We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, will book again soon!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of db Seabank Resort + Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added db Seabank Resort + Spa to your Saves list
db Seabank Resort + Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Marfa Road | Mellieha Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9064, Malta (Formerly Seabank All Inclusive Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
london
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, will book again soon!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to Malta. We wanted to stay in mellieha bay as we heard its very different to st Julian's and closer to gozo. The hotel was fantastic for the entire week. Check in was quick , everything was inclusive including the transfer from the airport. Unlike most hotels, WiFi was free and available everywhere in the hotel which was a nice treat! Food was varied and really good, especially as there was multiple restaurants to book and try out. The hotel is very family friendly, with rooms having a fridge and safe included. There's a large pool and adults only one with a kids play area too. Its a min walk from a sandy beach and very close to the ferry to travel to gozo. The staff were also very friendly and always helpful!
The only negative to mention is that the hotel is very popular with external events and so the bar and reception get very very busy making it hard to sit and enjoy a drink but otherwise everything else is perfect!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estibalez S, Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Lara_M1,

Thank you for posting this beautiful five-star review. We are happy to read that you had a nice stay at the Seabank and we thank you for confirming that you will be returning. Many thanks for recommending our resort on Trip Advisor. All your comments have been noted and much appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed our restaurants, food variety and helpful staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

Best regards,

Estibaliz Santamaria
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,572
    769
    218
    54
    34
See reviews for
954
1,096
62
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (985)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brierfield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Just arrived back from 2 excellent weeks.
Food was as good as ever and service excellent.
A really enjoyable and well managed hotel.
Keep up the good work and hope to see you again- thanks for your kindness and efficiency.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estibalez S, Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Simon W,

Thank you very much for your rewarding comments and for having chosen the Seabank for your two-week stay. We are thrilled to have you as part of our family of repeat guest. We would be happy to host you again and please, feel free to contact us directly for any request you may have for your fifth visit to our resort.

Best regards,

Estibaliz Santamaria
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed here in 2012 and loved it travelled with my 8 year old grandson and he had a fantastic time in the kids club and pool we found the rooms clean and comfy and the food was good standard as were the drinks I have booked today for my partner and myself and two friends we arrive on 26 th January for two weeks and I really am looking forward to returning to this lovely hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estibalez S, Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear brownleeds,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review after your visit to the Seabank. We are happy to read that we succeeded in meeting your expectations during your last stay. And we are even happier to hear that you are coming back next January. Thank you for recommending our hotel, restaurants and facilities. If you need any information or have any request, feel free to contact us beforehand.

Best regards,

Estibaliz Santamaria
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We were there for a conference and had booked the all-in option for all participants.
The wifi worked surprisingly well (we are a IT research community and have a tradition of bringing hotel networks to their knees, with 60-70 people using multiple devices).
The hotel has its disadvantages but over all it's a 5 for its good value and advantages.

Disadvantages:
- You need to pre-book your dinner tables in the themed restaurants unless you don't want to end up in the over-crowded main resto.
- The main bar closes at midnight sharp. Make sure to stash a couple of drinks before getting thrown out.
- Breakfast, lunch and main dinner resto are constantly overcrowded and somehow chaotic. You need to be nimble to navigate around all those old folks and kiddies.
- There is nothing much going on in the neighborhood. The best bet is to rent a car and cruise around the island.
- Strange choice of TV channels in the rooms. Or maybe I didn't understand the remote after 30 seconds of trying (I don't like to waste much time on this).
- 10 euro deposit for a pool/beach towel? Come on!
- Only one of the pool tables worked. You get thrown out at midnight from the pool tables, that's not so nice. Please let the match finish.
- Somehow the general type of guest here seems a bit like the european white redneck family.

Neutral:
- The dome entertainment program is not for everyone's taste. But I guess it matches nicely with all you can drink. Some of us liked it quite much, but I stayed the hell out of there.

Advantages:
- If you do have a car, enjoy free parking in the hotel's generously spacious parking garage.
- The food is actually quite good, considering it's all inclusive. As mentioned in other reviews, better stay away from the fish, though.
- The beer and white wine are fine in my opinion. If it isn't, try another tap.
- The hotel staff is discrete, friendly and helpful. For a hulk of a resort hotel like this, that's quite exceptional.
- I experienced superbly fast check in and check out times.
- Big rooms, with balconies. Nice to sit outside for a chat and nightcap.
- Relatively fast and reliable WiFi, without the annoying sign-in trouble. In the rooms also. A big plus for that.
- Conference venue is a bit simplistic but works just fine.

Room Tip: Get the pool view rooms to avoid traffic noise you otherwise get in the more expensive sea view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estibalez S, Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Bretthoven,

Thank you very much for posting a review after your business stay at the Seabank. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our facilities and free Wifi, and that you appreciated our restaurants and helpful staff.

Regarding the disadvantages you point out, I would like to clarify some points for the benefit of those reading this.

It is true the All-Inclusive drinks service at the bar finishes at midnight but gests can stay in the bar area for longer. If guest wish to continue drinking after midnight, they may buy drinks tokens from reception and the bar staff will be happy to serve them until 01:00AM.

Concerning the neighbourhood, buses are a cheap way to travel the island using the bus stop across the road. The hotel’s tours desks at reception offer a huge variety of tours, shuttle bus services, open top bus tours, boat cruises, watersports and diving options.

We try to have a good selection of TV channels in a variety of languages to suit our varied client mix. More channels will be added shortly.

Regarding the deposit for the towels, this is a refundable deposit that is customary in many hotels.

