We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, staff are an asset, location is very pretty,overall very good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Riviera Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Riviera Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Riviera Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Marfa Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH02 , Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, staff are an asset, location is very pretty,overall very good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week in December, overall the holiday was great. We had read the reviews before going and as always there were some negative comments, which during our stay we found unjustified. We stayed on all inclusive and found the food and drinks to be overall very good. There was a choice of 3 restaurants which provided variety to accommodate our tastes, if we did not fancy the menu at one, the others had something we could enjoy on offer. The bar staff are friendly particularly upstairs, 1 lady who commutes from Gozo went out of her way to ensure all guests felt welcome and important. As a couple we found the other guests were engaging which was a nice change from hotels were guests don't speak to each other. The location is very quiet as some comments suggest, however there is a regular bus service which is inexpensive and it is possible to explore the whole island using it, the ferry terminal to Gozo is within walking distance and runs till late at night. Malta is not a typical beach holiday but has beach facilities along with lots of other things to do, it is worth going to Valletta and Mdina. we had a lovely view from the balcony over Comino. The hotel itself is very comfortable and provides a pleasant environment with 2 bars, we did not feel the location was a low point we felt it was a plus! If we had to pick fault the only thing we could possibly say is that the table tennis bats the hotel provide are useless! that's it! bring your own bats! We would recommend this hotel to friends and have just booked another 2 weeks in October when we are going to try the diving centre next door.

  • Liked — The indoor pool facilities and upstairs bar
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Kadi,

On behalf of the management and staff of The Riviera Resort & Spa, I would like to thank you for the very nice comments left above.
It is very nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay here with us and have every intention of returning back to the hotel in October.

I hope that this time round you will also find some time to make use of our spa and yes the diving centre is a must when visiting in the summer months.
I also assure you that you will find brand new table tennis rackets.

Whilst I thank you once again, we look forward to seeing you here with us in the near future.

Regards,
Dean Mangion
Accommodation Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    334
    190
    87
    53
See reviews for
212
475
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I'v been in riviera hotel 15th sep-29 sep.I really enjoyed every single day!The stafs are very friendly,foods are very tasty.The hotel's private(ola) beach is very close to hotel(3min walk)also bar on the beach.You can find programs every day,souna,gim,stearing room are very nice.You can see Comino from bar while you enjoy your nice coctail :) bus stop,bot-trip to Comino island(blue lagoon) oposite to hotel.I recomend it for everyone.Unforgetable time,hurry up to go there! :) Tamas Opauszki Newbury,England(in 2012)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Tamas,

I would like to thank you for the nice comments you have left above.

It is extremely satisfying to hear that yet another guest has left The Riviera Resort & Spa fully satisfied with the services we offer.
We strive on a daily basis to always improve our service in order to always give the best to our guests.
I am really glad that you enjoyed every part of your stay, including our spa which is a true asset to our hotel.
Hola Beach is also a favourite with all of our guests. The palm trees, sun beds, cocktails and drinks are what is needed to unwind whilst on holiday and this is what Hola Beach is all about.

Whilst I thank you once again, we hope that we will have the pleasure of seeing you here with us again.

Regards,

Dean Mangion
Accommodations Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just enjoyed a very short stay at the Hotel. The food is good, staff service great, clean rooms, but most impressive is the way Managment went out of their way to accomodate us, going as far as choosing the appropriate room and fitting special locks on the doors for my son's safety. Only slight compaint was the fact that the room was a bit too hot, which I foundvery strange as we had the fan going full blast on cool. Everything else is great, Nothing was too much trouble, will be back!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Dorriane,

I would like to thank you for the nice comments you have left above.

It is very nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay here with us and I am pleased that your son did so aswell without encountering any difficulties.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of seeing you here with us in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dean Mangion
Accomodation Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mosta
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Recently I took my staff for buffet lunch at riviera - the service offered was excellent, the staff was very co-operative and food was varied catering also for vegetarians and everyone enjoyed his own portion.
Good value for money

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L-Iklin, null, Malta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Last Saturday 15th December 2012, I had organized a buffet dinner dance at the Riviera Hotel, I can say that I was so impressed by the staff they were so friendly, the food was excellent, The Food and Beverage Manager Mr.Vince Curmi is a very nice person which everyone really like to deal with, everyone was so satisfied with the nice environment and the amazing staff.
For sure I will go there in near future for me it's a recommendable place.

Maris Azzopardi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We enjoyed our stay with the riveria resort and spa hotel, the room we stayed in was clean and i was impressed at the daily cleaning from the housekeeping staff. The lift made a strange noise but we got used to it.I was concerned about the cats as I am allergic to them,but they were no problem at all as they did not come into the hotel. The food was nice, although unfortunately there was limited choice for vegetarians, It would be nice to of had some meat alternatives besides fish in the main meal section. If you are vege I would suggest informing the staff of this before your visit. Some of the food was quite salty for me but this may be due to personal taste. The dinning hall staff were very helpful and always able to help. The deserts were very tasty. This hotel is in a very quiet location with no shops nearby but there is a good bus service which was very helpful.

Room Tip: I would suggest a pool view or sea view, I think the back of the hotel is too noisy as the road is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Claire,

I would like to thank you for the nice comments you have left above.
It is extremely satisfying to hear that yet another guest has left The Riviera Resort & Spa happy with the level of service we offer.

With regards to the vegetarian option, we kindly ask our future guests to advise us of this prior to arrival so that our team of chefs will be able to prepare something special for them.

Whilst I thank you again, I sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of seeing you here with us in the near future.

Regards,

Dean Mangion
Accomodation Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Just back from a week at the Riviera, not a 4 star but 3 star for sure...do not let that put you off, its a lovely relaxing place to stay. Not the most exciting meals but plenty of choice and even the fussiest would not starve....does not serve up chicken nuggets and chips so if this is what you are looking for you will be disappointed but great salad choices at both lunch and dinner and always a fish course and meat, pasta and potato and veg options. The desserts were quite often delicious and the cause of my weight gain! The spa treatments we had were fabulous and reasonably priced. The staff everywhere in the hotel were friendly and helpful. The bus stop just outside the hotel was great and a 7 day unlimited bus travel ticket at 12 euros (available from the hotel lobby shop) took us all over the beautiful island...do visit the Blue Grotto, worth the 3 buses to get there and the main city of Valetta for shopping. Warning the hotel is remote and there are no shops nearby but the buses are so regular and get you everywhere it is no problem. We had a great stay and people we spoke to all felt the same way. Room was cleaned daily and fresh towels if you wanted them. And as for the cats they did not come in to the hotel at all and were no problem whatsoever.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Candice,

I would like to start off by thanking you for the time taken to write the above post.
It is very nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay here with us. This for us is very important since our main aim is to achieve 100% guest satisfaction.

I would like to ensure everyone that the hotel is a 4 STAR all inclusive Resort and with plans to achieve greater things in the near future.

I am glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel and also the variety of dishes offered on a daily basis by our team of chefs.
Our Spa is one of the many services the hotel offers that we can boast about. Everyone who visits our Spa, goes over and over again to try the vast selection of massages and treatments available.

I would like to also thank you for the nice comments you have left on our staff. They work very hard on a daily basis in order to offer our esteemed guests the best possible service.

Whilst I thank you once again, we hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you here with us in the near future.

Kind Regards

Dean Mangion
Accomodations Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Riviera Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riviera Resort & Spa

Address: Marfa Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH02 , Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Riviera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Riviera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riviera Hotel Mellieha
The Riviera Resort And Spa
Riviera Hotel Mellieha
The Riviera Resort & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Riviera Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.