We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two-star room in a four-star hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   George Borg Olivier Street, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 1021, Malta   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Two-star room in a four-star hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I spent a week with my little daughter at Maritim in October. We enjoyed Malta very much and would definitely like to return but not into this hotel. The location of the hotel is good, the garden and the pool area are nice, the food was OK. And thanks for Charlene at the reception for her kindness.

However, we were unlucky enough to get a room at level 1. I have booked a comfort room with garden view and that's what we got. The room was spacious but I was shocked by the smell of damp when we entered the room. A bit later I have realized that both the bathroom and the wall behind our beds is mouldy. Actually, the whole corridor at level 1 was full of damp. When we arrived back home I had to wash even the clothes that were not worn because of the very unpleasent smell of damp. I think I should have asked for an upgrade straightaway but I am not the one who complains all the time. Luckily, my daughter did not care much about the damp and was happy with the sea and the pools. We tried to spend as little time in the hotel room and made excursions instead.

A pity that I did not read the reviews before our trip. As far as I can see now, guests who had a room at upper levels, were satisfied and guests like us who had a room at lower levels, were disappointed.

All in all, five stars for Malta and two stars for the room.

Room Tip: Avoid level 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    499
    249
    90
    54
See reviews for
266
757
57
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

No real complaints about this hotel but yet I wouldn't really want to go back to it.
Positives -
Staff are very pleasant, helpful & friendly
2 outdoor (unheated) pools & 1 indoor heated pool
Great Spa although I didn't use it
Rooms are comfortable with free safes & a minibar (where you can store your own bottle wine!)
Breakfast was good but I felt they made too much at a time & it was kept sitting for too long resulting in rubber scrambled egg for example, however the Bircher Meusli was fantastic (the chef gave me the recipe) & the freshly made omelettes were very good.
Fresh towels as 7 when required for pool or spa
Good bar service
Great bus service outside 2 euros 60 per day takes you anywhere you want to go on the island
Hop- on hop- off bus which can be booked next door to the hotel. For 15 euros you can use the service fron 8.45am to 6.00pm. We saw a lot of the island this way. Included in your ticket is a boat trip around the Grand Harbour which can be taken at a later date - free shuttle to Sliema (combine this with 2.60 euros for a bus ticket & you can spend the rest of the day in Valetta & get the Arriva bus back to the hotel)
The hotel booked a taxi for us from airport & return. It cost 55 euros & was booked thorough Billys across the road from hotel. excellent service
Not so positive:
The rooms - well where to start. There are interior rooms with balconies that overlook reception & have no natural light. There are garden view rooms with a brick wall balcony so when you sit down all you can see is the wall. We were allocated one of these when we arrived even though we had booked a room with a garden view. I am 5ft 3ins & the only way I could see the garden was if I stood on a chair. To be fair I asked at reception & we were offered a different room - although we had to wait till the next day so it meant we couldn't unpack when we arrived.
We arrived too late for dinner & when we asked where we could get something to eat & the receptionist (I only saw this particular one on that one occasion) told us to go to the adjoining Al Ponte Pizzeria. He didn't bother to tell us that as we were half board guests we could have anything on the menu up to a value of 8 euros so we paid full whack! Food was very good though.
Evening meal was luke warm & very bland. Again - kept for too long
Entertainment - well what can I say? Someone playing musak on the keyboard every night is not really my idea of entertainment.
All in all it was a fine break but not somewhere I would want to go back to in a hurry

Room Tip: Rooms with town view can be very noisy & dusty. Rooms with innercourtyard means you are looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Rooms, the meals, the 2 bars, the kind staff and even the pool on the roof are very good. the hotel room keeping could be a little bit better.... therefor one point minus, but the 4 points remaining are in a good relationship of price and performance.

Room Tip: book a room to the hotel back side, at front side is the main street !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Got a room with a fantastic church and sea view. The staff is very friendly and helpful and was the best thing we liked about hotel (especially the recepcionist who worked on 27th of October :). The breakfast is not as fantastic as it was commented before. Some of the food is not so fresh. The pool and sunbeds would need a change. Everything else was ok.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were on holiday in Malta in Oct 2012. Had a v.good holiday overall and the hotel itself good. However we were annoyed to find that this hotel, which was meant to be one of the better hotels in the resort allowed holiday (timeshare) scammers to operate both outside and inside the hotels. So called "free holidays" offered are provided through various dubious companies that appear to be UK limited companies but are not registered in UK. A postal address in Batley W Yorkshire has a telephone contact in Spain (0034). All of these things are scams. AVOID AT ALL COSTS - even though they say its only an hour of your time it's invarialbly at least 2 hours and the "free offers" at the end do not materialise. Worst of all are the horror stories of the unfortunate people that were tricked into parting with thousands of pounds for the holiday club scheme (which they were at pains to point out was not a timeshare - but that was only because of an EU legal loophole allowing them to offer it for 35 months not 3 years (anything over 3 years being caught by timeshare regulations).
From what I could see this was the only hotel on the resort that had these scams running from its premises, so pick another hotel - there are quite a few good hotels in Mellieha.

Room Tip: Avoid unless you support holiday / travel scams!
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fgura, Malta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have spent a weekend break as a couple. When we arrived, at 1345, we made the check in and the receptionist asked us to wait for the room to be ready. I tought that at 2 it will be ready but the room was ready by 1450. This is not fair since the check out was strictly at 11. Nothing was offered on the house for the delay. We stayed in room 656.

Hotel and rooms were very clean. There was an irritating ventilation fan sound in the room. Tried out the aircondition and didn't do its work on cold mode. Overall room was very quite and away from outside noise. There was a mini bar fridge and kettle for tea and coffee facility for free of charge. Room and Bathroom were nice and good size.

Mattresses definatly need a replacement... And there was no upper sheet so that you can isolate the blanket or else to just cover your body with the sheet. Tv channels variety is acceptable but no cartoon channel for kids...

The most good part of the hotel stay is the breakfast... very good and good variety.

Room Tip: Avoid internal rooms and rooms facing the main road....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Check in is exactly at 14.00, so don't go earlier because you will end up waiting in a dull reception/lobby area. Don't expect any welcome drinks either.

On the positive side, room was clean and quite comfortable. Satellite TV, with only a couple of channels, not more than 10 different ones.

Breakfast was ok. The indoor pool area needs a bit of life in it...

To sum it up... it was an OK stay... would try other hotels for my next break though.

Room Tip: If you like your room with natural lighting do not choose an inner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa

Address: George Borg Olivier Street, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 1021, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Maritim Antonine Hotel and Spa, a supreme 4 star hotel, perched on a perfect spot overlooking the terraced hillsides, from which one can enjoy breathtaking panoramic views and unwind for a few days in luxury.Here at the Maritim we provide the best services for the best price in Malta. That’s our guarantee.The Maritim is nestled in the small picturesque town of Mellieha and is a sumptuous retreat for the business traveller, or a luxurious indulgence if you want to spoil yourself or a loved one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Antonine Hotel And Spa
Maritim Antonine Hotel Mellieha
Maritim Antonine Resort
Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.