We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel! Very good value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of db Seabank Resort + Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added db Seabank Resort + Spa to your Saves list
db Seabank Resort + Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Marfa Road | Mellieha Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9063, Malta (Formerly Seabank All Inclusive Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
FREE Airport Shuttle
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel! Very good value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

To make this review short and sweet, this is a very nice, newly updated, clean, well managed, with efficient and courteous employees, an energetic and talented animation team, with extremely comfortable family rooms. All of these are some of the many things I liked about this hotel. A small list of cons was that the food was good but selection could have been better. Probably the biggest negative was the quality of the the drinks to include fountain drinks, alcohol and especially the wine, all substandard. This hotel is an excellent value for your money and one of the reasons is that they save money in the very expensive side of the all-inclusive business, in drinks and alcohol. To get picky the large family pool is unheated and unbearably cold in October. Glad there was the heated, very well maintained indoor pool but completely packed with most of the guests of the hotel. Also, noteworthy was the exercise room and spa facilities.

Overall and for the money, I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,309
    643
    174
    46
    27
See reviews for
816
888
45
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (817)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birkirkara, Malta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I had the opportunity to visit the Seabank twice in a one week span, once for a day by the pool and once for a two night stay. Both of which were very pleasant and relaxing experiences.
The hotel itself is enormous, with nice modern furnishings and is kept impeccably clean, with the exception of the very stained carpets along the upstairs corridors, which while clean look old and dingy (rather surprising for a hotel which was refurbished just over a year ago).
Our room (5125) was tastefully decorated with a nautical theme and had the most gorgeous views of Mellieha valley and the beach which could be enjoyed thanks to the massive balcony/terrace we had, which was a very nice surprise. The bathroom was also spacious and nicely decorated. As mentioned previously, the hotel is kept very clean, and our room was no exception.
The atmosphere in general is a happy one, with staff who are pleasant and helpful and also very efficient at their jobs. It was very easy to relax and enjoy our time there. The pool area is simply gorgeous, again well cleaned and properly maintained. The indoor pool is perhaps a bit small considering the size of the hotel. The only complaint here would be that a pool attendant was rarely seen and children still played in the Jacuzzi even though they’re not supposed, we encountered the same issue with the adults only pool.
With regards to food there are plenty of different restaurants to choose from, some of which require booking in advance (especially the Brazilian restaurant which seems quite popular). Wouldn’t recommend the Italian restaurant as choices were rather limited and the food of average quality. The oriental restaurant was lovely though, as was the Coral restaurant during breakfast and lunch time (didn’t have the opportunity to go for dinner). The late breakfast served in the Laguna restaurant was ideal if we felt like waking up late and while there isn’t as large a selection as that offered in the Coral restaurant it was good enough for us, still a good selection of breakfast items to choose from. Lunch in the Laguna restaurant consists mainly of junk food (burgers, pizza, chips, fried battered fish etc) with just a couple of healthy meat options but a salad bar is also available if, unlike myself, you like veggies enough to make a meal out of them. Lunch at the Coral restaurant was much better in my opinion, with a variety of options to choose from. You couldn’t possibly go hungry in this hotel!
Tea time was also good, but selection of sweets was limited to three different items. We did find a number of dirty mugs and plates (which were meant to be clean) on one occasion during the late breakfast, but didn’t come across the same problem on any other day.
We did have a small problem with rain water seeping into our room from the balcony/terrace, as it was raining heavily during our stay, but it didn’t trouble us much, nothing a couple of towels couldn’t handle. The water problem seems to be throughout the hotel since even the lobby bar and corridors beside the pool bar had towels against the bottom of the door to stop water from coming in, again, a real pity considering the recent renovation.
The animation team was simply fantastic, keeping adults and children entertained at all times with various activities all day long. Reception staff were also polite and helpful as were the cleaning staff. It was nice to be in an environment which could only be described as a happy one.
Overall we had the most amazing time at the Seabank, this was probably one of the most weekend breaks we have enjoyed for quite some time and look forward to returning, hopefully for a longer period next time. Highly recommended if you are looking for good fun and relaxation. A big thank you to all at the Seabank who made our short holiday a most lovely one!

