We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel in an amazing location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Golden Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH5510, Malta (Formerly Radisson SAS)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel in an amazing location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This is a top notch hotel, with wonderful accommodation and facilities, together with a fantastic view of the sea and cliffs. The staff were very attentive and the rooms very clean and spacious. Breakfast was superb, with a large choice and the option of indoor or al fresco dining. Various restaurants and a large pool complex with stunning views from the sun terraces. Indoor pool and spa too, as well as a private beach accessible by lift. You definitely need to hire a car if you want to venture beyond the resort itself as it is a remote location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlaCasey, Secretary to the Chief Operating Officer at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Good Morning,

Thank you for your review. I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay at the Radisson Blu Golden Sands. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort.

Kind Regards

Karla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,309
    502
    174
    63
    31
See reviews for
721
1,011
43
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We have just returned from a long weekend at The Raddison Blue hotel at Golden Bay. We stayed in room 2821, a one bed suite (8th fllor) of the highest quality and the views over the bay were spectacular. The staff were incredibly efficient and polite, particularly an elderly gentleman in the reception area called Henry. If you enjoy hotels such as the Ritz Carlton and Jumeria groups this is on a par in terms of quality and service. I thoroughly recommend it.

There is a timeshare and fractional ownership team in the complex but do not let that put you off. We were not hassled at all and spoke to many of the owners during our stay, all of which were very happy with their purchases.

Room Tip: Go for the higest room available and definitely overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is the second time, we stay in this hotel, the first time we had a nice studio apartment, this time we had a 2-room suite, and the quality of that were ok, nothing bad and nothing good for a 5 star hotel. The check-in took very long, and it seems like they have underestimated a fully booked hotel on NY day. The poor guy in the reception was clearly overworked, and despise is nice smile and attempt, there were absolutely no control whatsoever. We have invited my parents, there never have been on a 5 star-hotel before telling them how great a place this was. And we all looked forward to a nice NY celebration.

The dinner and restaurant was great (But I will make a separate review for that) But the NY party was a absolutely disaster, a mix of teenage disco with to loud music and no class, so we left the party almost instantly.

But the breakfast was the worst - we waited more than 1 hours to enter the breakfast room, and instead of the normally smooth service, and amazing food, it was a utterly chaos ruined by stressed and tired waiters.

I feel really bad for my parents, because I somehow "oversold" the place to them - I dont think I will come here again, because if they can miss-calculate so much for a NY, Im sure it will be absolutely hideous in High-season.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlaCasey, Secretary to the Chief Operating Officer at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Good morning,


First of all thank you for your feedback both the positive as well as the negative. I must apologise on behalf of my colleagues since it is obvious that we have fallen short of your expectations on New Year's Eve and New day breakfast. If I may I would like to explain our position.

New Years Eve dinner & Entertainment - The feedback received from the 70% of guests that were called was excellent about the food & service offered and the Band in question played favourite tunes throughout the evening. The band is actually a very successful band and has just won the Maltese song for Europe and we have in fact already engaged them for next New Years Eve. As the night wore on a DJ came into the picture but this was in The Bar and not the restaurant, and yes you are right at this point the entertainment is less formal and was aimed at a variety of ages. We cater for 1000's of guests and try our utmost to reach everyone's expectations as much as possible.

Breakfast New Years day - There was no surprise here we have done this for the past eight years without fail yet this year you are 100% right to comment negatively about the breakfast experience. Unlike previous years the majority of clients this time came down for breakfast within the space of 1.5 hrs and yes we were unable to offer the service that has come to be expected of us at The Radisson Blu Golden Sands. We have in fact decided to organise breakfast away from the Ballroom during the next New Years event and serve breakfast in two different areas within the Sands Tower. This will ensure that Breakfast is served without much delay.

Sincerely,

Karla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Apart from the view from room 1407, the hotel cleanliness was impeccable. Another impressive aspect of the hotel was the level or courtesy and service which was delivered from the top man to the cleaning staff.

As it was off season not all bars and restaurants were open all the time but those we experienced were very good. Restaurant prices compare favourably with UK prices, drinks in the bars were a little pricey but the early happy hour was excellent. 3 Bars and a choice of restaurants.3 outdoor pools and and indoor pool with an excellent gym and spa.

Apart from a couple of beach bars which provided excellent food there is nothing else locally so one has to travel but Millellia and St Pauls are not too far away and public transport is pretty good. Not a central location to explore the fantastic history of the island but only 30 minutes to Valletta and shorter to the Silent City at Mdina. If travelling on public transport you need to synchronise your journeys although the buses are quite regular and you can travel anywhere on the island for 1.50 euros a day.

A nature reserve lies immediately behind the hotel and is a good walk across amazing limestone landscape to Anchor Bay where "Popeye" was filmed(Robin Williams). The film set has been left in place and provides a theme park.

All in all a great holiday

Room Tip: Get a sea view... we were in the Sunset Tower which offered great views over Golden Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlaCasey, Secretary to the Chief Operating Officer at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Good afternoon,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review about our staff. I will pass on your comments to the Housekeeping staff team. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Karla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Malta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The hotel is situated close to 2 excellent sandy beaches. Lovely country walks are also possible starting from right outside the hotel entrance. The room was spacious and comfortable; amenities very good. Breakfast was sumptuous though main restaurant food could be improved. Attention to client needs from hotel personnel was in general impeccable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlaCasey, Secretary to the Chief Operating Officer at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Good Morning,

Thank you for your positive feedback with reference to your recent stay with us. We look forward to your next stay at the Radisson Blu Golden Sands.

Regards,

Karla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. Stayed for 10 days and loved how comfortable the rooms are. Sea view is spectacular . Great location as the bus stop is right close to take you anywhere in Malta. Staff was helpful and pleasant. We had a very memorable stay here and would definitely recommend this resort.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola, Malta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Fantastic location. Sea and country views. Excellent service. Fantastic breakfast. Lovely indoor pool and spa facilities. Will definitely go again. The bedrooms are spacious and in very good condition.
Edward

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the sea if you wish to enjoy the lovely sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlaCasey, Secretary to the Chief Operating Officer at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for posting your positive comments about your recent stay at The Golden Sands. I will definitely share your comments with all departments.

Regards,

Karla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands

Address: Golden Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH5510, Malta (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort And Spa, Malta Golden Bay
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Bay Hotel Mellieha
Radisson Mellieha
Mellieha Radisson
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands Mellieha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.