We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of db Seabank Resort + Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added db Seabank Resort + Spa to your Saves list
db Seabank Resort + Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Marfa Road | Mellieha Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9064, Malta (Formerly Seabank All Inclusive Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Corwen, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“first class hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

we arrived in malta on the 5th sept our first visit first impression was not good we arrived in what seemed like a hurricane . we finally reached our hotel and our spirits lifted the welcome we had was first class we were shown to our room which was a terraced suite (heaven) the hotel is in a lovely location very clean good variation of food and drinks ,animation team great ,this is one hotel that deserves a good write up everyone from the managment to the cleaners are so friendly thank you seabank you made our holiday in malta special

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,581
    773
    222
    54
    34
See reviews for
964
1,103
62
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (992)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Location was very good, view from our room across the bay was excellent, Room overall was very good, more spacious than was expected. However found the food to be bland and very repetitive, the experience of eating in the coral restaurant was like being in a canteen, no feeling of being looked after at all, The Italian which we went to on a Saturday night was chaotic, preference given it seemed to locals, got our order very wrong, insisted I had ordered a fish dish, as I do not eat fish or meat this was very unlikely, we had to ask for the menu again to show the waitress the vegetarian option I had ordered as she said they do not do vegetarian! Waited 40 mins for them to bring mine, which never appeared so walked out, spoke to 3 different 'supervisors', none of which were that bothered. The Brazilian restaurant was the best (and I don’t eat meat!) for staff, service and quality of food. The pool side restaurant for late breakfast and afternoon snacks was very noisy on the weekend, the local's use the facilities on the weekend and the place becomes very busy, on the Sunday we were there a family group allowed their children to have a food fight, nice! Also their appeared to be no dress code for the pool side restaurant so people were going in to fetch and eat food in swimming trunks, bikinis etc. with no cover up, think that the very least a t shirt should be worn, bare hairy chests and do not mix with food. Overall the pool area did not appear to be cleaned often, one morning plates and cups etc. from day before were still scattered around. Found the staff to be polite on the whole with reception staff being the most unhelpful! I say it was a mixed bag because it was, speaking to other guests there seemed to be a 50/50 split on whether they liked it or not. Would I go again, No but then I am unlikely to go to Malta again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

A brilliant hotel for the family. The hotel is clean, the rooms spacious and the food the best we've had at an all inclusive. Right opposite the hotel is a lovely beach with lots of water sports on offer. Malta is a beautiful island with plenty to see.

Room Tip: Request a room with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Well what can i say about this Hotel..i can't find anything bad to say..great food..great staff..great entertainment..i would like to say a big thank you to the animation team of Michael, Alvaro, Alex, Josie, Dominique, Boris, Annabelle & forgive me i cannot remember the other 2 girls names who ran the kids club..these guys work 14 hours a day doing daily events around the pool, Zumba, Archery, darts, rifle shooting, bowls, football, volleyball & then at night in the Dome about 9.30 they put on a hour show a different show every night i must say for all the guests to enjoy..i had the privilege of singing in 2 shows doing 2 numbers each show with the gang..great guys..i would like whoever reads this review of the hotel my regards to all the animation team for me if you read this..tell them Rick said hi & thanx for a great time & it was a pleasure to be a part of the show for 2 nights..the rooms were cleaned every day..the food was very good..thank you Seabank & the Animation team for making our 2 weeks a good 2 weeks..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

wow what a fantastic 2 weeks! from the moment we arrived at 12.30am we were swiftly booked in and offered a buffet in the main restaurant, nice touch considering the time of night. our room was on the 4th floor on the poolside of the hotel it was very bright clean and large with tea/coffee facilities,fridge and sizeable free safe. the main pool was huge with more than enough comfortable loungers(not your usual plastic,broken ones) the adult pool was a nice size with its own bar which was nice if you wanted a kid free place to go.the all inclusive range of drinks was the best ive known, if the the cocktails werent strong enough you just had to ask for more alcohol! the choice of 5 restaurants was great, we tried them all and found them all very good tho we did have to wait a long time in the italian. the animation team all deserve medals!! such a hard working and polite group. they get the guests included in activities during the day without getting in your face and the evening shows were good, some great singing and dancing. weve never been back to the same hotel twice but this hotel i will certainly be going back too! well done to everyone at the seabank and thankyou for a great time

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Hotel and facilities are excellent. Good choice of menus from the different restaurants on site. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room very spacious and clean. Would highly recommend. The location of the hotel was on major bus routes to explore the island. Buy a 7 day pass to go anywhere (except Gozo).