Room Tip: Room 5125 has the most gorgeous views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Brilliant family oriented hotel. Staff were excellent and friendly, and rooms very clean and comfortable. There was an issue with our booking i.e. we booked a seaview room, but were given pool view instead. After looking at the room we agreed to stay in the pool view and were given a refund of the difference. To be honest it worked out better for us with the children given the way the sun passes over the hotel.
Pools are excellent, particularly for the kids, loads of slides etc in the children's pool. No problems with sun beds etc.
There is also a soft play area, which is looking a little tired and could do with a bit of a refurb, but nonetheless the children really enjoyed it.
Kid's club is excellent, activities every day.
Restaurant staff work tirelessly, and this is what made our holiday, they couldn't do enough for us. There are 5 restaurants to choose from - Main restaurant, Traditional Maltese, Brasilian Barbeque, Italian and Asian Cuisine. Restaurants to suit all tastes. We dined in them all and can say that the food was excellent in all of them.
Maids cleaning the rooms take real pride in their work, our room was spotless, and we were always exchanged with a good morning or hello every day.
The beach just across the road from the hotel, is really good, clean and safe for children, we paid it a visit most days and the children had a fantastic time there.
The footpaths aren't really built for buggies, so make sure to use the bus service to get around the island, again all the bus drivers etc. were very courteous and it is a cheap service. Definitely take the bus and enjoy a trip to Valetta, have a walk around, it's beautiful.
At the hotel you will notice a lot of mix of nationalities, which in my opinion made the time at the hotel such an enjoyable experience.
Would definitely return

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and I have been so overwhelmingly pleased with this resort that we look no further when planning a week end break somewhere. Sea bank has it all. The rooms are well equipped and spotlessly clean The staff is exceedingly friendly and efficient. The dynamic front office manager, Marion Spiteri, her manager, the ever-beaming Spanish lady, Esti and Darren Zahra the diligent food and beverage supervisor, all work tirelessly to make your stay a truly memorable one. The "all inclusive" philosophy works wonders as you don't have to worry about anything. Its the perfect getaway which keeps us returning for more. Thank you and keep up the sterling service! Owen, Therese and baby Lucija.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I have visited the hotel for the first time after its refurbishment. I can vogue for the warm atmosphere established in the new style. Food was great and unlimited. Thus also including the drinks. All Staff was welcome including our room attendant with her charming smile. We really relaxed, ate and also had a nice swim in the beautiful and picturesque Mellieha ( Ghadira ) bay just a few metres away from the Hotel.

Once again I would like to thank all the hotel staff for our relaxing break.

I will surely visit the hotel once again.

Room Tip: All rooms seems to have a nice view, but definitely i would recommend you have a view of the picture...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Chose this Hotel for a bit of relaxation and to explore this part of Malta. On the plus side the Hotel had recently been refitted and was spotless with excellent facilities alround. The staff were great as were the animation team. For all inclusive the food in the main restaurant was of really good quality with special dishes being cooked most nights.e found this restaurant better than the themed ones. The top pool is an adults only pool which we enjoyed the peace and tranquility it brought. The games facilities were also good together with the Aqua-exersize (for the wife - beer-o-clock for me). Swimming in the warm water of the bay before breakfast was great.
On the down side the rooms were clean and comfortable but suffered from traffic noise due to the road in front of the hotel even after trying to change rooms after one night we stayed with our original large corner room on the first floor over the roundabout, the hotel was full so there was limited options to get further away. The town itself up on the hill will cheer you up, when you get back to the hotel that is.