For the pool tables, we apologize if this happened as it is the norm for us to allow guests to finish their game before switching off.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We would be happy to welcome you back should you be willing to return to Malta.

Best regards,

Hubert Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I'm a Grandma travelling with my daughter, son in law and 3 young grand children. On arrival at the Seabank resort we were well taken care of on our arrival. We had never been to Malta before and were very pleasantly surprised to find this very nice hotel. It is large, a.d very well run. Very clean, staff very courteous and friendly. The food was very good, even though the amount of people constantly flowing through the different dining areas was huge. Not good for sticking to the diet !
Lovely large pool (unfortunately cold) with a small indoor for the sensitive !. Well run entertainment for the kids with a disco every night then after for the adults.
Very nice beach with safe bathing just acros the road.
Good bus service to many places .

Very good all round holiday...

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estibalez S, Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear jean e,

Thank you very much for this nice review. We are pleased to read that you have chosen the Seabank for your first visit to Malta, and that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for recommending our friendly staff, cleanliness and entertainment. We are glad to have met your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Estibaliz Santamaria
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

It's taken me a while to write this review so apologies! Myself, my husband and my then 23 month old stayed at the Seabank last July. I had read some great reviews on here so was expecting great things.

On arrival the main reception is very spacious and modern, the reception was pretty busy but check in was easy. We were asked if we wanted help with our bags and as usual my husband said no, BIG MISTAKE! The room was what felt like miles away with a tired toddler and we kept getting lost! Anyway that was our fault for not accepting help but maybe they should have 'made' us take the help! :)

The room was clean and decorated with a nautical feel, we paid extra for a room with a dividing glass partition so we had a room with a large king size and behind the glass were twin beds with the cot we had ordered. We knew little one would probably go to bed before us so at least we had our own space of an evening. Our room didn't have a view but wasn't too important to us anyway.

After spending an uncomfortable night in this room we really felt that the air conditioning wasn't working properly so told reception staff who said they would send someone over to look at it. On finding nothing wrong we stayed in their another night, again none of us sleeping well in the heat, I kept on at reception and they kept sending someone but nothing changed the air conditioning situation! They did offer us another room but a cheaper soon which seeing as I'd paid extra for a bigger room I really didn't want to go for. Finally we were moved and fete that we started to sleep much better I only wished they would have moved us sooner as this really effected the start of our holiday.

The only restaurant we did try was the Italian and had pizza, we mainly used the main buffet restaurant as we found it easier having a toddler! We really couldn't fault the food, lots of choice and really fresh. My husband is a vegetarian and there wasn't a massive choice for veggies but he does eat fish so there was plenty of that!

The entertainment team were amazing! Most of them worked in the kids club during the day then put on the night time entertainment too which was great for the kids! They really couldn't do enough for everyone.

The pools were lovely with plenty of sun loungers, we stayed by the kids pool which was smaller and although guests aren't supposed to 'save' sun loungers they did which was annoying! I think the management should keep more of an eye on this.

Malta was a really lovely place and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estibalez S, Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Jamie Louise H,

Many thanks for posting this nice review about our resort. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Seabank last July. Thank you very much for your suggestions which have been shared with our management team. We would be pleased to welcome you back next time you will be visiting Malta.

Best regards,

Estibaliz Santamaria
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stayed here in November - Nice hotel with excellent facilities - Food great with plenty choice - Rooms clean & spacious - only 1 issue that was hot water was very temperamental

Pool are great & also indoor pool was a bonus as weather was poor

I do not think I would like to go in High Season as it could be quite noisy

Great location - beach opposite & bus stop to all destinations

Overall excellent time except for weather

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estibalez S, Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear GEDDY59,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about our resort. We are glad to note that overall, you had a satisfying stay in our hotel in last November. Thank you for recommending the Seabank on Trip Advisor, we are pleased to read that you enjoyed our facilities. Whilst looking forward to welcoming you back, feel free to contact us beforehand with any requests you may have.

Best regards,

Estibaliz Santamaria
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to db Seabank Resort + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about db Seabank Resort + Spa

Address: Marfa Road | Mellieha Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9064, Malta (Formerly Seabank All Inclusive Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — db Seabank Resort + Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Mellieha Bay on the island of Malta* All Inclusive Resort* 30 m from the beach* 5-story building* 1 km from downtown Mellieha* 20 km from the airport, 30 m from a bus stop.---Seabank’s new and stylish property offers countless ways to spend your days while on holiday in Malta. Overlooking Malta’s largest sandy beach at Ghadira Bay excellent beach for family with children), the Seabank Hotel includes:(1) Modern accommodation, 492 spacious non-smoking and fully equipped rooms (free WIFI), (2) Six international restaurants, three bars serving unlimited beverages. (3) The Seabank Resort incorporates a modern spa with fully equipped gym, heated indoor pool, mind & body healing courses, Jacuzzi, Turkish steam bath & sauna, (4) A spectacular array of day and evening activities for every age and interest and (5)Live evening entertainmentAt the back of the resort, Malta’s largest Lagoon style outdoor pool overlooks serene Maltese scenery. Recreational activities such as beach volleyball, crazy golf, air rifle shooting, and beach soccer can be enjoyed at our newly built recreational area. The colorful Kids Club cannot be missed. Popeye Village is just minutes away from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your db Seabank Resort + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Seabank
Riu Seabank Mellieha
Seabank Hotel
Db Seabank Resort + Spa Malta/Mellieha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage db Seabank Resort + Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.