We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solana Hotel

Save Saved
You added Solana Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Solana Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH06, Malta   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% DISCOUNT
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Mellieha
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“really nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have just returned from a 11 night stay at solana hotel and spa and I have to say I really enjoyed my stay there. The hotel room was cleaned every day and towels were changed regularly. The staff where friendly and were very helpful. The hotel had wifi, it was a bit expensive to get from reception but if you buy any drink from the bar where drinks were reasonably priced you could get an hours free internet with every drink. Malta's weather can be a bit cool in january so having the use of the heated pool was a big plus and at this time of year it wasn't busy. There is a shop across the road which opens late and can provide you with all any snacks coffees and toiletries that you might need. The bus stop is a few minutes walk from the hotel where buses can bring you to valletta and from there you can go anywhere else you choose on the island if you don't mind don't mind doing a bit of bus hopping and at 2.60 pp for a day pass i didn't mind at all. Across the road from the bus stop is the tourist office and and just around the corner from the tourist office were underground war rooms which was reasonable and I thought worth the visit. Overall really enjoyed my stay and Malta and the hotel and it's staff were excelllent. Yes I would got back

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    478
    344
    131
    49
    25
See reviews for
210
533
32
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have just returned from having 3 weeks in the Solana. Our room was light and airy, well cleaned on a daily basis and if the towels were left on the floor, they were replaced. The staff were all friendly especially Maria, who worked in the Bellini restaurant, she catered for my gluten-free diet admirably and I ate well. Jessica, who worked in the Tosca restaurant was also a gem as was Amarise who worked in Cafe Puccini. We found the situation of the Hotel to be good with a bus-stop positioned opposite although we found we walked down the hill to the main bus stop. All in all, we consider we had a very good experience and wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: When booking on-line select a standard room, you should get one with a window/balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Just spent a week at the Solana. The initial impression was not so good as our room was in a somewhat chaotic state with the aircon and lampshades in pieces, cold water in the mini-kitchen just a dribble and the electronic door lock not working. HOWEVER all of the above were fixed within ten minutes and we found throughout our stay that the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. We had a rental car and street parking close by was not a problem. There is a good choice of local restaurants and small supermarkets as well as an in-house restaurant and bar. WiFi reception was free in the lobby on application from reception although the barman would only grant access in return for a purchase from the bar.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We visited Malta in the winter and booked this hotel in Mellieha. It was in a great location. I was going to book at a hotel closer to the sea, but I'm glad I didn't as the wind was pretty strong down there. Instead, this hotel was in the town at the top and it was within walking distance to lots of great restaurants etc. We were able to access a few beaches within 5-10 minutes and the weather was still really good even though it was January, so we really enjoyed the area, strolling on the beaches and enjoying all the fabulous views Mellieha has to offer.
The hotel staff was very polite, and the room was clean. The housekeeper was a sweetheart. Considering the reasonable price for our room, we found the hotel to be a very good value. The food outlets were not that great, so we chose to eat outside of the hotel most of the time. But that was not a problem, as Mellieha has quite a few nice restaurants to chose from, and we enjoyed being able to go to different places each day, meeting new people and tasting all the different dishes. There is a little supermarket across the road that is open pretty much all the time, and you can get little snacks or drinks to take to your room. The man that runs it is a really nice guy and offered us a taste of a Maltese liqeuer one night. It was fun going in there and seeing all the locals going about their daily routine. Mellieha also has a few little shops to browse through, and the buses to Valletta, Mosta, etc were very close as well. We would definately stay at this hotel again, and look forward to visiting Malta in the summer next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have just had 5 days at the Solana Hotel Mellieha in December 2012, we both enjoyed our stay at the hotel and were looked after very well, food very good, rooms very good, and nice and friendly staff.
Easy to get around with bus stops very close, also shops very handy, and a very nice beach down the hill, (sandy Beach)
We would recommend this hotel if visiting that part of Malta.

Room Tip: Stay away from the main road, it can be a bit noisy at the front when traffic is passing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

A Christmas trip undertaken by three adults booking two rooms.
The hotel is well situated in the centre of town but within easy access to the beach via a regular bus service. The hotel was clean and generally well maintained. The staff were pleasant and attentive and service was good apart from the odd, minor hiccup. The rooms were large with kitchenette facilites in one which was booked as a studio. I don't know if this type of room is usually used for self-catering but used cups on the hospitality tray were not washed or replaced by clean ones by the staff servicing the room.On one occasion one of the rooms was not serviced at all and when drawn to the attention of reception staff we were told nothing would be done until the next day. Our rooms had small balconies overlooking the street - which was noisy.
We ate in the Bellini restaurant where a good choice of dishes were available, prepared by chef Carmel & his staff. Chef made a point of visiting all the tables in the restaurant to talk to guests and to ask if they were satisfied with their meals. The barman Derek was efficient and obliging - he makes excellent cocktails!
We enjoyed our Christmas stay at the Solana, particularly the in-house evening entertainment at the hotel and the local celebrations in the town.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are apparently quieter and free from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

we had a lovely two weeks ,derek in the bar and carmel the chef,also sabrina the room housekeeper,also all the front desk staff were all so very kind and helpful to us. bus stop very convenient for all points of Malta. Room was spotless and remained so for the two weeks. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone if we asked. will definately go again.

Room Tip: room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Solana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solana Hotel

Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH06, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Solana Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Solana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solana Hotel Mellieha
Solana Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.