We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   George Borg Olivier Street, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 1021, Malta   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Central location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Had a room over garden (nice and quiet) which we were pleased with. Buffet breakfast had so much choice. Central location. Buses cheap and if u don't mind missing a few before you get on as they were always full but carried on during evening. Hotel staff very pleasant and always very helpful. We stayed here for our wedding anniversary and the hotel provided a complimentary meal which was amazing. Will definitely stay here again. Well done maritim

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimMalta, General Manager at Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for reviewing MARITIM Antonine Hotel & Spa on Tripadvisor and for your most favorable comments. We are gratified to note that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope that you will soon find the opportunity to return to MARITIM Antonine Hotel & Spa.

Do let us know if you need assistance with future bookings to our Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Peter Rieks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    423
    221
    74
    50
See reviews for
218
657
46
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Stayed for 10 days in August 14.My wife and I had a twin room on the 'garden' side and daughter and bf a twin room on the 'village' side-reason being that rooms span both sides of a very busy noisy road,and are joined under the road by a short corridor or tunnel which is perfectly ok,not smelly or dirty like some reviews state,just slightly musty smelling.The good things-well,rooms are large,very clean,with good facilities including a kettle and enough tea and coffee for one cup a day!A decent flat screen tv and a good shower/bath/.The mini bar fridge is big enough to store water or milk.Air con struggled at times due to very high temperatures but stayed on with room vacated-daughter's room needed a card left in the card slot to keep aircon going.The beds are comfortable but have a base sheet with a thin plastic type filler,and are not nice when you get hot in bed.All sockets are in use but one or two can easily be swapped out to charge things like mobiles,because there are several lamps plugged in some of which are not needed.Staff are friendly and 2 early problems in our room were fixed with great energy within an hour.
Walls and double glazing seem thick and solid and we heard almost no noise at all from outside or from other guests.There are 3 pools,one indoor that we saw barely used, and 2 outdoors,the one on the roof is excellent as is the bar serving drinks and snacks that played some super music to sooth our sunburnt torsos as we lounged around on the well maintained sunbeds up there.Breakfast is amazing and of a buffet style,with a vast choice,from bacon and egg and sausage to cereal,toast,croissants,toast,fruit even apple crumble;anyone who complains about the breakfast -other than the lack of a really good quality fruit juice-needs to sit and rethink their ideas of what is good.
There is a well equipped gym,that uses some quite old kit but is nice and cool and never too busy.Buses,which are modern and very very cheap stop near to the hotel so moving around is easy in all directions.
Less good-the wifi is free but often weak and drops out.Only by sitting in the cool lobby can you be assured of a constant signal.The lifts get very busy at times and can cause frustration.
Overall this was a very good experience for us,and I recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of staying.

Room Tip: Lower room corridors are rather musty smelling so try for a higher room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

this hotel,that we have been to now 4 times, is brill,the staff are great, as my wife is disabled, the supervisors in the restaurant were great,as they reserved a table for my wife close to the buffet, so not far to go for food, the room service from Doreen was 1st class, the breakfast is very filling, and the cocktail bar is worth a visit, had a little problem there but Ricky (F&B,Manager) sorted it no problem, so if your thinking of Malta, try this hotel, we got a lovely welcome from all the staff, was lovely to see them again, and they all tell you if you want anything pls ask, and big thanks to France in the dinning room, well done Maritim,

Room Tip: choose floor 5,it was wonderfull,but if your on a budget,then any rooms are ok,choose sea view,garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimMalta, General Manager at Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
First of all Thank you for your repeat custom at MARITIM Antonine Hotel & Spa and for reviewing our Hotel on Tripadvisor with your most positive comments about our products and services.
We will share your comments about our Management Team and Staff with them because this will encourage them in their constant aims to assure that our Guests are fully content.

Kind Regards,
Peter Rieks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Stayed in Aug 14, stayed for 3 nights with my wife. Worst thing were the bed bugs on final night. Bed sheets aren't changed and one thin sheet covers the mattress, my wife ended up with many bites on legs and back on the 3rd night.

