We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5* but pleasant, clean with great spa and food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Golden Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH5510, Malta (Formerly Radisson SAS)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Not a 5* but pleasant, clean with great spa and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a week at this hotel. It is far from most attractions / towns so be prepared to take buses, shuttles and taxis to visit the island. However, if the weather is warm and sunny, this is the ideal location as the Raddison has a unique private beach, lovely pools as well nice restaurants / bars to make the best of a holiday. We were asked to go to Malta by the time-share people, we had no intention of joining this scheme but they offered us a cheap deal and the reviews for the hotel were so good we could not turn this offer down. My daughter joined us, therefore we got a large room with a pull-out sofa and a separate bedroom for my husband and I which gave us privacy. There is a kitchenette with a big fridge, two burner stove and lots of counters (and dishwasher) a very practical choice for families or people who want to cook some food. We went into a small town the first night by taxi, he brought us to a supermarket where we got a lot of beer, wine and other basics. There is a shop in the hotel but it was closed at 3:00 on the day we arrived, not very practical. The driver stopped by a vegetable & fruit stand where we bought fresh-picked strawberries and other fruits. What a treat!! We called for two room-service meals, our food was of good quality and relatively cheap. We also ate at the Italian restaurant one evening, service was poor, the food was mediocre, not great. We did not have breakfast but enjoyed coffee and some muffins at restaurant across the reception (sorry, can't remember names of restaurants but you'll get it quickly after you read this review and are at the hotel). I had two spa treatments, they were amazing, the staff and quality of the treatments were perfect. The gym equipment was ok, some was not working but the pool area was good. We did not enjoy our LONG meeting with the time-share people but we knew this was part of the deal. Overall, we loved our stay in Malta and although I doubt we will return soon, it was a week filled with lots of activities, loads of historical sites and beautiful landscapes. We took advantage of every opportunity to visit Malta and Gozo Island. The bus system is excruciatingly frustrating but cheap, just don't rely on timetables. Maltese people take things in stride and we did the same. Just relax and enjoy.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,309
    502
    174
    63
    31
See reviews for
721
1,011
43
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glenariffe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here in Nov 2012, apartments were excellent and very well maintained, had a sea view which was well worth having. Pool area well kept with plenty of loungers. Great choice of restaurants and food excellent. Staff very attentive and helpful. Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend for 5 nights at the end of February This is your typical big Resort hotel, away from mostly everything on the island. Staff is wonderful and accommodating but the rest was lacking for me. Food was below average for me though I never even got to eat at the "good" restaurant because it was closed when I tried to come down for dinner at 8:20 even though all the brochures said it closed at 10pm. If they do close at 8:30 (which I think is ridiculous) or 9:00 in the winter, it should be clearly stated on the pamphlet in the rooms or at least verbalized at check in. That was my last night in Malta and it was sad because the resort is a 15-20 Euro cab ride away to most good restaurants and we ended up having to order frozen pasta through room service because that was all that was open, and that definitely didn't leave a good taste in my mouth.

Also DO NOT USE your room phone for any outside calls. My boyfriend had to call his bank while we were there because his ATM card was not working so he made a COLLECT phone call on the hotel phone and we were charged over 200 EUROS for him to be on hold for 30 mins or so. I tried to explain to the staff and the GM on duty that this was a collect call so in no way was the resort charged any fees!!! I was told to take it up with the bank but the bank had already paid for the call, it's not their fault that the resort wants to steal money for a call they didn't even pay for. They said the higher up GM would email me with further explanation or a refund and I never even received an email. I think this was bad customer service to say the least.

Malta is an amazing place and the resort and especially the Spa could be 5 stars, if the resort would have acted like a 5 star resort instead of leaving a bad taste in my mouth and a huge hole in my pocket.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We visited in March so weather was mixed. Fabulous hotel , Wonderfull staff , we had a Garden room , all rooms off a high standard. We only dined once at the hotel as it looked very expensive,
15 euros for breakfast, but we did try the Italian restaurant and when inside found the prices more acceptable for evening dinner, which was excellent and good value.
This is the only Hotel for miles and Munchies cafe on the beach closed early evenings, so we hired a car and explored the Island and other Restaurants. Breakfast in Bugiba 3 euros 50 very good value. Look online for car hire , much cheaper away from hotel , half price and buses very cheap , especially if you purchase a daily or weekly ticket.
We were with Azure and had to attend a presentation, Time share by another name, but only lasted two to three hours and not too bd.
All in all a very good five star hotel, good pools , we used he indoor one as it was March, there is excellent sauns , Jacuzi, Steam room and gym. We found the Spa treatments looked very expensive.
We would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel as a very good five star .

Room Tip: we were on the third floor at the back . looked out onto car park. room was still good but poor vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights along with my daughter her husband and 6 week old baby. We had the best week . Everything was wonderful. From the fabulous apartments to the exceptional breakfast. Not forgetting the great staff. Nothing was too much trouble especially when it came to the needs of the baby. Special thanks to Henri whose pleasant manner was a great start to each day. Although the food quality was brilliant I would have welcomed smaller portions when it came to what I thought would be "snacks". All I wanted was a sandwich but they were enormous, packed full of different fillings with loads of chips and salad. And you just had to have the desserts!! This did make these quite expensive. But that's my only concern about this wonderful hotel. We travelled with easy jet as a complete package and we can thoroughly recommend this as it was a terrific offer all round. Once again thanks for a wicked time,

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view. It's well worth it. We were on the 9th floor so the view was totally uns...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just a few comments, plus and negative. Negative: while main lobbies are beautiful, the furniture in the rooms, restaurants, and foyers are really showing age. Toilet in our room similarly needed grout, very little water pressure in shower, and soap generally not replaced by cleaning staff. Parking, even in early March, was a challenge, so I can not imagine what it must be like in the summer when there lots of guests. Quite a contrast.
On the positive side: staff helpful and friendly, with a very special "thank you" to Henri (the guest relations concierge); he was incredibly helpful, including when we had a minor car accident and didn't know how to proceed. Our hats off to him!!
We only ate at the Italian restaurant, but food was always very good, and relatively inexpensive. The banquet dinner (Sunday?) was excellent, although weirdly the menu shown in the lobbies didn't match what was served (e.g. rabbit was advertised, and several soups, but not available).
Overall, a nice place. Could use some minor renovation, but otherwise good. Be sure to go to Mgarr (5 min drive) and eat at ta L-Ingliz; incredible rabbit and quail, and very inexpensive.

Room Tip: We exchanged a time share, so had little option on room; did get one facing the ocean, which was bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Cannot fault accommodation, staff or facilities - all were great. Although there are limited alternatives, too much pasta/ pizza on menu and for nearly all of our time there only 1 restaurant was available, with prices pretty high. Hotel position means they virtually have a captive audience. Food quality is excellent but I would have preferred to occasionally be able to choose smaller meal options.

Room Tip: Take transport to St. Paul's bay and eat out on some nights. Munchies on the beach is another al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands

Address: Golden Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH5510, Malta (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort And Spa, Malta Golden Bay
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Bay Hotel Mellieha
Radisson Mellieha
Mellieha Radisson
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands Mellieha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.