We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pergola Club Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pergola Club Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Pergola Club Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Adenau St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 2014, Malta   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE WI-FI
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Los Alcazares
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Disappointing Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We booked into this hotel for two nights. We wanted a sea view room. We got a sea view apartment. We had a double bed. It was more like two camp beds put together. The bedding was dreadful. The sheets under you just got undone and you found yourself lying on the bare mattress. The over sheet was likewise and then you had a bed spread that weighed a ton. The room was very cold too with no controls for the air conditioning.
The lifts were old and kept making a thumping noise each time they were in use. We could here this thumping from our room.

There was a charge for parking in the hotel car park. We just parked on the road. There was a charge if you wanted to use the internet in your room. There was a deposit and a rental charge for the use of the room safe. There was a charge if you wanted a couple of sachets of coffee and tea bags!
Our bed was not made on our second day and the used towels were not changed.
The evening meal in the restaurant was so unpalatable that even though we were hungry, we left most of it. The following day we checked out breakfast. The cooked food was not pleasant. The cold meat was passable.
The second day we ate at the sister hotel Solana. The food was much better here. The actual hotel was overall better than the Pergola hotel.
This hotel is definitely not a 4 Star hotel.

Will not be returning to this hotel ever.

Room Tip: There are so much better hotels for the same price or cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Please do accept our sincerest apologies if we have failed to meet your expectations, during your brief sojourn at our hotel. Your feedback has definitely not gone unnoticed and in fact, albeit the limited detail we have still done our very utmost to investigate this situation.

The stay is regretfully now in the past and cannot be taken back and since we do not believe in making up excuses, on this occasion we do not deem it necessary to go through each and every aspect mentioned in the review. There is, however, one aspect that we wish to clarify; at our hotel we do not have sea-view standard rooms as the latter all either overlook inland or an internal courtyard with a pool within; the sea view units are all self catering units.

While we thank you for having opted to stay with us in the first place, we very much hope that you will allow us a second opportunity where to re-win your trust. Should you indeed consider this, please do not hesitate to contact myself personally where I will not only extend to you our most advantageous package but I will ensure your stay is a quality one throughout.

Yours sincerely,


Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    369
    127
    77
    41
See reviews for
248
467
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

this hotel is 5 minutes frm the main street in melleiha it is built into the hillside so when you arrive by taxi or transfer you arrive at the reception at the top if you come by bus you have a large no of stairs to climb as the hotel does not give out the code to the door at the bottom which give access to a lift to reception .room was clean but no dvd player and tv outdated rest good but the house wine which on the menu said bottle was delivered ina carafe.the ala carte rest serves chips with everything and wants to charge for potatoes overall we enjoyed our stay very friendly staff

Room Tip: ask for a room with sea view but you will get woken by the church bells at 6am if you leave your win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear that you had a good time when staying with us at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa!

Where access to the hotel is concerned most particularly on arrival, the main reception is located at the very top of the stairs; full access is available through Snajjin Street. Taxi drivers are accustomed to this entry; same applies to when guests are making their way to the hotel by bus; it is imperative that guests leave the bus as soon as they pass the very old mill, on the main street, rather than further down in the village, so they make do without having to climb up the public stairs.

Where our Da Ciccio Cucina is concerned, we please wish to clarify that every evening there is on offer a choice of either fries or roast potatoes; neither of the potato selection comes at a charge when served with a main course dish.

Since you have enjoyed your stay, we are very much hoping that your future holidays will bring you back to our islands and that on this occasion you will not hesitate to stay with us again.

Yours truly,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The greatest asset this Hotel has is their staff. We found them helpful, professional and courteous; from Joseph on the day we checked in to Sharon, Mandy and team at reception. Doreen at the restaurant is worthy of special mention for her attentiveness and cheerful smile.
The hotel food unfortunately did in no way match the high standard of the staff. Breakfast was average and most notably tasteless, supper was a similar affair. Definitely dine out; the Il-Mithna is excellent not to be missed!
Amenities were not maintained to the standard expected of a 4* hotel. The soggy wet carpet tiles around the pool may present a H&S hazard due to dirt; non slip ceramic tiles would be preferable. Gym amenities were basic and could be hazardous eg no bench press clips
Rooms were clean and tidy but dirty crockery not changed daily.
Of note the hotel is not near a beach the nearest is about 1.5miles away.
I would consider staying again but would try an apartment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your taking the time to extend to us your feedback, following your recent holiday experience at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa.

At our hotel we highly value all forms of constructive criticism and do our best endeavors to investigate aspects, that could in any way hinder the comfort of our esteemed guests’ experience.

We are pleased to note that were you to return to Malta, you will still consider staying with us. Should you indeed consider a second trip to our island, please do not hesitate to contact myself personally where I will not only do my utmost in guiding you in choosing the room type that suits you best, but I will also ensure that your overall experience with us is a quality one, throughout.

Yours truly,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Pergola Club Hotel Has excellent facilities and they honor what they say you will get in terms of their special offer packages.The hospitality was great when my husband and myself spent 4nights there.

