We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thank you” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mgarr, Island of Gozo GSM 9026, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Sliema
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“thank you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We are frequent visitors to the hotel and were always very pleased with the hotel`s hospitality but this weekend it was better than usual. When our key card didnt work we had a room upgrade to a superior sea view room. Thank you for this.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    227
    60
    19
    8
See reviews for
103
408
30
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marsaskala, null, Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I've been there last December together with my husband and kids and i must say that it was what we were looking for, relaxing break, comfy beds, nice room with a fantastic scenery of the Mgarr harbour, clean, good food etc etc. It was nice to beeing greeted with a welcoming drink upon our arrival. All the staff is very welcoming from the receptionists to the bar/restaurant staff, the woman that helped us through reservations was amazing, very very helpful (i don't think it's appropriate to write down her name for data protection reasons as otherwise i would have mentioned her name), she really did her best to make our stay a very good one and she managed. I liked the fact that i could do some tea in my room in the evening, anyway there is so much to write but i think it's enough, anyway very well done to everyone, hope i left noone out but just to show you how much we enjoyed it we just booked another 3nights there. Keep up the good work and see you soon.

Room Tip: Just ask what you wish and they'll be more that happy to help you out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haz-Zebbug, Malta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The perfect place for an ideal family holiday ! The hotel's staff are exceptionally helpful, and reservations are truly receptive to all your needs.
Breakfast is great, will keep you full till late afternoon (guaranteed) !! The rooms are very tidy, clean and bathrooms are quite spacious with everything that is required (from shower gel to hair dryer). You can also find tea & coffee making facilities in the room itself.

The view from the hotel balcony is superb, with amazing views of Mgarr Harbour.

I truly recommend this hotel to families who would like a tranquil place away from home :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosta, Malta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

If you would like a tranquil place to enjoy your stay in Gozo just book here.

Place is tidy, food is good and you also get a Cinema service on Friday and Saturday and free trips to Rabat during set weekdays.

Reservations are truly receptive and see to all your needs.

Room Tip: Just choose a room with he harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Grand Hotel last week. We were greeted with a nice glass of orange juice which I thought was a very nice touch. We were accommodated in room with a terrace (i.e. best rooms available in hotel) which had ample space and amazing views of Gozo harbour. Terrace had two sunbeds and table and chairs, lounge area in the room and his and hers sinks in the bathroom :) Room was very clean on arrival and cleaned every day as well. Breakfast was very good. The hotel had a very nice restaurant in the evening (which we didn't try), also, has a bar that serves 'light' snacks. We have tried the latter and was not disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Having just left a hotel on the mainland where we had a wonderful experience, our first impressions of the Grand Hotel were a little flat. We were hot and bothered and not in the best frame of mind which did not help. Our room was not ready upon arrival, which would have been fine, we would have just left our bags and gone for a walk, but they insisted it would not be long so we waited in the lobby. They told us they would bring us some complimentary drinks, I asked if we could have a drink for our additional family members who were also waiting for their accommodation to be available (obviously not at this hotel) and they said no - although we just wanted some cold water. They brought out orange juice - which is lovely if you like it, but asking us if we would prefer water would have been better. I know it sounds terrible, but I sent it back.

The wait for our room was almost an hour. Although I must say, it was certainly worth it. I still don't know if we were upgraded, but when we walked in it was like walking into a different climate. Whilst the lobby had been hot and uncomfortable, our room was almost chilly! And the size of the room (or should I say suite?) was HUGE! There was an extra room, a massive main area, an ample bathroom and a wonderful balcony with a delightful view. We walked around mouths agape. It was pristine - very very clean. In fact the ladies that work so hard cleaning the rooms should be commended. They did an impressive job and were very friendly as well.
One day, after hopping out of the shower we actually had to open the balcony to deactivate the A/C because it was just too cold - something we did not experience at any other point during our trip. I am certainly not complaining - it was a wonderful treat which we boasted about to our families who could not cool down to save themselves. Also, the mini bar is well stocked and so excellently priced that we enjoyed several things, especially the beverages!

The pool area was another wonderful feature which we loved using. The BBQ on the roof was delicious and a delightful surprise. The food was outstanding and the service exceptional. The service was equally good at breakfast. Very friendly and professional. We looked forward to talking to the breakfast staff and seeing their smiling faces in the morning. The breakfast buffet was very good although we were not so impressed with the food on the standard menu offered at lunch or dinner. With the exception of the breakfast and the roof top BBQ - you are better off going for a stroll to the harbour and enjoying one of the local restaurants.

The front desk always seemed to be struggling. They seemed understaffed and at times even frazzled, this was especially evident during check out. I felt sorry for the poor girl who did not seem to have any support during a particularly busy period and having to deal with impatient and disgruntled customers. For the most part they seemed friendly.

We will definitely be back, mainly because of the size and quality of the rooms, the hotel facilities and the delightful staff at breakfast and housekeeping - to those I would love to say Thank you and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hotel and its is totally beautiful. All the staff are very helpful and also very friendly.. we were offered a welcome drink when we arrived .. breakfast was abundant and delicious ..its locations gives very beautiful views! rooms were very clean as well and also very well furnished..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: Mgarr, Island of Gozo GSM 9026, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Mgarr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is ideally situated overlooking the fishing hamlet of Mgarr Harbour and the surrounding verdant valley. The hotel enjoys panoramic views of Comino and Malta across the Gozo channel. Viewed from above, the to and fro of the fishing boats and the incomparable vistas add a romantic touch to the excellent hospitality offered at the hotel. Guests often comment on how enjoyable these views are from the large and private sun terraces found in most rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mgarr
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Island Of Gozo/Mgarr, Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.