their staff. Lucy on reception was extremely courteous and helpful and above all caring. Georgio at breakfast was just a treat, Frances and Paul behind the bar were completely professional. Frances has the patience of a saint given the way some people spoke to her during our final week and yet still she smiled. Her cocktails were simply wonderful.
I just wish we knew the names of other staff who all deserve recognition!
My husband is a professional chef and he was very impressed by the food and my girls loved the smiling chef who cooked their steaks so carefully. Nothing was ever too much trouble for any of the staff.
The pool was rarely crowded and kept immaculate by the hard working cleaners and pool staff. It was a joy not to have worry about finding a sun bed since one was always available. We met some lovely families and I have no doubt that we will return to enjoy all the Grand has to offer.
Thank you

Room Tip: Always opt for a sea view - it's just beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkirkara
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Would definitely suggest this hotel for all purposes whether it's for a short break or a long break! A definite stay in Gozo. Fabulous views, cleanliness and most of all servicing staff is very well - mannered. Always with a smile on their face, and ready to serve you. Food is excellent and prices are quite reasonable!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have been to the Grand Hotel several times for short stays and we must admit that it has consistently maintained high standards. The location can't be better despite the constant activity and traffic at Mgarr port whilst the rooms are very spacious and clean. Service is exceptional and the long serving loyal staff very friendly. The views are spectacular from the seaview rooms and if you really want an exceptional room go for a Superior sea view room. Definitely, a highly recommended hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are sometimes facing buildings. Go for a seaview room if you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: Mgarr, Island of Gozo GSM 9026, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Mgarr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is ideally situated overlooking the fishing hamlet of Mgarr Harbour and the surrounding verdant valley. The hotel enjoys panoramic views of Comino and Malta across the Gozo channel. Viewed from above, the to and fro of the fishing boats and the incomparable vistas add a romantic touch to the excellent hospitality offered at the hotel. Guests often comment on how enjoyable these views are from the large and private sun terraces found in most rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mgarr
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Island Of Gozo/Mgarr, Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.