We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a very enjoyable holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Riviera Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Riviera Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Riviera Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Marfa Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH02 , Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Overall a very enjoyable holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Returned from a 10 night stay at the Riviara on the 4th August 2014. Firstly it's a very nice hotel, Staff at reception are very friendly and always available to help out if you need information or help. The Animation team, Well what do i say? how do you guys always have a smile on your faces. These people do a great job and are always trying to make your stay an enjoyable one. Food was great, quite a variety, My wife and I didn't dislike anything we chose to eat. Breakfasts were pretty much the same every day but we both like a good English breakfast, Sausage, egg, bacon etc. Rooms cleaned every day with clean sheets daily, our maid Alexandria was very friendly and always greeted us with a smile, Loved to towel swans that greeted us. Evening entertainment some nights could send you to sleep, some guy on a keyboard singing old songs from the 60's/ 70's but I guess the hotel has to cater for all ages, We are late 40's Early 50's but we remember better tunes from that era. Management Please let the Animation team take over all the evening entertainment as they do a far more superior job. My only other disappointment was a particular member of bar staff, I don't like to name and shame but Stephanie who during our stay worked mainly in the Charlie Noble bar seemed to make all inclusive wristband wearers wait to be served even when standing at the bar for a long time, I noticed on several occasions when I was at the bar and made eye contact with her, then other customers would come to the bar long after me she would serve them first. Not sure if she just took a dislike to me or my face didn't fit but I found her quite rude. Other Bar staff very friendly, Can't remember her name but the lady who works in the lobby bar always smiled and could tell she wanted to make your stay a happy one, Plus the lady who worked the pool bar always smiling. Management please give Stephanie a personality lesson.
Otherwise great hotel would highly recommend. This hotel is very remote, no shops, only a small caravan type trailer across the road, small but they seem to sell everything. Bus stop only a minute walk up the road and 1 euro 50 to practically go anywhere on the island, so don't be put off by the hotel's remoteness. The hotel however is in a fantastic location for people wanting to go to Comino or Gozo.
Thanks Riviara, overall we had a lovely stay and would come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian O, Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Stevekat44
Thank you for sharing your delightful stay with fellow Trip Advisor reviewers along with the staff and management of Riviera Resort & Spa. Its great you had an overall enjoyable Holiday whilst staying with us on vacation. It’s great to read you found the food to be your liking and nearly all staff friendly attentive and welcoming and we nearly ticked all the circles for you..
These points will surely be passed on and will be greatly appreciated by all staff concerned. I would like to thank you for marks you have given the resort as we always strive to make all guests experiences as delightful as possible.
I am happy to see that you returned home completely satisfied with all the services we had to offer. Our location in the north is appreciated for the peace, quiet and more importantly the relaxation. The wonderful views of the cliffs of Comino and Gozo are regularly commented upon favourably whilst guests are in house with us.
Other points you have mentioned have been passed onto staff members to help them integrate more into the holiday mode and give service with bigger, happier smiles.
Once again I am happy to read you had a happy relaxing week and we look forward to welcoming you back once again in the not too distant future.

Best Regards from all.

Brian O’ Connor.

Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    360
    211
    93
    58
See reviews for
225
524
21
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We have just returned from a very relaxing break. The rooms were of a good clean standard and we had a pool and a sea view it was stunning. The setting was the best we saw on the island just lovely with hola private hotel beach just a few strides away.we hardly went out of the hotel complex. The animation team led by adrien were brilliant. Most of the staff were brilliant friendly and helpful.karen is the best bar lady ever. The only criticism is more fresh fruit would have been nice. The all inclusive was good on the whole and the extra touches such as the pedloes and the free use if the spa make this an inclusive to remember.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian O, Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Bradphilips
Thank you for sharing your “very relaxed” experience through your review that you have given to Riviera Resort and Spa. From your comments I can see that you had good holiday all round and we pleased you with all the services and facilities we have to offer.
Your kind comments and feedback will be relayed to all staff concerned and they will be pleased to learn that you have left Riviera Resort & Spa satisfied and had a lovely time.
It’s great to read that our location in the north of the island also played an important role and our location was exactly what you and your partner had in mind and you made the best off all we had to offer. It reads you left with fond memories of the Maltese Islands and with your partner made the best of your stay at Riviera Resort and Spa.
Your positive feedback will also help fellow readers to plan their next trip as they will be pleased to learn that the All Inclusive offer was really to your liking.
Friendly and helpful staff do make the difference and I am happy to read that this is the experience you have received.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort that you have certainly got to know so well in the not too distant future.

