We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best 4 star hotel in northern Malta” 4 of 5 stars
Review of db Seabank Resort + Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added db Seabank Resort + Spa to your Saves list
db Seabank Resort + Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Marfa Road | Mellieha Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9064, Malta (Formerly Seabank All Inclusive Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best 4 star hotel in northern Malta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I've stayed at the Seabank a good few times. Overall, it's always been a great experience, especially since the whole place was renovated. Hotel is new, bright, spacious, airy, modern and uncluttered. Location is excellent. Staff good, even very good. Food more than acceptable. Overall, a really pleasant 4 star all inclusive resort.

I do believe they should pay more attention to small details which can all too often spoil an otherwise excellent experience though. Examples? Indoor swimming pool is just made of raw concrete, painted blue. Looks really cheap, they should finish it with tiles. WiFi doesn't work in the spa and there rarely is soap in the showers. Food is sadly all too often foreign, made from frozen ingredients, unauthentic. They really ought to serve more local fruit, veg, cheese, desserts. I'm sure it wouldn't cost them any more, they'd just have to think a bit more. Malta has a glorious culinary tradition, they should promote and celebrate it, not hide it under somewhat bland, international menu.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,572
    770
    218
    54
    34
See reviews for
955
1,096
62
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (986)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The hotels priority is the resident holiday makers come first, they made sure the wife and i had the best of holidays .When we booked with Mercury direct i mentioned that the holiday was to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary and when we arrived wewent to the room where a bottle of bubbly and some cake where on the table waiting for us, as was a cold meal . Can not pick a fault with the Seabank they think of the paying guests.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Returned last night after a pleasant 7 night stay with my 23 month old son and OAP mum. We arrived at 1pm and had to wait until 2.30 for our room. This wasn't a problem as we went into the Coral Restaurant for a buffet lunch. We returned to reception to collect out 2 suitcases and 2 large hand bags and were given our key and directions to the room. We were not offered any assistance with our luggage and found it quite difficult to get to the 4th floor room allocated to us.
I had asked for a quite room with an open view and this is exactly what I got. Room 4423 over looked the pool/country-side, was large, newly decorated, had 4 easy chairs and a table, it was fitted with large double wardrobe, plenty of hangers and storage space. The bathroom was ideal, fitted with a large double ended bath and 2 outlet shower, a hairdryer and shaver point. For UK guests there is no need to pack plug adapters as the room had British plug sockets. The balcony was large and very secure for young children, being half brick built and half glass with a total height of approx 4.5 foot. We slept with the balcony doors open to allow fresh air in during the night and were never bothered by noise or mosquitoes. The hotel grounds were silent after midnight and we had a good sleep on comfortable new beds and pillows.
The weather was warm every day, a little over-cast at times, and a little bit too chilly to sit out-side most evenings especially if the wind was blowing. The outdoor pools were too cold to swim in for most people and the indoor pool was full of teenagers being teenagers! I would return, but not in peak season as I think it would be too crowded for me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

just arrived back from the Seabank hotel and I am pleased to say it was an ok hotel the staff made this hotel better than it was
on arrival they tried to give me a pool view room and it quite clearly stated on the paperwork I produced it was a sea view room and this was sorted at once
there was a very nice lady on reception who explained most things to us about the hotel
room was ok size and masses of storage big comfy bed and good sized bathroom and decent shower it was just the floor that was filthy dirty and our feet had to be washed and socks worn before bed until I spoke to the very nice maids the next day who promptly cleaned it for us
fridge and water supplied for you and plenty of tea and coffee but as always in all hotels milk is more difficult to obtain unless you buy your own
food was ok but they need to look at how they cook vegetables - most days they were like mush!
but you would have to be very picky if you could not find anything to eat as there was a good range of choices of all types of food and desserts
I would like to say thank you to all the chefs who looked after my special need for egg-free food and to Paul for my very tasty cheese cake he made for me - egg free of course - thank you.
everything about the hotel was ok but nothing exceptional for the amount of money it cost - I have had better for less in 3star hotels - but on saying this our hotel was apparently praised by all compared to the disastrous hotels others stayed in
the weather was a bit hit and miss - but that is never guaranteed anywhere
the bowling alley didn't work but the pools were good and the seating areas around the pool were excellent
Chinese restaurant was just ok never had the Brazilian food so cant comment but didn't hear any raves about it either.
Also the hotel can decide what time and when the all inclusive starts and finishes and with 2 people on the bar - 1 used to collect glasses - it was a good ploy by the hotel to make sure not too many people got too many drinks - pity help those in the busy months!
Closing the bar at 11 and then you have to buy tokens for any late drinks - bit of a let down if its suppose to be all inclusive
the best entertainment and pleasantries was by the animation team - very well done - I have never wanted to be entertained while on holiday but to my surprise I actually wanted to watch their shows they put on and they put 100% of effort into it too - and all the children at the hotel loved them and seemed to have a great time with them all excellent.
They also took the time to go around all the guests and valued your comments about the show you had just watched which was a nice touch
getting around Malta was easy via the Arriva buses but the drivers were absolutely crazy! to say the least and I don't think the Maltese people were impressed by them either
generally a nice hotel and a nice place to visit

