We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, love,love it!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Golden Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH5510, Malta (Formerly Radisson SAS)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Wirral
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Love, love,love it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We first visited this hotel last year as a promo for their 'holiday club' and we were so impressed. The staff are wonderful, they really care, back this year and they remembered us! The rooms are the quality you'd expect of a 5* hotel and the cleanliness is superb, the staff are top notch and take pride in their work. There are 3 pools including a serene indoor pool (children not allowed) and 3 first class restaurants, buffet, casual med style and full a la carte all with their own distinct atmosphere and all top quality. There are also 'snack bars' available at the lagoon pool and pebbles just above the private beach and food is available at the Mokka terrace bar so no need to go hungry! The hotel is due for a refurb next year but you wouldn't know it. If you like busy crowded resorts this hotel isn't for you as it's the only one on the bay with just a couple of beach bars on the public beach, the transport (public) isn't as good as it was now the colourful (and ancient) buses have gone and soul-less Arriva are now in charge but there are shuttle buses available from the hotel (at a nominal charge) to all the major areas on the island from a designated travel company in reception - and if they don't have anything to suit the concierge is more than happy to help! My husband has never 'done' holidays voluntarily in the past (only on a 3 line whip from the family) but he can't wait to go back here next year - that is the biggest praise I can ever give!!

Room Tip: Sea view - views to die for but over the pool and the terrace bar, country views are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,311
    502
    174
    63
    32
See reviews for
722
1,012
43
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
england
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

the hotel is just great, if you do not like you are spoilt or a just a whinger..The weather was good plus the private beach is well managed. The staff is great and well trained..
Enjoy your stay.
Norman Russell

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011 via mobile

Great hotel in great location. Massive rooms (got upgraded to Zenith suite), very good buffet and a la card restaurants. Extremely friendly an helpful staff (Joseph and Jenna at reception as well as other staff across the hotel). Nothing to complain about.

Re beach - one of few big sandy beaches on Malta, so get crowded especially during week-ends. The hotel has a small section (which could be cleaned better).

Tips: get a car and go to Gozo;
ask for room in Sunrise tower - much more convenient for beach/breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

This was our second time at this fabulous hotel and was even better than the first (which was great - that's why we went back).
Positives: Beautiful in every aspect - hotel, pool in which our grandaughter learnt to swim!, sea view, grounds etc. Rooms VERY spacious, well furnished, decorated and equiped. Cleanliness throughout both rooms and hotel faultless. Service was professional, friendly, very efficient and SOO hard working(most of the staff were there when we went last year which says a lot for the way the Radisson and the management value their staff ) and amazingly many of them remembered us from last year! For the right reasons, I hope! New manager, Ernest Barry, is very much in evidence and approachable. Very keen to chat to guests and values their opinions and addresses any concerns. Food faultless, delicious and varied in all of the restaurants.
Negatives: The hotel is rather isolated, especially since the bus company Arriva took over (not the hotels fault but I hope they put pressure on Arriva to reconsider their service)from the local transport buses which had so much character and provided a great service to all parts of the island. They have decimated the service which means you really need to hire a car if you want to have a wander, which leads me on to my only other gripe. The mini store (deli) in the hotel not only has limited variety (understandably, it's not Tesco) but the prices are, I think, ridiculous. This means you HAVE to go to Buggiba or Melhieha to stock up on water, snacks etc. if you are on a budget - no buses therefore hire a car or taxis! More expense. As I said earlier all of the restaurants are great but even with the 20% (no discount in deli) discount can be pricey, especially if you're a family on a budget. Perhaps if the hotel looked at it's pricing in the deli and provided more free/supplemented mini buses during the day guests wouldn't feel so isolated.
That's my moan but I have to say the possitives far outway the negatives. Love this hotel and will be back next year. Can't wait!!!!

Heather, Joe & Lauren saying Hi to Lisa, Gregg I ashliegh xxx

Thank you so much xxx

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We visited as Diamond Resort 'owners' and expected, and got beautiful accommodation. The Radisson Blu is a lovely hotel but there was only one restaurant open when we stayed there -so no choice of where to eat in the resort. Two little cafe/restaurants nearby - clean but very basic. The resort had no other infrastructure nearby so if you don't hire a care you're relying on local buses...

We are definitely TOURISTS - like to see and experience local culture and have visited a huge variety of countries, with varying ways of life and costs of living. Malta itself had some attractions worth visiting - Mdina was interesting and Valetta was okay - different but nothing outstanding. We visited Marsakloxx - a fishing village in the south and enjoyed a lovely fish platter meal but here, as well as everywhere else, charged top prices - £24 for a main course was, we thought, a bit much from a fishing port cafe.

Sliema was pleasant and the only place for any decent shopping but travelling around the whole island was decidedly depressing. It looked like Bierut with tumble-down buildings everywhere. The only places that had been looked after were the churches - as you'd expect from a Catholic country. The Maltese people were lovely but obviously couldn't afford the very high cost of living. We felt so sorry for them.

It was totally depressing and we DEFINITELY won't be back to Malta.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011 via mobile

Just returned from a short break in this fantastic hotel. Rooms are very comfortable and spacious. Maid service was great and cleanliness in rooms and throughout the property is highly commendable. Breakfast is devine and a must if you're on SC also food in general in the various restaurants is to try out. Aglioglio is great for the relaxed diner, Essence was a dream for our special evening (tnx to all the staff for going the extra mile) and Flavours is recommended if you're a big eater lol. Checking in and out was very quick and efficient. One last thing I must mention is the friendly atmosphere you find. The staff go out of their way to ensure that any request is seen to in the most efficient manner. It's pampering at its best. After reading reviews on Tripadvisor it's no wonder this jewel is voted as no 1.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We have stayed at the Radisson for 2 weeks every year since it was opened by HM The Queen, usually as separate weeks, but this time we ran them together in June.
The hotel continues to improve, with new sun loungers & tables, a new games room and an excellent new members’ lounge.
The location & the sea views continue to impress. Returning from a day out (local, Gozo, Sicily – complete with Mt Etna!), it feels like coming home to a familiar & friendly space.
Ernest Barry, the new GM, was kind enough to brief me on the new developments which commence later this year (October, after the summer season). The Oasis, separate from the original location, is very ambitious, with modern and innovative designs of accommodation & public areas. I have no doubt that this major investment will, in combination with the original development, become the most prestigious resort on the island of Malta – if not in the Mediterranean.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands

Address: Golden Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH5510, Malta (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort And Spa, Malta Golden Bay
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Bay Hotel Mellieha
Radisson Mellieha
Mellieha Radisson
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands Mellieha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.