All the best for now .

Brian O’ Connor.

Resort Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Wouldn't recommend and won't come back.Food choice too small,breakfast is always the same,lunch, dinner pretty similar-one dish of pork,chicken and fish but they all taste the same!Hola Beach club... Not like on the pictures as management advertised... Sandy beach by hotel...? Really? All we found rocks and a little beach by neibours hotel, where is a sigh use just for hotel guests, but by the law it's 5m public, but it's not much space left to be honest, so we went by bus to sandy beach.anyway I wouldn't recommend and really disappointed about previous comments, as it's not true... But choice is yours.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian O, Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Renata-Renata

Thank you for your review of Riviera Resort and Spa although it does not state when you stayed here as you have not passed on any information. I have learned that in your opinion the location of the resort was not as you had planned and was not what you had in mind from the research you learned on line. Our web site along with many other replies I have shared gives a very clear description of our location surrounding areas and the wonderful benefits it has to offer.
Evening Buffet dinner and Luncheon was not to your liking, permit me to take the opportunity to add for fellow readers that we also have Gammon, Turkey, Beef, traditional Maltese Rabbit dish, beef Stew , stuffed Veal and yes Fish but different types along with Homemade soups, pasta, selection of sweets salads, Ice Cream and cheese and also the pizza corner served daily for Luncheon and Dinner.. The inconveniences of these matters you have mentioned could have been discussed whilst you were residing with us in house as our management would have been more than happy to follow up on them with your good self. Within the resort there is a choice of four restaurants to choose from, some at an extra charge along with a choice of 5 bars.
Once again I am sorry to read that your vacation did not go as well as you planned . Thank you for sharing your negative opinion as it is also appreciated as well as all the positive opinions we receive.
Regarding your comments on other positive opinions from past guests I believe like your opinion they have to be respected and I cannot confirm if they are not true as you state..


Best Regards
Brian O’ Connor.
Resort operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Returned home from a 10 night stay, in the riviera hotel and spa- first things first this hotel is a must , we are already looking at flights to return,
Very clean, cleaners done a fantastic job always fresh bedding on very clean mattresses.
Food well what can I say apart from putting on 6lb it's amazing well cooked and good choice. Cakes are fantastic.
Pools are lovely all lit up on a night with different colours.
Views are out of this world.
Get the bus number 41 up to mellieha bay it's lovely.
You won't be disappointed with this hotel.
Drinks and cocktails are lovely and a big up to the animation team. Brilliant job always smiling

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian O, Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear newlyrobinson.
“ So relaxing” that’s what it’s all about, and I am happy to read that is exactly what you have had at Riviera Resort & Spa. An overall enjoyable holiday and got exactly what you ordered.
Staff, food , good Cocktails and clean rooms along with all our other facilities we had to offer have met your expectations and that does give us great pleasure and to see happy guests and positive reviews from guests that return home.
I would like to thank you for your feedback and its great you had an excellent over all break with us at Riviera Resort & Spa. Your comments are appreciated and will be passed onto all staff concerned.
Our location in the north is appreciated for the peace, quiet and relaxation as well as the beautiful views you have commented so positively upon and as you correctly pointed out is ideal to commute with the public transport to see many interesting places that are quite close.
6lbs is not that much gain over your 10 days with us , anyhow on holidays you are entitled to indulge a little.
We look forward to welcoming you once again in the not too distant future, back to the Riviera Resort & Spa and thank you in advance for the recommendations you will be passing on to others. .