Room Tip: All rooms of the same size
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just returned from a week at the Seabank. Overall, this is an excellent hotel, has fantastic rooms, a very large pool and great food. You really dont need to leave the hotel or take any money with you, its all right there in one hotel complex.
FOOD. You can eat in the main restaurant for all meals and it serves a variety of foods which are all delicious and we had no complaints. The drinks were fine, good wines and beer, cocktails were good too and at most bars, you could just help yourself to drinks which is fab but lethal ! Water is available from the machines but we did find they were often empty and the nozzles could have done with more regular cleaning. There are additional restaurants which are included in the price but need booking a few days in advance. The Brazilian is fantastic, you get served a different type of gorgeous meat one after another until you are full (you have a red disc on your table to show the servers when you are full - brilliant concept). The med restaurant is also excellent.
POOL. Loved the adult pool which has its own bar. There is a security guard who will kick out any kids if found in there, but this was not a problem whilst we were there, nor was there a problem at weekends with the locals, in fact it was quiet so I think september is a good time to go.
Please note, there are flies everywhere but I found spraying strong insect repellant helped a little. Some areas eg the bar at the front of the hotel was not as clean and tidy as it could be especially in the evenings.
ROOMS. the room was not as clean as I would have liked on initial arrival, especially the floor, but were kept clean after that. The rooms are really big, loads of storage and lovely big balconies. However, ladies be aware, there is nowhere to sit to do your make up, the room would benefit from having a dressing table and chair with a mirror. Air con was good and there was a large ceiling fan too if needed. A few people,have commented about the carpets in the halls, we agree they were a bit stained on the lower floors but on the 6th floor which we were on, they were fine. However the corridors were rather dark and dingy and could do with some paintings on the walls to brighten them up.
ENTERTAINMENT. There is no doubt the animation team work their socks off. They do games in the day and shows in the evening. However, if you don't like that sort of thing, there's not much else to do. A bar with some music or a piano singer etc, would have been good
MALTA. Is very different than any other med country I have been to. It's not as pretty as some places, too built up really for my liking but some parts were stunning eg valletta and mdina. The sea is also very clean and clear and Mellieha beach was nice. However i have never seen so much dog poo, as i did in Valletta (going around the city walls), it was disgusting! The people are however exceptionally friendly and helpful. The bus service is fantastic, you do not need to book any excursions at all, the bus stops are clearly marked and the buses go everywhere over the island. It cost €2.60 for a days pass. We did go on the Comino ferry over to the blue lagoon (cheaper and better than doing an excursion as they go over early before the crowds) but it was really windy so we could not swim. Have to say I think the lagoon is rather over hyped and most med countries have beaches much better
Overall, a great holiday, would def go back to the seabank, despite a few niggles, it is an excellent hotel and one of the best we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Would def have a pool view room. The sea view rooms overlook a very busy main road. We emailed the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to db Seabank Resort + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about db Seabank Resort + Spa

Address: Marfa Road | Mellieha Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9064, Malta (Formerly Seabank All Inclusive Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — db Seabank Resort + Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Mellieha Bay on the island of Malta* All Inclusive Resort* 30 m from the beach* 5-story building* 1 km from downtown Mellieha* 20 km from the airport, 30 m from a bus stop.---Seabank’s new and stylish property offers countless ways to spend your days while on holiday in Malta. Overlooking Malta’s largest sandy beach at Ghadira Bay excellent beach for family with children), the Seabank Hotel includes:(1) Modern accommodation, 492 spacious non-smoking and fully equipped rooms (free WIFI), (2) Six international restaurants, three bars serving unlimited beverages. (3) The Seabank Resort incorporates a modern spa with fully equipped gym, heated indoor pool, mind & body healing courses, Jacuzzi, Turkish steam bath & sauna, (4) A spectacular array of day and evening activities for every age and interest and (5)Live evening entertainmentAt the back of the resort, Malta’s largest Lagoon style outdoor pool overlooks serene Maltese scenery. Recreational activities such as beach volleyball, crazy golf, air rifle shooting, and beach soccer can be enjoyed at our newly built recreational area. The colorful Kids Club cannot be missed. Popeye Village is just minutes away from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your db Seabank Resort + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Seabank
Riu Seabank Mellieha
Seabank Hotel
Db Seabank Resort + Spa Malta/Mellieha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage db Seabank Resort + Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.