We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, excellent, excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of db Seabank Resort + Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added db Seabank Resort + Spa to your Saves list
db Seabank Resort + Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Marfa Road | Mellieha Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9064, Malta (Formerly Seabank All Inclusive Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Portlaoise, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent, excellent, excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We are just back from this amazing hotel, where to start, we stayed in the caverna suite 1701, which is so different, we had two seating areas and a jacuzzi, the room was made to look like a cave, so different and very private. The food is excellent in all the restaurants, our particular favourite was the Asian and Brazilian, one tip when you get to the hotel book your restaurants as the late sitting books up very quickly. It is a stunning hotel from a sports bar, to another bar on the seafront and then the other bar for the day and then in the dome where the entertainment is brilliant, this hotel strives to be better constantly, we can not fault it, the staff are the best I have ever had to deal with, we have been in lots of A/I hotels, and this has pipped them all, needless to say we will be going back hopefully next time for more than a week

Room Tip: A caverna suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,577
    770
    219
    54
    34
See reviews for
958
1,099
62
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (989)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swieqi, Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Wow ... simply excellent. Mouth watering buffet with a nice variety of items to choose from. All the staff served us with a smile and were really helpful and friendly. 5 star service although it is a 4 star hotel. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

If you want an all inclusive family break without it costing a fortune, where you don't move from the hotel, with a good kids club/pool with slides, huge outdoor pool and sun bathing area plus an indoor spa for you and a nice beach right opposite all this then this is for you. If you don't like many, many people and rooms off long, long corridors, if you find a red t shirted girl suddenly screaming through a mike for afternoon's games and entertainment, with a load of other staff suddenly jumping around dancing, like a flashmob on steroids, annoying Just when you were dozing off, if food is something you love and the atmosphere of the restaurant part of being on holiday rather than just fuel, then use this hotel as a base, hire a car and explore the half dozen beaches nearby that are top notch - golden bay (with horse riding nearby), even more so tuffieha and gnejna beach round the next inlet. Also nearby is anchor bay, which is the film set for the movie 'popeye' which is fun for kids. Then there is Gozo island, a ten minute drive to the ferry away which is a good day excursion especially to the stunning dwerja bay stone arch into the sea and inland lagoon. There is also Ramla bay, a lovely red sand beach with a statue on it and couple of beach restaurants by it.

The food in the sea bank is ok, the main place is just a big canteen really, you can't mess up bought in deserts and fruit, the only really top thing was the Maltese bread, the rest cooked stuff is prepared each sitting but mass cooked and pretty ordinary, especially the breakfast. The different restaurants vary, the Brazilian is quite good with lots of different meat, the Italian okish and the Chinese about as Chinese as I am (not remotely) and pretty bad. They are all in basically characterless mini dining rooms off the main area but for this money you can't complain.

Service depends on who is serving. The woman in the shop who was rude and refused to give my thirty euros towel deposit back because she couldn't match my name with my room number on her computer (my fault?) so 'that was that' despite being presented with the towels when in a hurry to check out and catch the flight home should be fired. Philip, the Canadian from Vancouver who had already helped us courteously and effectively on check in when we changed rooms from the noisy one over the restaurant, sorted it all out with no fuss (although even he couldn't get anywhere with his colleague downstairs), was excellent and a credit to himself and the hotel.

Bottom line? It depends what you want. Need to forget about the kids and don't mind lots of people? Not 'into' food? A decent room so all in all easy and decent value? Stay here. Want more? Find somewhere smaller, higher quality with some character.

Room Tip: High floor avoid ones near restaurant and especially over the dishwashers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Second time here and the experience just gets better, everything is fantastic about this hotel. The manager said they like to keep improving but what more can you do to a perfect hotel, we are looking forward to going back next year to find out. Thanks to all the staff for a wonderful holiday.
We were invited to pre- dinner cocktails with the manager and treated to a free game of tenpin bowling, thank you very much.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but maybe a pool view for evening sunshine on your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Came back 23/4/15 & wish we could have stayed longer. Arrived 13/4 to be greeted by Marion Spiteri, and staff with warm a welcome it;s like a second home .STEPHEN &all catering staff serving excellent array of food 'my wife being diabetic stephen made sure that there were variety of dishes for her [MANY THANKS STEPHEN FOR EVERYTHING] MALCOM' RITA '&MATTHEW and all the staff for spoiling us yet again .our room was kept spotless by Grechin. also thanks to HUBERT even though he is a very man had time to sort our taxi transfer out which had not arrived on time.we will be returning a xmas to enjoy the great hospitality .there are some rooms in need of some paint but it take time&money there is an ongoing referb progamme but it does take not anything away from a great hotel &dedicated staff

