We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Solana Hotel to your Saves list
Solana Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH06, Malta   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% DISCOUNT + FREEBIES
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
West Cumbria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have stayed here before so knew what to expect. All staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel facilities are good. The hotel is very close to bus stops and the ferry terminal is only a short bus journey away. We were lucky enough to stay during "Mellieha Nights" a 3 day festival, and this was a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for, once again, choosing The Solana Hotel & Spa for your holiday on the Maltese Islands!

It is an honor and a true pleasure to welcome you back to us each time and are looking forward to your next visit, in the near future!

Until then,

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    378
    135
    50
    29
See reviews for
237
598
36
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel was absolutely fantastic!. The staff were friendly and very helpful, they always greeted us with a smile and were very welcoming. We had half board and the food was to die for, everything was cooked to perfection. The rooms were cleaned and the cleaners did an excellent job. However, the area is quite quiet and is very hilly so please be aware of that!. The beach was very close by, though I would recommend taking the bus there, because the roads are very small and the drivers out there are a little crazy. There are a few shops and restaurants nearby which was very useful. I would honestly say this hotel would be great for everyone, however, if your looking for a really good 'nightlife' then this area would not be the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

It truly makes us very happy that you’ve had such a fantastic time at The Solana Hotel & Spa and we thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

On behalf of the entire Team, it has been a pleasure having you and your family as our esteemed guests and we look forward to hosting all of you for many more holidays on the Maltese Islands!

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I had dinner at Tosca restaurant in the Solana Hotel in Mellieha on Saturday night. We really enjoyed our meal it was delicious, but what made it even better was the great service from the friendly staff. We had lovely young girls called Charlene, Lana, Jessica and Dawn who made our dining experience really enjoyable. We have been living in Mellieha since July and it was one of the best meals we've eaten out......many Thanks, we will return :)

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Our Tosca… Pizza, Pasta, Grill Team thanks you for posting this wonderful review on TripAdvisor!

Together with Charlene, Lana and Jessica, we are delighted that you’ve enjoyed your very first dining experience with us and hope to welcome you back soon.

Until then,

Best regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Forgive me if my english isn't good. The hotel on itself is okay. Clean lobby, clean rooms, although we had ants in our room, but it wasn't the fault of the hotel. They solved the ant problem quickly. The service was very good. not so many amusement in the hotel, and absolutely no amusement in Mellieha. conclusion, a good, average hotel in a very boring place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your holiday experience at The Solana Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor!

We are pleased to read that you were happy with the overall service and accommodation in the hotel but equally saddened that our quaint village of Mellieha has not met your expectations. Whilst its location might be too quiet for some, it does offer an excellent bus connection to any part of Malta and is conveniently close to the Gozo and Comino ferry terminal, two of the most popular tourist destinations in Summer.

Mellieha and its residents are currently looking forward to the Village Festa, held on the 8th of September, a week full of entertainment and activities whereby Mellieha truly comes to life!

While thanking you for staying with us, we very much hope we will have the chance to welcome you again, in the future.

Kind regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Great location in the heart of the village - all useful amenities in walking distance (bank, restaurants, shops, pharmacy, hire car, beach, etc). Couldn't have stayed in a better place. Staff are so helpful and welcoming.
We had a studio room with an internal facing balcony, which suited us fine as it was nice a private and away from the road traffic. Indoor pool and jacuzzi were great. We had a massage at the hotel spa which was lovely after a busy day. Mellieha is a lovely little village in the north of the island - but other areas are easily reachable by bus (which is a minutes walk away), or we hired a quad from the nearby car-hire which allowed us to explore more off the beaten track. I wouldn't stay anywhere else, can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are most pleased that you’ve enjoyed your stay so much and that you can’t wait to return to The Solana Hotel & Spa!

Thank you for taking the time and sharing this truly wonderful review on TripAdvisor and likewise, we can’t wait to welcome you back on board in the future!

Until then,

Warm Regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birgu
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We booked a day at the solana hotel last wednesday the 14 of August was a very restful day such good food for the price of 16 ewro only for a day lovely pool and the waitres was such a lovely girl named SHANNON she was very helpful and nice she told us she works more at the PERGOLA hotel but that day was at the SOLANA lucky for us but all the staff were very nice i am sure to go again but not for a day but a weekend break thanks SHANNON .........GRACE

Room Tip: higher floors have less a/c unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at The Solana Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy that you’ve enjoyed your day with us to the fullest and Shannon, together with the rest of the Team, is looking forward to welcoming you back for your well deserved Weekend Break anytime soon!

Warm regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My bf and I stayed here for our 1st holiday for 9 days and we were both more than happy with our stay. On arrival we were given a drink of a Maltese soft drink, Kinnie, while they sorted our room. The staff were all very friendly, polite and helpful. Especially with answering queries and giving directions. The room was decent enough. It was clean, well lit and comfortable. We also had a balcony, although the view was a bit spoilt by a huge yellow crane.
We gave a 4 not a 5 because the food was not all that great. We were B&B and ate at the Bellini Restaurant twice and were not impressed on both occasions, luckily there were many restaurants near by to choose from. The breakfasts were buffett and were ok.
The hotel is on the main road where the buses pass so we didn't have far to go for transport. Worth getting the week bus pass for 12 Euros. There are many different beaches near by. If you take the 37 it takes you to Armier Bay which was a great find for us. A lovely beach, good for snorkelling and spotting different fish.

Overall, a lovely stay :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We highly appreciate your taking the time to post this review on TripAdvisor, following your recent stay with us.

We are indeed pleased that our Team at the Solana Hotel & Spa helped create the perfect setting for your very first holiday together. May there be many, many more to come!

It is, however, equally saddening that your evening meal at the Bellini Restaurant hindered our opportunity for a full five star rating. Our chefs do their utmost to serve a fresh, varied buffet to suit everyone’s palate; please accept our sincerest apologies if on this particular occasion we failed to meet your expectations. Alternatively, our esteemed guests may also dine at The Tosca… Pizza, Pasta, Grill, serving fresh daily catch and other Mediterranean specialties.

While thanking you once again for staying with us in the first place, we hope to welcome you both back to the Solana Hotel & Spa in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Anne Grima
Solana Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solana Hotel

Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH06, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Solana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Solana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solana Hotel Mellieha
Solana Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.