We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tmun Mgarr

Tmun Mgarr
Martino Garces Street, Mgarr, Island of Gozo, Malta
+356 2156 6276
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Mgarr
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: For the past 25 years our family run business has been providing you with the most hospitable & quality dining experience. The winning recipe for this attainment is surely our passion and enthusiasm towards the catering industry. We look forward to translating our proficiency by further providing you with quality dining in our new venture at Tmun Mgarr.
Nailsea, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Lovely, harbour side restaurant where one can watch boat maintenance and ferries coming and going. Fabulous fusion menu so that tuna three ways had strong Japanese influence whilst crab ravioli was definitely local. Friendly service, beautiful presentation and properly paced meal. We had starter size mains as Gozitan portions are pretty large and the dessert menu is good (on an island where desserts are often disappointing). Good value at 75€ for three courses, wine, water and coffee for two.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    64
    17
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Divine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The restaurant is tucked away behind some fishing boats so it took a little finding but it was worth the hunt. Beautifully presented food, packed with flavour and style.
The restaurant is family run with Dad out front and Mom and Son in the kitchen and the pride and care they put in to the food shows through.
For starters we had the mixed seafood platter and it was fantastic, for mains we asked for something off menu. We explained what we were looking for, not a problem said the owner - how about we do this fish like this and it was superb. It's great to find a restaurant such as this, next time we're in Gozo we will certainly be coming here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Always a fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have visited Gozo many times over the last 15 years and we always plan a lunch or dinner at this fabulous restaurant. The food is fresh, well cooked and the presentation is beautiful. The service is friendly and the general atmosphere is very relaxed and stylish. This restaurant is a must for anybody visiting Gozo, don't miss out!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have visited this restaurant many times every time we holiday on gozo. It always exceeds our expectation. The food is fresh, interesting and very tasty. The front of house staff are very friendly. You will enjoy your dining experience when you go there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“THE Finest Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This review covers our December 2012 & May 2013 visit.
Difficult to add yet more adulation to what is surely THE finest freshest fish eatery on Gozo. Even in the lower season the fish might be only out of water a few hours before being expertly cooked to your liking by family owners Leli & Jane; ably supported by son Paul. Catch of the day means exactly that; not last week; today, now - sometimes you will actually see the catch being loaded to the restaurant and owner Leli personally selecting his choices for the menu. Also brilliant fine list at stupid (affordable) rates... oh yes and the dockside improvement works are effectively done so you can enjoy the harbour scenes and sounds properly again now... You will be welcomed as one of the family there and they do have other non-fish items if you should want (which they do very well too) but that would be a wasted opportunity. Our visits have always been lunch due to our itinerary but imagine dinner is even more exciting... and yes of course we will visit again - December 2013 is already on the itinerary.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tmun Mgarr also viewed

Mgarr, Island of Gozo
Mgarr, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Tmun Mgarr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tmun Mgarr, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.