All the best for now.
Brian O’ Connor.
Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

I never write reviews but felt I had to for this one. Me, my husband and 10 yr old son stayed here for 8 days in July. We all absolutely loved every minute and will be returning next year (hopefully for 2 weeks). The hotel itself is very clean, our room was cleaned everyday. The staff are friendly and helpful and keen to help you enjoy your holiday as much as possible. The outdoor pools are great and always plenty of spare sunbeds. Spa area is lovely. We used the Jacuzzi everyday! We were all inclusive and have no complaints about food at all. Always something nice to eat for breakfast, lunch and dinner, (spicy roast potatoes are delicious). Location is perfect. Stunning views. Diving centre just outside hotel, bus stop 2 min walk, boat rides just across the road. We went on bus to Valletta, Mdina, Sliema and Buggibba, and took the boat to Comino, all stunning and worth a visit. Bus drivers very helpful and bus rides are a fun experience in themselves!! Only costs €1.50c for all day bus ticket! Evening entertainment was fairly quiet but the buses run through the night so those seeking something livelier can head down to mellieha (which is literally 3 mins bus ride). All in all a fantastic holiday. Already excited to return next year.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian O, Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear jinjin36
Thank you for sharing your feedback and I would like to tell you that your review with full marks is greatly appreciated from us all at the Resort. I’m happy to read you had a great vacation and even more happy to learn that you are already booking for next year for two weeks next time (hopefully).
It’s also great to read that you found all the facilities as you had expected and found members of the staff to be friendly and helpful. These points will surely be passed on to all concerned and will be greatly appreciated.
I would like to thank you for your positive feedback regarding our Food and Beverage outlets along with the praise you have also passed on for our housekeeping department . I am happy to read that you found the all Inclusive package ideal and was exactly as you booked and expected.
Our location in the north is appreciated for the peace, quiet and relaxation as you pointed out and I can see that your review and the information you have passed on will be appreciated by fellow readers. This does help others plan the type of vacation they have in mind and choose the best location they seek.
Looks like you did plenty of travelling and enjoyed the bus rides to the full and I have to agree they are great value for money.

Recommending the resort to friends is appreciated and we all look forward to your return to Riviera Resort & Spa

All the Best for now.
Brian O’ Connor.
Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This was our second stay at the Riviera as we enjoyed our time so much last year!
We stayed this time for one week in July and were again all inclusive, our stay on the whole was every enjoyable with the food, hotel and staff again of a high standard.
We stayed in two adjourning rooms overlooking the pool, our rooms were clean and quite spacious, one downside being we had only two chairs and a small table on the balcony, which for four people was a bit disappointing! We also had an issue with our bathroom door which on several occasions became locked from the inside, leaving us unable to gain entry ( very inconvienient at 3.45am ) we reported this on three occasions and had the door opened by a member of staff and were even given a bent paper clip to use to open the door! This lock was never fixed.
The food was again of a good standard with on the whole plenty of choice, some days the food was excellent but others a bit ordinary. Generally we found the staff friendly and helpful except for one or two ( more senior staff ) which was a bit disappointing! The pool deck and Hola beach area were quite relaxing and there was always plenty of sun loungers available. The live entertainment was only average but the animation team were good and never too pushy. The Charlie Noble bar was sadly lacking in atmosphere and some of the all inclusive cocktails were in our view undrinkable. Dining in the second pizza restaurant was a bit odd as the view and room were both stunning but sadly again lacked in any atmosphere( which this year has been changed to buffet style dining) they also did not make pizzas to order like last year, a bit of a let down. I know I might sound a bit critical but we did enjoy our stay even if it was for the few niggles I have mentioned!

All in all, if you want a relaxing stay in Malta then you should give this hotel a try as it has plenty to offer.

