We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of db Seabank Resort + Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added db Seabank Resort + Spa to your Saves list
db Seabank Resort + Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Marfa Road | Mellieha Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9064, Malta (Formerly Seabank All Inclusive Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

A very well placed hotel near the biggest beach on Malta.
Nice environment, modern style.
Rooms are large and well furnished.
MINUS - bathroom has no vent (and gets foggy) and no floor siphon !!!! Imagine what can happen if the taps got broken...
The Spa is very good.
Pools and pool areas are very good as well.
The main restaurant is large, plenty of space, food is very good but not excellent. Drinks can be average.
MINUS - again, vent problems in the restaurant and, therefore, the smell of mixed food can be quite repulsive.
Entertaiment is average, some nights good, other nights awfull.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,575
    770
    219
    54
    34
See reviews for
957
1,098
62
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (988)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The food at the Seabank was very good, plenty of choice and something for everyone. The breakfasts were especially good, with real back bacon instead of the streaky stuff that hotels abroad usually provide. The fruit juices were poor quality though.

At weekend the hotel is very busy with local people and we felt as though they got priority over people staying for a week or so. The dining room was full of children running around and they were also playing with the lifts, so sometimes at weekend there was a long wait for a lift.

The drinks were disappointing though. We agree with some of the reviews that the alcoholic drinks had hardly any alcohol in them. This certainly stopped any drunken behaviour at the hotel, but for the price paid we did not expect mainly soft drinks. We tended to go to the main bar when we wanted a drink as one barman at the Dome seemed as if he was providing the drinks from his own personal supply, even water was served in a small glass.

The hotel room was really big, kept very clean, with fresh towels when needed. The tea/coffee making facilities were lovely and saved us taking our travel kettle. The free safe, flat screen tv and fridge were also useful.

There was no problem getting a sunbed, even at weekends. The outdoor pool was lovely to look at but cold in October. The indoor pool was warmer but was unsupervised and several people throwing balls around made swimming uncomfortable. It was lovely to be just across the road from the beach too.

The kids disco at night was fun for the children, but it would have been useful to have a structured program of activities for the kids club so everyone knew what was on each day.

All in all a good holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacup, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just back from a week stay with family party of six , upgraded rooms to seaview for birthdays :-)
food was the best ive had in Malta and the hotel is clean, bright and very well set out , staff very friendly and attentive , cant wait to go back roll on January :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We went for three family birthdays .the weather was gorgeous all week .We could not fault the hotel in any way the staff were very pleasant and helpful.Lovely food and facilities.Returning in January for a week and again in May .Can't wait

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Came back on Tuesday after a week stay at this hotel.
Hotel is being extended, constant noise of cranes, forks, trunks, drills and machinery. Leaky pipes everywhere, lobby, restaurant. My son slipped twice. Dodgy electrical work. Indoor Pool light was floating on the surface at one stage with cable still attached. Indoor pool ladder/rail hanging off hinges. Pump cover broken in main pool. It rained and water started leaking in the corridor leading to the Dome. Sick left in the corridor carpet overnight. Cut my hand on restaurant door, dodgy handle design. Found broken glass in my glass of water from the bar. Took till 5pm to clean room. Kids indoor area unsafe and not supervised. Weekend offer to local for 15 Euros brought in hundreds of Yobs which stoped the rest of people using the facilities. No records were injuries, I bet there are alot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hubertdebono, General Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear H Saeid,

thank you for your review. We are obviously disappointed to read your comments especially since there are various remarks which may mislead potential clients. Rest assured that we do take the health and safety of our clients very seriously. Should you have felt that there was a risk of imminent injury to you, your family or other guests, it would have been much more appropriate to bring it to the attention of management so we could have taken immediate action or explained the situation. We do keep detailed records of any injuries and near misses that happen in the hotel but it seems that in your case, for some reason or another you have not felt the need to report them.
Just to clarify a couple of points: The pool light was indeed out of place but since this is designed to be in the water, it poses absolutely no danger whatsoever as it works on very low voltage (like a battery). The restaurant door handles are in the form of a stainless steel pipe so I am not sure how you could have cut your hand on something smooth and round. We have no such €15 rate so not sure from where you got this information.
I do hope that all in all you have enjoyed your holiday and feel free to contact me personally should you need further explanations to put your mind at rest or should you change your mind about booking another holiday with us.
Best regards,
Hubert Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

we went for a weekend break at d seabank for d first time since it reopened and i can say that i was very impressed with all for the hotel we where greated very nice from d reception staff the room was grest and d food was fantastic i even meet with chef steve he is a fantastic guy will go there again for sure

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Il-Gudja, null, Malta
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We just came back from 4 nights at this hotel. I must say that our stay was a very pleasant one. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to relax and have a break from every day life. The rooms are clean, service was great and staff very friendly. The place is lovely and the outdoor pool is really and beautiful.

During my stay at this hotel, I also used the spa and the girls there are really sweet. A big thanks to Charlotte and Puy.

The temperature of the indoor pool could be a bit warmer though!

One thing which i noticed and which I think should be addressed by the management, is that people are allowed to bring in glasses, and cups in the indoor pool, and many of these glasses were being left around on the floors; which could be dangerous especially for children!


What disappointed me was that we went to use the bowling facility and only managed to do so at the very last minute before we left due to the fact that bowling lanes were not working most of the time, even whilst we were playing, it kept getting stuck and the guy who was in charge had to keep on going up and down the lane to fix it there and then... I think this should be taken care of. Otherwise I have nothing negative to say.. We will definitely visit this hotel again!

Room Tip: At the moment the rooms facing the sea are quieter due to road works being carried out.. however the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to db Seabank Resort + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about db Seabank Resort + Spa

Address: Marfa Road | Mellieha Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9064, Malta (Formerly Seabank All Inclusive Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — db Seabank Resort + Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Mellieha Bay on the island of Malta* All Inclusive Resort* 30 m from the beach* 5-story building* 1 km from downtown Mellieha* 20 km from the airport, 30 m from a bus stop.---Seabank’s new and stylish property offers countless ways to spend your days while on holiday in Malta. Overlooking Malta’s largest sandy beach at Ghadira Bay excellent beach for family with children), the Seabank Hotel includes:(1) Modern accommodation, 492 spacious non-smoking and fully equipped rooms (free WIFI), (2) Six international restaurants, three bars serving unlimited beverages. (3) The Seabank Resort incorporates a modern spa with fully equipped gym, heated indoor pool, mind & body healing courses, Jacuzzi, Turkish steam bath & sauna, (4) A spectacular array of day and evening activities for every age and interest and (5)Live evening entertainmentAt the back of the resort, Malta’s largest Lagoon style outdoor pool overlooks serene Maltese scenery. Recreational activities such as beach volleyball, crazy golf, air rifle shooting, and beach soccer can be enjoyed at our newly built recreational area. The colorful Kids Club cannot be missed. Popeye Village is just minutes away from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your db Seabank Resort + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Seabank
Riu Seabank Mellieha
Seabank Hotel
Db Seabank Resort + Spa Malta/Mellieha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage db Seabank Resort + Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.