Room Tip: higher floor sea view rooms are worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Just returned yesterday from Seabanks A/I in Malta, our room was clean and spacious,more than adequate for our needs, bit of a walk from the lifts but ok. We found it very noisy with the balcony door open as we were facing the new bypass road, so sitting on the balcony was not always a pleasent experience, the week end was worst as the towns motor cyclists seemed to want to try out TT racing (not good) Also we had problems with our room door, we were shut out three times and shut in once as well !! Another problem was a dicky fire alarm which went off twice during our stay, 0700hrs is never good for false alarms (however, good job they were false) We were woken one morning at 0500hrs by a large generator starting up and continuously running till ? who knows when, we eventually went to breakfast and then out.

Food was generally good, and certainly plentiful, tho it reminded me of my youth and good old butlins, some times it was VERY busy and Noisy but i guess that is what you have to expect with buffet style restaurants. They do offer other dining options at Seabanks and we sampled both the Brazilian and the Asian on seperate occasions, both excellent quisine, we also tried out the jungle which was frankly awful, it took ages to be served and when the food eventually arrived it was not good !!

The hotel has a spa and both indoor and outdoor pools which we used regularly tho the outside pool was very cold indeed, At weekends the hotel allows day visitors from local Maltese people and as such becomes extremely busy, probably to the detriment of existing customers for example it was difficult finding a table at times in the Coral restaurant and some food and drink did actually run out.
A positive, was the attention of the staff, they were more than happy to help and always polite and friendly, the evening entertainment was very much HI-DE -HI in style but the animation staff worked their socks off and deserve to be recognised, well done !!
To sum up, we enjoyed our stay at Seabanks but feel it failed to tick all of the boxes we expected for the amount of money we paid.

Room Tip: Pool view is recommended, less noisy than the new by-pass.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We have just returned from a week in the Seabank hotel and it was nice, the room was very clean and spacious and our hotel maid Zara was always very friendly. The location is great, near the beach and the bus station. The most disappointed thing was the brazillian restaurant, first of all, the restaurant is called El Rodizio, why put the name in spanish when it is a brazillian restaurant and the portuguese is the language of brazil? Then it didn't had not even one ingredient that it's used in the brazillian rodizio, yes it was a rozidio of different meats, but not at all a brazillian rodizio. So if you know what a brazillian rodizio really is, don't book there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is amazing and I am not easily impressed. The staff are always friendly and the hotel is clean and new. The indoor pool was a blessing for the kids and the quality and abundance of food and drink left us speechless!

The only gripe that I have is that the hotel is rather large and we weren't shown where anything was not even our room. We are locals so felt left out when we saw other foreign guests being shown around. Also it seems that the animation staff is off on Wednesday.

All that being said I am rating 4 stars because the overall expierence was good.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan B, Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your compliments and constructive comments on the Tripadvisor.

Yes it is true the Resort has become the largest in Malta and we will inform our reception staff to explain better the facilities upon arrival. I would like to point out that a clear map is provided on the key wallet and if assistance had been requested a member of staff would have been more than willing to assist with your luggage.

Our new animation team are doing a sterling job and well liked by all our guests. It would be nice to have them 7 days a week but unfortunately we all need a break. Animation day off is on Tuesday not Wednesday, which means no day time activities and in the evening we have a musical show by 3 talented singers instead.

Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Seabank Resort & Spa.

Best wishes,
Ivan Borg Ferrando
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to db Seabank Resort + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about db Seabank Resort + Spa

Address: Marfa Road | Mellieha Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9064, Malta (Formerly Seabank All Inclusive Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — db Seabank Resort + Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Mellieha Bay on the island of Malta* All Inclusive Resort* 30 m from the beach* 5-story building* 1 km from downtown Mellieha* 20 km from the airport, 30 m from a bus stop.---Seabank’s new and stylish property offers countless ways to spend your days while on holiday in Malta. Overlooking Malta’s largest sandy beach at Ghadira Bay excellent beach for family with children), the Seabank Hotel includes:(1) Modern accommodation, 492 spacious non-smoking and fully equipped rooms (free WIFI), (2) Six international restaurants, three bars serving unlimited beverages. (3) The Seabank Resort incorporates a modern spa with fully equipped gym, heated indoor pool, mind & body healing courses, Jacuzzi, Turkish steam bath & sauna, (4) A spectacular array of day and evening activities for every age and interest and (5)Live evening entertainmentAt the back of the resort, Malta’s largest Lagoon style outdoor pool overlooks serene Maltese scenery. Recreational activities such as beach volleyball, crazy golf, air rifle shooting, and beach soccer can be enjoyed at our newly built recreational area. The colorful Kids Club cannot be missed. Popeye Village is just minutes away from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your db Seabank Resort + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Seabank
Riu Seabank Mellieha
Seabank Hotel
Db Seabank Resort + Spa Malta/Mellieha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage db Seabank Resort + Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.