Room Tip: The views over the bay are worth paying that little bit extra for. Adjourning rooms over looking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian O, Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear jpm1966

It’s great to read you had a great stay, second time round and thanks for pointing out the few little niggles that you found different from the first time round. Pizza service and procedures are now back to the way you like it therefore it will as you were used too for the next visit. It reads that the resort our has ticked almost all the boxes for you and left you completely satisfied.
My apologies on the malfunction of the bathroom door as we do on occasions find a faulty spring along with a simple solution as you have well seen. The lock has since been changed as this point was recorded on our maintenance report.
This feedback and positive review does motivate us to continue to make everybody’s time a great time whilst staying with us. I can see from your favourable remarks you have left with a positive experience of The Riviera Resort and Spa and it’s great you shared those with fellow reviewers. I do believe as you so rightly mentioned that the staff as well as the facilities do make all this possible.
Riviera resort & Spa delivered a relaxing time and we look forward to welcoming you back for the third time again in the not to distant future.

Be sure to drop us a line when you book so we can prepare for the third time round and make your time at the resort just a special.


All the best for now.

Brian O’Connor.

Resort Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We are just coming to the end of our 9 night stay here (2 left) and this has been one of the best choices we've made. The hotel is ideally placed for the quieter north of the island, with the Gozo ferry only 10 mins walk and a bus stop right outside.

The rooms are very spacious, comfortable and with TV and a minibar there's nothing else to want. As always with all inclusive the two key ingredients to a successful stay are the food/drink and the service. The food is rich and varied with many main dishes surprisingly high end - tuna steaks, succulent chicken breast, mussels mariniere and super rich beef stew to name but a few. All meals are accompanied with a huge range of salads and Maltese dishes plus there's a fresh pizza bar and lots of pasta too.

The drinks are all great quality, cool beers, a range of branded soft drinks and then there's the cocktails - we started each evening in the lobby lounge where the delightful Karen would mix up some delicious (and somewhat potent) thirst quenchers - and always with a smile and a genuine interest in your day.

Service throughout the hotel has been excellent; everyone takes time to say hello and for those guests who choose to respond they are rewarded with a real desire to help you enjoy your holiday to the fullest.

Other facilities inc a fabulous spa with many different treatments, 2 large outdoor pools and an animation team who are very encouraging without being pushy.

Our first trip to Malta and the Riviera has set the standard very high for any future visits

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian O, Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear lameduck9
Thank you for sharing your review with fellow trip advisor followers along with the staff and management of Riviera Resort & Spa. It’s great to read you found all to be exactly what you had wanted and we were able to meet all your wishes. This is our first in house review therefore thank you for taking the time for sharing your opinion with us.
I can read that you have enjoyed all the meals across the board and had a taste of everything our chefs had to offer in our number of restaurants available for dining.
Beverages and cocktails etc. can be just as important as dining for some have also pleased the taste buds by the reads of things.
Your positive comments on staff throughout the resort will be greatly appreciated by all concerned and by staying with us on all Inclusive gives that much little more time to get to know everybody, it reads that you have got to know some of the staff by name and appreciate the service and beverages that we had to offer.
The Elysium Spa offers a complete integration of fitness, relaxation and beauty. The heated indoor pool , Jacuzzi and fitness room along with our Squash court , sauna steam room hydrotherapy baths and huge choice of treatments and packages are popular with residents and locals alike.
Presently we have a choice of outlets available for dining in the evening two of which are part of the all-inclusive package.
Hola Beach is a popular area for the guests also to enjoy with the all-inclusive beverage package being offered there also during the day and has now been extended to the evening due to popular demand.

I am happy to see that you will return home completely satisfied .

We do look forward to welcoming you back and we are once again pleased that you had a great stay and will be choosing Riviera Resort spa for your next trip to Malta.

All the best for now.

Brian O’ Connor .

Resort Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Riviera Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riviera Resort & Spa

Address: Marfa Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH02 , Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Riviera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your The Riviera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riviera Hotel Mellieha
The Riviera Resort And Spa
Riviera Hotel Mellieha
The Riviera Resort & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Riviera Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.