Room Tip: Avoid the roundabout side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed here first two weeks of October, sunny and 28 degrees but for one day of rain. The good things about this resort are: the amazing view from the huge terrace of the deluxe sea-view rooms; the relaxing rural location, with local bus stop right across the street (7-day pass to go all over Malta is only 12 euros); the good and very friendly housekeeping staff; the spa; and the hard-working entertainment team including the wandering musicians at dinner. The public beach across the road is nice but there is no arrangement for hotel guests and you have to pay 10 euro daily fee for a beach chair. Other than that, compared to other all-inclusive resorts across the world we have visited, this is at best a 3-star facility that needs to try a lot harder to become a 4-star. The worst problems are the pools: although beautiful looking, the water was very cold (the sea was much warmer) so very few people went in. The pools close at 8 p.m., even the indoor pool and hot tub, where other resorts allow adults to use these facilities after dark. The bars have a very limited drink menu, with a short list of cocktails to choose from. For example, we were told they would not make a Margarita, a very common drink, because people in Malta don’t drink Margaritas. However, there are two restaurants just a block up the road that serve great Margaritas. The resort has low quality liquor, and you have to buy tokens at the front desk for what they consider to be the better brands of liquor (since when is Gordon’s Gin considered to be a “top shelf” brand?). The bar staff could use some hospitality training, as all but one of them acted like they would rather be working somewhere else. Bar cleanliness is a problem with sticky bar and table surfaces, and tables that were not cleared when people left. More than once we saw tables that sat all day long without being cleared, collecting flies. The bars also suffer from the same design issue as the restaurants, being that there is no lighting design at all. It’s as if they ran out of money when doing the renovation a year or two ago. There is no “atmosphere” to enjoy. In the bars and the outdoor restaurant there are just some harsh roof top security-type flood-lights, and the indoor restaurants were lit up like prison cafeterias. The food choices are limited and although some was quite good (Laguna), some was also quite bad (Oriental). Poor logistics planning also plagues the restaurants, for example at breakfast, the toast, butter and jam are located at three different parts of the main dining room. In the Brazilian restaurant, the meat courses come out in a particular order. By the time the meat comes out that you prefer to eat, your side dishes are cold. Other issues with this resort include: the deluxe room did not have any of the advertised items, which had to be requested and sent up by the staff; the carpets in the hallways were stained; things didn’t work from time to time including elevators, hot tub, room fridge, sauna and water refilling station. In closing: a friendly warning for couples that are booking a romantic vacation, note that this is a very family-friendly resort, meaning there is no place for those who are looking to celebrate a special romantic couples’ occasion which doesn’t have children crying at the next table. The resort could perhaps set aside one restaurant for adults-only? We loved Malta but will stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to db Seabank Resort + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about db Seabank Resort + Spa

Address: Marfa Road | Mellieha Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9063, Malta (Formerly Seabank All Inclusive Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — db Seabank Resort + Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Mellieha Bay on the island of Malta* All Inclusive Resort* 30 m from the beach* 5-story building* 1 km from downtown Mellieha* 20 km from the airport, 30 m from a bus stop.---Seabank’s new and stylish property offers countless ways to spend your days while on holiday in Malta. Overlooking Malta’s largest sandy beach at Ghadira Bay excellent beach for family with children), the Seabank Hotel includes:(1) Modern accommodation, 492 spacious non-smoking and fully equipped rooms (free WIFI), (2) Six international restaurants, three bars serving unlimited beverages. (3) The Seabank Resort incorporates a modern spa with fully equipped gym, heated indoor pool, mind & body healing courses, Jacuzzi, Turkish steam bath & sauna, (4) A spectacular array of day and evening activities for every age and interest and (5)Live evening entertainmentAt the back of the resort, Malta’s largest Lagoon style outdoor pool overlooks serene Maltese scenery. Recreational activities such as beach volleyball, crazy golf, air rifle shooting, and beach soccer can be enjoyed at our newly built recreational area. The colorful Kids Club cannot be missed. Popeye Village is just minutes away from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your db Seabank Resort + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Seabank
Riu Seabank Mellieha
Seabank Hotel
Db Seabank Resort + Spa Malta/Mellieha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage db Seabank Resort + Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.