We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot be beaten” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Golden Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH5510, Malta (Formerly Radisson SAS)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Mellieha
Claremorris, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cannot be beaten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

In Mardh, we shall be returning to this resort for the fifth time in as many years. OK, we have an apartment here, but we have never banked our weeks, as we love spending the time here. Most of the year, there are activities in which you can take part or you can simply relax. The main restaurant is a little on the expensive side but the Italian themed, Agliolio restaurant is great value for money, while Essence (although expensive) is a lovely place for a special meal. And if none of the above appeals, there is a good beach cafe nearby. The staff are always pleasant and helpful, and we see many of the same faces each year. I would recommend this hotel on any level - we even met La Toyah Jackson when she stayed there in 2010.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view and while the sea view is beautiful, the side overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,675 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,028
    418
    150
    52
    27
See reviews for
550
836
33
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice as a couple and also last May as a family with a one year old (we have already booked to come back this year). I must admit that we use my mum’s time share facility as its just not the kind of luxury hotel we could ourselves afford. However, we keep coming back time and time again (despite flights being fairly expensive) because it’s such a beautiful hotel. The staff are polite and friendly, the rooms are beautifully kept and always clean, the public areas are lovely (only downside being if you have a buggy there are a lot of stairs! You can get around, but things take a little longer) The poolside is well kept and very lush with lovely views over the sea and the indoor pool is ideal for an early morning swim (we took our little boy down every day last year at about 8 o’clock in the morning and there was only ever one other person doing laps and I don’t believe we got in their way!)
The beach is also well looked after, just make sure you have your room key/number as the general public can also used the beds now at a fee. You can also order drinks and food from your beach bed…bliss!
The restaurants are all lovely (they are only as expensive as you make them – plus Munchies is only across the road if you are on more of a budget – we had some fab meals there) and Mokka offers some really lovely coffees for grown ups and ice cream/cakes for the little ones. The bus stop opposite the hotel means you can easily get to other towns to explore and eat out (St Julians Bay and Selima were rather lovely for fresh fish and nice wine, Bugibba was more British style pubs and restaurants, which is fine if that’s your style), but you might need to get a taxi back as the buses tend to stop at about six in the evening. Plus the deli is pretty well stocked if you want to cook in your room and there is generally a stall near the car park selling fresh fruit and wine (perfect combo!)
I can’t emphasise how much I am looking forward to coming back this year. There is a fairly good mix of people and I feel very very safe at this hotel.
It is a little out of the way if you like variety/nightlife, but there is a good choice of restaurants at the hotel (including a buffet which has a lot of choice and a lovely Italian), room service is excellent (an event in itself), a cocktail longue with various shows on (if you like that kind of thing) and there is a pretty undisturbed view of utter gorgeous coastline. I personally quite like being this far out, but am hoping to explore a bit more again this year as my little boy will hopefully enjoy the bus rides!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naxxar
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My family and I spend one night and following day in the hotel. From the outset the approach was way above average and verged on excellent. We were greeted with a smile and attenation was given to our every request. Further at breakfast we were very pleasantly surprised when the chef came over and asked my wife if she would like any gluten free items since the night before this was pointed out at dinner. This is what sets a hotel like this apart from the rest !!. A sincere well done and keep it up !! You did every thing in a special way !

Room Tip: Sea view in Winter really fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalkara, Malta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Spent two wonderful days at this hotel for my 50th birthday, Hotel and facilities of a high standard and spotlessly clean, rooms spacious, good decor and very well maintained, Breakfast very good quality and variety, Food and service in two other outlets we dined was of high standard and reasonably priced for a 5 star Establishment. Overall staff are very guest oriented and have a high level of professionalism.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The hotel is a nice place to stay even on a not so good season to visit Malta. The winds & rain were very strong during my short stay in the hotel but this was the only spoil to my short break.The buffet breakfast was great and you can choose between private shuttle bus or public bus as transport. I booked the room by mistake since I wanted to stay in St Julian which was nearer to Valetta but then I found out to my astonishment that although the location is somewhat away from main cities like Valetta & Sliema, it was not so hard to get around Malta by public bus even. There was bus station near the beach which would allow you to reach Valetta & Gozo ferry in 1 hour every 30 to 45 mins. So as long as you are not in a rush it is still convenient. Enjoyed my cold stay and look forward to enjoy a stay in summer.The staff were very professional and friendly too and the palce is ideal for families too with a nursery and gaming room.

Room Tip: Even if you don't get a sea view room, the rooms are spacious and are aprtment style rooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We went for a short break at the Radisson Golden Sands in Golden Bay, Malta. The hotel is very clean and staff are very curteous. Room was comfortable with a grand bathroom. Pillows were stlightly stiff and the lighting was a bit dim. We didn't bring any of these to the attention of the management as they were really minor details. The hotel has an indoor heated pool and there are several resturants and a cafe'. We just had a relaxing time being lazy which beats the daily routine of everyday life.

Room Tip: We had a room with a country view. I'm sure the opposite rooms which overlook the sea and where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel knows how to do it right! Everyone is very service oriented, it's a large, clean (way clean!), beautifully designed hotel that puts the guest first.
We are vegans, and although Maltese people are real "foodies," the idea of a strictly plant-based diet is not common there. Our first trip in the spring of 2012 was to "scout out" the hotel for a trip later that year (autumn 2012) for 60+ American vegans. Cooking for three vegans may be easy, but working out three meals a day for 60+ vegans? They did it magnificently! The food was wonderful, beautifully presented, and always graciously served. Additionally, some of our group cannot tolerate things like gluten, salt, garlic and onions--and special foods were always made ready for these special needs. AMAZING!
The Radisson Golden Sands is the place to go for the beauty of the area (away from the maddening crowd, too), the well designed hotel with large, airy rooms, and for the food no matter what your diet!

Room Tip: It's worth the extra you'll pay for a room giving you a beach and Mediterranean view--it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands

Address: Golden Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH5510, Malta (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Bay Hotel Mellieha
Radisson Blu Resort And Spa, Malta Golden Bay
Radisson Mellieha
Mellieha Radisson
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands Mellieha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.