Other negatives include air con which is not adjustable (controlled by the hotel) and switches off when you leave the room, there are pir sensors which detect movement in conjunction with the door closing/opening thus controlling the electricity to the room. A fan was supplied to help the air circulation, this had 3 settings which click into place like most fans, you won't be surprised that the higher 2 settings didn't click into place, only the weakest setting. Cost cutting to a scale I've never seen before!!!

There are no spare electricity sockets!!! Every socket is already used so you need to disable the lamps for example to charge any appliances. Tv was flat screen but horrible signal. Wifi signal was also poor, but we managed ok.

Plus points
Al fresco restaurant on rooftop was amazing, highly recommended.
Breakfast omelettes were very tasty, although the rest was average.
Spa facilities very good, great gym and good pools.

Not a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Three years ago we stayed at the Antonine and had a fantastic time, returning this year to Malta meant a decision had to be made on whether to go back to the Antonine or not. Generally I'm reluctant to return to a hotel on vacation, and have never done it before; my reluctance increased after reading some of the more recent reviews, but we booked anyway.

So.......how was it this year?

Despite having requested a high room 5th or 6th floor on booking six months ago and in an e-mail four weeks before arrival, we were allocated a dark 2nd floor room with natural light blocked by huge palms. After some tense discussion we were reallocated a suitable room the next day on the 5th floor, even better was the customer service as the FOH Manager accompanied us to check we liked it :-)

Looking around the rooms and public areas the Maritim Antonine is showing structural signs of being three years older (aren't we all) nothing a little more maintenance and care couldn't solve.........as Nike say "Just do it!"

Staff wise is where the biggest difference is noticeable, three years back an attentive, courteous, friendly, predominantly Maltese staff made our stay comfortable. Now, sadly, only a few local staff remain, with the majority now coming from the eastern edges of Europe especially in the restaurant/ kitchen.

In real terms this means their language skills are not the best, they also have less concept of keeping customers happy, my plates being swooped upon before my partner had finished for instance, when walking through the restaurant barging through in front making you wait for them, and generally less friendly/ less attentive/ poorer service.

The low point of our customer service was on requesting a certain bottle at dinner were told it was no longer available and a more expensive option was offered, and accepted. Unfortunately it was a blatant lie, others were served our choice significantly later than us and the waiter was overheard at the bar telling a younger server that "You should tell them "this" isn't available and they must have the more expensive option" totally unacceptable in my book. I didn't bring this up at the hotel - couldn't be bothered - such was my disappointment.

Foodwise it's a good varied international buffet. Sadly desserts are never kept chilled; you can see the cheese sweating :-( Main course isn't always kept hot under the "hot lamps" either, both are a shame as it is nice food.

On a more positive note the pools remain a highlight, 3 choices is great most of the time. Unfortunately they did close the main pool area for private functions 3 times, though they do warn of this in all their lit and website..........so it's our choice.

The cocktail bar remains an oasis of good, friendly service and is highly recommended, as compared to Bar 120 opposite which is a good but rather noisier as you'd expect in a sports bar. Beware though; there are rooms above Bar 120, and it doesn't close early, if you like quiet try to get a room away from there!!!!

Final negative now, the dining allowance in the Il Ponte Bistro, which IS mentioned in all the lit/ website, AND was a good facility has been STOPPED; no debate, you have to pay full price in there now :-(

So.......in conclusion the Antonine was nicer, much nicer 3 years ago, but it's still a nice hotel with good facilities, albeit that definitely needs some attention.

Critically for us though is the poor ambience caused by badly or insufficiently trained staff, I know I'm a trainer......................

