We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Golden Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH5510, Malta (Formerly Radisson SAS)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
South
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“great hotel, good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Our family stayed at the Hotel for 10 Days during December 2012. The Hotel was half empty during this period.
The weather was much nicer than expected, 18c on average, but the sea was too cold.
The hotel facilities are great, although, kids are allowed to enter the indoor swimming pool and it was time noisy and crowded. The Gym needs lot of TLC.
Breakfast is rich with lots of options. The room service food and service is highly recommended.
The Essence Restaurant highly recommended, but expensive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,309
    502
    174
    63
    31
See reviews for
721
1,011
43
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have been trying to find the time to write about this hotel since November of last year.

Having my own business i value my leisure time spent relaxing very highly and have now stayed at the Radisson Golden Sands resort a couple of times as it seemed to fit the critieria required exactly, i was not disappointed.

The location of the hotel is quite simply stunning, the views surrounding the beach, bars & restaurants at the hotel are breathtaking.
I was aware of the time share involvement at the hotel before travelling and although i am considering making an investment this year i wasnt interested in buying timeshare during my stay last year and was pleasantly surprised that i was not pressured when the timeshare staff were aware of my views.

The food at the hotel is excellent and extra hours in the gym had to be put in when i returned home because of it. My accomodation was similar to a small apartment rather than just a standard hotel room and the cleanliness was at a very high level thanks to the very friendly housekeeping team.

The highlight for me had to be the quality of food and location of Agliolio restaurant.

During my first visit last year which was in August i was lucky enough to attend a beach party organised by the hotel which a few of my friends in Malta met me at the resort for and it was something i will never forget. We were parting and dancing on the sand to the early hours of the morning, it was something that actually resembled a film set (well to me anyway).

The staff throughout the hotel were extremely friendly and seemed geuinely happy to be there rather than go through the motions of being at a job which is the case in some hotels.

I will be returning to Radisson Golden Sands at some stage this year and really cannot recommend the hotel highly enough for anyone considering a visit to the wonderful island of Malta.

Paul S - UK

Room Tip: A sea view is obviously the ideal scenario but the country view certainly beats my weekly view in Lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iklin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is our fourth visit to this hotel and it has always been a positive experience. The rooms are grand, the food is delicious and the seaview breathtaking. The staff are kind and helpful and all areas are kept spotlessly clean.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here for a week in December with four children. We had two suites both over looking the sea. We have no complaints of our stay whatsoever and would actively encourage anyone to stay at the hotel. We also went as part of a promotion and had to attend the time share presentation. We were clear from the beginning that we were not interested. The salesman had to do his presentation as clearly this was his job. At no point during the presentation did we feel pressured or ucomfortable and we do not see anyone in the room look anything less than relaxed, no hard sell was used at any point. If you make it clear you are not interested then you will have no problems. The hotel itself is fabulous with several different places to eat and drink, we found both the food and drinks very reasonable, and excellent quality. We ate at the Italian restaurant a couple of times, children can eat free up to 7pm which we felt was a great deal! The breakfasts were also excellent, a huge variety of cereals, fruit, continental meats and cheeses as well as a very good cooked breakfast was available. Chilled champagne was also available which was a complete treat and went down well on at least 2 mornings! We hired a car, I suggest you do this through the sales advisor in the foyer, the concierge originally booked it but we got a far better deal booking through the advisor, I.e we got a full day free plus £20 fuel so it worked out quite a cheap week. Fuel on the island is reasonable but the stations close at 5pm so make sure you fuel up before then. That said the island is so small you would be hard pushed to run out. The rooms were fantastic and the views over the sea were spectacular. Our sleep quality was also excellent, we could not here any of the other guests so we are unsure about some comments made on here about noisy neighbours? Room service was very good and we had clean bed linen and towels all week without any problems. The staff at the hotel are fantastic, genuinly helpful and efficient. On the day we we booked out we were given a smaller room to use so we could chill out and use the pool etc and have somewhere to change. out flight was not until 5 pm so we felt that this was a good use of our last day. If you are planning on going, calculate how much the holiday would cost you without the promo and if nothing else this should inspire you to book! There are no scary sales people at all! Just ordinary people doing their jobs, we were at the presentation 2.5 hours maximum.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room and ask for a corner suite if available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in December over Christmas for two weeks! It's a lovely hotel and feels very homely! Stayed in a time share. The staff are all very kind and helpful and do anything to help you out! The cleaners are fantastic and the room was always clean, and the rest of the hotel! There was carol singing on Christmas Eve and it made everything more festive like the hotel! Had lovely food Christmas Day and the puddings were amazing; loads to chose from! We had a sea view balcony which was beautiful and the sun was out all day on the balcony! Great stay! Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

we have been many times and are spoiled with a penthouse appartment BUT the views are great as is the service. The hotel is good and there is a lot to do in the area including loads of excellent restaurants

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

First off, for these people that go on "taster" weeks for a fraction of the price and then complain about the cost of food, drink and the fact that they are pursued to buy timeshare, get over yourselves. You knew what you where getting into when you booked to go, so don't complain after the fact about silly things. If you want to complain, pay full price, experience it and complain then when you have issues. This is a 5 star hotel, fact, Carlson Hotels would not take it on and give it the rating if it wasn't. Majority is timeshare, fact and we will as a lot of other satisfied customers be going back time after time, fact. The ratings on the outside of the building are based on objective facilities and services provided assessment and are not in any way related to ambiance, charm or other subjective criteria like no smudges on the carpet or 1 escaped pubic hair in an area that is double the size of a normal hotel room. The service in this hotel is fantastic. Nothing is too much for the staff and you can see they enjoy their work even though they sometime work 15 hour days to make the guests stay enjoyable. They have to deal with all sort of customers and the level of that service can't slack because the customer is a pompous so and so that got a holiday practically for free and now demand nothing but the best there is. Everybody gets the same treatment. Yes you pay hotel prices, but that is to be expected. Essence is fantastic with an young Head chef that prepares good quality food, they have an interesting wine selection and well trained staff. We have not been disappointed yet. You will be able to find good food in Mokka, Flavours and Agliolio. You are spoiled for choice and will never get bored. The desserts in all the restaurants is out of this world and can rival big city restaurants. There is enough bars to have a beer, glass of wine, cocktail or even just a soft drink by one of the experienced barmen...They will even go and get you a glass of milk if you choose. There is so much to mention, from the spa to indoor pool, "it can be a bit cold in the winter" weekly Yoga and organised bike rides, trips or looking after your little ones. We can't fault Golden Sands and give them a thumbs up. Thank you...

Room Tip: A seaview room is a must at this hotel.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands

Address: Golden Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH5510, Malta (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort And Spa, Malta Golden Bay
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Bay Hotel Mellieha
Radisson Mellieha
Mellieha Radisson
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands Mellieha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.