Room Tip: Go To stay at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa,excellent everything!the rooms are very clean, large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your break with us at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa; thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor!

While extending to you our sincerest appreciation for having chosen us in the first place,, we very much hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa sometime in the near future.

Warm regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Very clean hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Though did not appreciate being disturbed in the Reception area at 1800 hrs by the cleaner who needed us to move so he could get on with his job! Found staff did not volunteer extra info, eg. was not informed about alternative entrances to the hotel, found out from other guests. Overall food was very good but again was not told that omelettes and fried eggs were available upon request. Boiled eggs were not available. Would have liked WiFi thru out the hotel withou being charged for it then could have sat in the bar for a change instead of being forced to sit in Reception. Would have been nice if mugs as well as cups were available in the room with tea making facilities. Gym equipment broken and not maintained. Stayed over Christmas 2013, details of Christmas Eve Gala Dinner was not posted on the board till the afternoon of Christmas Eve with a start time of 1830 hours. When we went down to dinner at this time was told that the Restaurant would not open till 1900 hours. However evening was worth waiting for. Dinner on Christmas Day was disappointing, mostly cold food. All the effort had gone into a Christmas Day Luncheon, which was available at an extra charge. Would have been nice if the Luncheon had been available to all instead of a lack lustre dinner. Bar comfortable but lights never turned down so no atmosphere. Was not told that could use sister hotel facilities, eg have dinner in their restaurant, again found this out from other guests. Frank Sinatra Christmas music played constantly in Reception area, same songs on a loop! Early Christmas Day morning no water due to maintenance, good way to start the day especially after going to the gym! Overall a pleasant place to stay but make sure you talk to other guests to find out how things work.

Room Tip: If staying over Christmas ask for a room that does not overlook the Church as bells tend to keep you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

First and foremost, thank you for having opted for the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa for your Christmas break. We have read with interest your review and are in the understanding that there were aspects that have not met your expectations.

Please rest assured that we have evaluated each and every aspect and wish to publicly apologise for the water related matter on Christmas morning. Regretfully a malfunction that occurred early in the morning had left us with no option but to action it there and then, and having to close the water supply for a brief while in a section of our property, has led to an element of inconvenience. Where Christmas dinner is concerned, in Malta, the tradition is to host a special dinner on Christmas Eve and then a special lunch on Christmas Day; the dinner on Christmas Day is not traditionally themed or otherwise.

We are pleased that albeit the less positive aspects, you still consider our hotel a pleasant place to stay at. Bearing this in mind, we very much hope you will not hesitate to stay with us again in the future and if you indeed consider so, please feel free to contact myself personally where I shall ensure your stay is as pleasant as possible.

Yours sincerely,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkirkara, Malta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Went to the Pergola Hotel in November, it was a beautiful stay from start to finish!! The check in was easy, we were there nearly three quarters of an hour before and they let us check in our room!! Rooms very clean, common areas were exceptional, all common areas sparkled and the maids and cleaners could be seen cleaning all day!!!Thumbs up for Management seeing to this, not even a speck of dust to be seen anywhere!!, Now to the restaurant, I couldn't find fault with the evening meals, and Steve and Andre, the waiters at the restaurant even though very busy found time to give us a welcoming chat and really make it a brilliant experience throughout, On Friday we had friends who joined us for a buffet meal and they also told us that they thoroughly enjoyed it, even the entertainment on Friday who was a male singer was very good!! the only fault I can think of Is that I wished that I could have access to wifi in our bedroom but all in all a 100 out of a 100 for this hotel!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are ever so pleased at receiving your favorable feedback and are overwhelmed at having you rate your recent experience at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa as hundred out of hundred!

The entire Team, together with Steve and Andre, are very much hoping that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back on board, sometime in the near future.

Yours truly,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

i just come back from this hotel and i have to say me and my girlfriend really loved it and we didn t want to come back in uk.we stayed in a seaview appartment overlooking Gozo and the sanctuary and its worth to pay the extra for it.the food its really nice especially in the restaurant da ciccio and the staff are wonderful very helpful and friendly..very clean room and if u got any trouble they ll fix for u straight away..if i ever go back to Malta again i would stay here again coz we stayed in others hotel in bugibba and st paul bay .....not the best and dirty..in the pergola its also easy to get to gozo in 5 minutes on the bus...and its nice and quite area with plenty to see..i d recomend to hire a car from DAVID MANGION ON 21575407 HE IS A VERY NICE MAN...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy to learn that you have no regrets in having chosen Mellieha rather than Bugibba or St-Paul’s Bay for your holiday in Malta and very much trust there will be a future opportunity, where we can welcome you back on board at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa!

While extending to you our sincerest appreciation for having chosen us in the first place, may we take the opportunity to wish you all the very best for the festive season and 2014!

Warm regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pergola Club Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pergola Club Hotel & Spa

Address: Adenau St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 2014, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pergola Club Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Pergola Club Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pergola Club Hotel And Spa
Pergola Club Hotel Mellieha
Pergola Hotel Mellieha
Pergola Club Hotel & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pergola Club Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.