And it's for this reason, unless reviews significantly improve, I won't be going back here on my next Malta trip; which is a shame as it was a really superb hotel previously

Room Tip: Free wifi is very slow - go to the lobby Rooms on the 5th 6th are better, don't go for village...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Very good from what I remember! Travelled here to swim with dolphins! Amazing n safe!! Food was great and location was good, amazing green gardens and nice pool! No problems, good massage too.stayed for 5 days

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimMalta, General Manager at Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
First of all Thank You for staying with us at the MARITIM Antonine Hotel & Spa and for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will soon find the opportunity to return to our Hotel.

Best Regards,
Peter Rieks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We were due to spend four nights last week at the Maritim Antonine Hotel and Spa but upon our arrival at the Hotel my partner and I were handed a letter which stated that due to computer error the hotel had overbooked it’s room which meant that we would not have a room until the next day in the hotel that we had book. In this letter we were told that the Maritim had booked us into another hotel for the night, this hotel that we had been booked into was round the corner from the Maritim and they provided us with transport to and from the hotel as part of our compensation. As a way of giving us some more compensation the hotel upgraded us to half-board from of original booking of just bed and breakfast. Upon arrival back at the hotel the following day were we asked to sign a disclaimer saying that as the hotel had upgraded us we were not to go after anymore compensation from the hotel for this computer error. Due to this computer error my partner and I wasted a day and a half of our five day holiday, messing around with hotel transfers and waiting in another hotel to be checked in because the room was not ready. We picked an early flight to Malta and a late flight home so that we could make the most of our five days in Malta however, due to this error we were left waiting about on the day of our arrival and the following morning between check out of the backup hotel and being collected to go back to the Maritim and check in there. As we had wasted so much time of our holiday we did not question what we were being asked to sign as we wanted to put this problem behind us and get on with our holiday, like we wanted to when we arrived on the Monday.

Other than this error with the computer bookings system and a few minor issues and complaints about the hotel our overall stay at the hotel was good. The hotel was clean and well presented, my partner and I stayed in the main part of the hotel and I would recommend getting a garden/sea view room as the rooms seem to be much quieter as they are away from the main road and the hustle and bustle created by buses and people. We had a balcony which was adequate size for the two of us, the bath room was a good size, there was plenty of storage for our belongings and there was plenty of room to move around the bed. The bar in the hotel was very nice, it was quite when my partner and I went for cocktails before dinner, the bartender was very attentive and helpful when advising about drinks and recommendations. We ended up not having the half-board dinner due to confusions from the staff as to which restaurant it was that the half-board evening meal was served in, we went to the restaurant that we were told to get dinner in, we double checked with the waitress before we were seated that the restaurant we were in was where we were to receive our half-board meal only to find out upon checking out that there had been confusion and where we went to eat was not the restaurant and we ended up paying for our evening meal. Both of the pools were very nice however, we only used the rooftop pool as it was quieter at the times when we wanted to use it. The room that we stayed in was clean, we had a problem with the safe which was resolved quickly by reception and security. Some of the reception staff were not as friendly and welcoming as they should be for a four star hotel, the female receptionist on the whole were nicer than the male receptionists but there were exceptions to this. My final comment would be about the Wifi provided by the hotel, the connection was slow and not worth using. The Wifi is an open network meaning that anyone can use it which slows it down. The hotel should password protect their internet and only provide customers to the hotel with the code to it, it would improve the signal for hotel guests.

Room Tip: Choose a garden/sea view room as it is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa

Address: George Borg Olivier Street, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 1021, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#8 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Maritim Antonine Hotel and Spa, a supreme 4 star hotel, perched on a perfect spot overlooking the terraced hillsides, from which one can enjoy breathtaking panoramic views and unwind for a few days in luxury.Here at the Maritim we provide the best services for the best price in Malta. That’s our guarantee.The Maritim is nestled in the small picturesque town of Mellieha and is a sumptuous retreat for the business traveller, or a luxurious indulgence if you want to spoil yourself or a loved one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Antonine Hotel And Spa
Maritim Antonine Hotel Mellieha
Maritim Antonine Resort
Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.