We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine food small tables” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Commando Restaurant

Commando Restaurant
1,2 Misrah iz-Zjara tal Papa, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH1805, Malta
+356 9949 8843
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 89 Restaurants in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $22 - $39
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, International, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Open for Dinner. Commando is a restaurant and wine bar housed within a 300-year old stone building that has been the workplace of our forefathers for over 80 years. Chef Damian Ciappara draws inspiration from his surroundings, using fresh local ingredients to create simple yet elegant dishes. We work closely with local producers to deliver a seasonally influenced menu that celebrates Mediterranean flavours. Fresh fish/seafood, tender meats, sun ripened vegetables, rustic pasta dishes, and homemade desserts.
Island of Malta, Malta
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Fine food small tables”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

On booking we were told seating available was either by 8 sharp or after 9. Upon arrival 8.10 we were the only clients. By 8.30 (our preferred time) the place got full. The welcome by the female manager was Ok. The waiters were even better than her. The food was yet even better. This was the first visit but not the last one. Pricier than the $$$ rather a $$$$.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    60
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newport, south wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of our favourite meals in Malta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Came back here in Feb 2014 and visited twice during our stay. (We visited 3 times in Feb 2013, that's how much we enjoyed it.) Food was just as good as we'd remembered, and the service was excellent. We hadn't booked but the friendly staff and owners made us feel very welcome and took care of our every need. During this year's 2 visits we tried the rack of lamb, rib eye steak and pork belly - all cooked just as we asked and delicious. I must mention the chicken liver pate starter - I absolutely loved the taste combinations of the pate, sea salt, brioche and grape jam - foodie heaven! By the time we'd finished off our mains, there was little room for dessert. I don't drink wine but my wife said they have a good selection that complemented the meal very well.We were even offered a complimentary liqueur on our last meal as a thank you for our patronage. We'll be back next February all being well - I'm already looking forward to it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We visited this restaurant because of the Trip Advisor rating and the taxi driver recommendation - couldn't have had a better time.

The atmosphere was stylish but relaxed. The service was perfect (I've been a waitress so have very high expectations!) but most importantly the food was absolutely incredible, we had the set menu, some lovely wine, and it was all cooked and flavoured to perfection.

We would eat here every night if we could!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Still excellent one year on!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Returned to Malta after a year and went back to Commando, this time with a friend for a celebration meal. We hadn't booked but as it was early in the week it didn't matter. This place has a warm welcoming ambience I've not experienced elsewhere in Mellieha. The menu is small but the food delightful. The scallop and prawn ravioli was bursting with flavour and the slivers of asparagus on top complimented it perfectly. The Maltese specialty dessert, an intriguing warm delicate pastry containing a sweetmeat laced with orange zest was delicious and well accompanied with a light honey icecream. My guest, visiting Malta for the first time, but a connoisseuse of fine dining was delighted by her meal. Service was attentive and discreet throughout and we hope to revisit before returning home. The food may seem a little pricey but portions are generous and the quality superb. I thoroughly recommend the Commando.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We were a group of 4 and had a most wonderful food experience at this gem of a restaurant! From the atmosphere, to the food and service we were most impressed. The food was excellently cooked and presented and the service was friendly but discreet. We will certainly visit again in the near future. Wel done to all and please keep up the great standards

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commando Restaurant also viewed

Mellieha, Island of Malta
Mellieha, Island of Malta
 
Mellieha, Island of Malta
Mellieha, Island of Malta
 

Been to Commando Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commando Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.