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is rather large with very good infrastructure. It was almost fully booked, but I did not experience at all the inconvenient feeling of an overcrowded place. Very friendly especially with Children and good animation team. The place is cleaned, the food is good and buffets are properly presented, even when you go for a late meal. Our room had nice view on the sea,but just outside the hotel there is quite a busy road and in the morning it was rather noisy.
The place is for you if you have children and want to have a very convenient all-inclusive package, in a convenient location close to good attractions from children. If you are only adults and search for something quite and a bit exclusive, I would probably search somewhere else. I will definitely return to this place

Room Tip: If you want a nice view, take the sea-.side front, but be aware it is rather noisy. If you want some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Enjoyed a fabulous relaxing holiday at the Seabank. We're a well travelled family of 5 and were super impressed.
Pros:
Lovely food. Everyone ate really well all week and we have some fussy eaters. The main buffet restaurant had a wide variety, with a lot of foods cooked fresh before your eyes - breakfast omelettes, stir fry, curry etc. We especially liked the Italian restaurant for the steak and chilli spaghetti, and it was a bonus that the lady chef was so friendly visiting each table so see whether the guests were happy. Did not like the Brazilian restaurant so much. It was ok, but not a patch on other rodizio restaurants we have been too. Warm scones with cream and jam in the afternoon were lovely - obviously a sign of middle age creeping in when a scone and tea is preferable to a cocktail!
Fabulous entertainment team. Our 7 year old daughter loved the kids club and the mini-disco. They were all friendly, remembered our names, and worked tirelessly from morning till night. Big thanks to Marcin, Adran, Paulina, Anna, Kamil and rest of the team.
Rooms - very clean. Nautical style basic furnishings with safe and fridge. The daily cleaning service on both rooms was superb. Even lined up my daughter's soft toys on her bed. Small touches make the difference. Bathroom super clean, did not have any problems with bath or shower. One of our rooms had a pool view and the other had a sea view. I liked the pool view better - it had the sun later in the day.
Beach practically on the doorstep. Come out of the hotel, cross the road and one of the best beaches for children in the Med is right there. Shallow water, plenty of soft sand and rock pools for crab hunting. What more do little ones need?
Bus-stop right outside the hotel to get to other parts of the island cheaply. We visited Sliema, St. Juliens and Buggiba.

Cons:
Not much explained to us on check-in, such as directions to our rooms, but we were offered something to eat even though it was after mid-night. All the info you need is in the welcome booklet.

Summary - better than other all-inclusives. It was our first time to Malta as a family but won't be the last and this hotel would be our first choice. We would agree with it's 4 star status, you're not paying 5 star prices but everything you need is right there. 10/10 for a fab holiday - thanks Seabank!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria D, Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear pandapaws04,

On behalf of all the db Seabank team, I would like to thank you for posting such a beautiful 5 star review! Our staff will be thrilled to note that they have managed to make your holiday more special. Thank you for mentioning the hard working animation and kids club. They will truly appreciate it.

Thank you for commending our food variety and quality, which is certainly a very important aspect in any all inclusive holiday.

Once again thank you for your comments and it will be an honour if you would join our family of repeat clients.

Always Welcome!

Victoria Debono
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to db Seabank Resort + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about db Seabank Resort + Spa

Address: Marfa Road | Mellieha Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9064, Malta (Formerly Seabank All Inclusive Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — db Seabank Resort + Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Mellieha Bay on the island of Malta* All Inclusive Resort* 30 m from the beach* 5-story building* 1 km from downtown Mellieha* 20 km from the airport, 30 m from a bus stop.---Seabank’s new and stylish property offers countless ways to spend your days while on holiday in Malta. Overlooking Malta’s largest sandy beach at Ghadira Bay excellent beach for family with children), the Seabank Hotel includes:(1) Modern accommodation, 492 spacious non-smoking and fully equipped rooms (free WIFI), (2) Six international restaurants, three bars serving unlimited beverages. (3) The Seabank Resort incorporates a modern spa with fully equipped gym, heated indoor pool, mind & body healing courses, Jacuzzi, Turkish steam bath & sauna, (4) A spectacular array of day and evening activities for every age and interest and (5)Live evening entertainmentAt the back of the resort, Malta’s largest Lagoon style outdoor pool overlooks serene Maltese scenery. Recreational activities such as beach volleyball, crazy golf, air rifle shooting, and beach soccer can be enjoyed at our newly built recreational area. The colorful Kids Club cannot be missed. Popeye Village is just minutes away from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your db Seabank Resort + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Seabank
Riu Seabank Mellieha
Seabank Hotel
Db Seabank Resort + Spa Malta/Mellieha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage db Seabank Resort + Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.