We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramla Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ramla Bay Resort to your Saves list
Ramla Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marfa L/O, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 7100, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Bristol
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Utterly amazing and the staff couldn't have done more for us!! Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a quiet and relaxed romantic getaway.

This hotel was nicely placed away from the hustle and bustle of the sea side hotels, however there are many excursions to be enjoyed and the reception desk are always happy to help you find something fun to do! We had sunset horse riding trips across the cliff tops and trips to Gozo (Sam the safari jeep guide was awesome), the blue lagoon is also not to be missed! I really couldn't be more enthusiastic about this hotel as we considered moving to Malta because of this trip!!

Go and please enjoy!!

We actually travelled on the 13th November 2011

Room Tip: Try and book a sea view room as the views are breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear James D,
Glad you enjoyed your honeymoon and congratulations from us all. Hope to see you again on your anniversary next time (:
Thank you for choosing our Resort for this very important period of your life.
Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    408
    196
    75
    32
See reviews for
301
536
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just got back from 8 night's stay at Ramla Bay Resort. Had a really good time. Hotel's location was perfect for us in was not in the city but surrounded by beach and great snorkelling and diving spots. Eventough I hate spending holiday in hotel there was so much to do in the hotel that some days we decided just to stay in rather then go around. Hotel location outside Mellieha was not a problem at all, there is a bus stop nearby and even a caravan that sells everything from bread to shampoo. We really wanted to visit Malta's sister island Gozo and location of the hotel near the ferry terminal was perfect. Busses run every20 min to Valetta, Bugibba, Silema so transport wasnt a problem. Hotel is also organising cheap excourcions to Blue Lagoon and other places. The prices are actually lower than from most private companies in Mellieha and other villages.
Also want to thank Marcia who was very understanding when we had a problem with tour operator and came up with a great solution. Ramla Bay Resort is lucky to have you as a Sales Director.
Big thank you to Animation Team, Ricardo, Martin and Zuzanna, you guys also made our holiday special and ever more fun.
Will definitely return :))

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Luk_jed

Thank you for choosing Malta and our Resort. Thank you also for the time taken to provide us with your feedback, we are delighted to read such a review.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved. The team at Ramla Bay Resort is proud to have met your expectations and made your holiday a special, fun filled and memorable one.

It has been my pleasure to offer my assistance, and I will gladly forward your lovely comments to the Animation Team.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully in the near future

Warm Regards
Marica Grech
Sales Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We Loved it and wil return.
We had upgraded to a Panoramic Sea View room prior to arrival and it was well worth it. Huge room, immaculately clean, large bathroom and an enormous balcony. The views across the resort and to the distance of Comino and Gozo are to die for. Great for the husbands to sit and watch the boats, ferries and people watching whilst the ladies get ready !
We ony booked BB but did eat in the restaurant a few nights for DInner which was good. Decent food with an English twist, we had Lamb and Mint sauce one night. Not sure I would have enjoyed every meal there though as like most resorts, I am sure it would get a bit samey.
Little surprised on arrival that the pools were Saltwater and freezing cold, but you do get used to it and it is actually very refreshing and there are showers at the pool side.
I dont agree that it is remote - yes it is on the Northern tip of the island and there are no shops and bars on your doorstep but a short stroll to the bus gets you to Mellihah town in around 5 minutes. You can also go further afield on the same bus and they are reliable and cheap.
If you get chance do the hop on hop off bus both in Malta and Gozo and then revisit the spots that you like - we did this and really thought it benefitted us.
Staff are good and friendly and recognised us after a few days which is a nice touch.
One (very small) negative was the evening entertainment for adults is very low key, just a singer in the Bar but maybe that changes in the main summer. It certainly did not ruin our stay, just made us go to the room with drinks and enjoy more of the stunning view.
Well done Ramla Bay team, keep on doing what you are doing.

Room Tip: Ask for a Panoramic room on the front overlooking Gozo and Comino. The Panormaic at the back are ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Clare T,
We shall take your word of advice to keep doing what we are doing. We promise that we shall try hard do better in the future. Your kind words help us to achieve more.
Thank you for your review and hope to host you once again
Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at the Ramla bay resort from the 5th to the 12th of June, staying half board. The hotel were really good at sorting things out for my husband who is a coeliac and so cannot eat any gluten or wheat and for myself (I am gluten and wheat intolerant) Every night the chef, Darian, came to speak to us and told us exactly what we could eat out of the wide selection of dishes on offer and each night they prepared us a gluten free dessert. Every morning we were provided with gluten free cereal, bread/rolls and cakes. All the staff were helpful, especially Joanna, who made sure the kitchen were aware when we had arrived so we were dealt with promptly.

We have never been half board since my husband was diagnosed 3 years ago and so we did so with some trepidation. I can't tell you how much difference it made to the enjoyment of the holiday not having to worry about cross contamination and having a good variety of food to eat. We also asked the hotel to put us up some lunch for our trip home and although this cost us 8 euros each it was worth it to know we would be able to eat on our journey home!

On a different note we had a twin panramic sea view room and it was comfortable and clean with a good view. There is not a lot to do in the surrounding area but this did not worry us as we had gone for a quiet break. We both had a massage at the spa and that was a real treat too.

We enjoyed our to trip to Malta very much, Valetta is well worth visiting (we went 3 times!) with loads to see and do and Gozo is certainly worth a trip. We hired a car but you could manage to get around the whole island without one as the buses run to all the popular spots.

I would certainly recommend the Ramla Bay Resort, particularly to couples looking for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: sea view panoramic rooms are lovely and ours was quiet too
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Travellers009,
We glad to note that your dietary requirements have been well seen to during your stay at the Resort.
A strong word of advice for anyone who has special requirements and allergies, it is of utmost importance that we are made aware of it possibly prior to arrival. This, in order not to be disappointed and better safe than sorry. Our Chefs will think of the rest.
By the looks of it you find some time to explore the island which has a lot to offer.
We thank you for staying with us and hope to host you once again in the near future
Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

A typical all inclusive hotel, good clean rooms, well decorated with good public areas, food a bit hit and miss, especially the lunches in the restaurant, entertainment very limited and miles away from shops and bars.

There was absolutely nothing wrong with this hotel, but it seemed to be lacking that special something that makes you want to return. But saying that, there were several people who had returned for many years, and intended doing so in the future, so maybe I missed whatever they experienced.

The good points:
- fantastic sunbathing areas, little terraces for 2 sunbeds overlooking the sea where you could watch the comings and goings of the boats
- reception very helpful, moved me from a ground floor room with a terrace that opened onto the car park, which was not good for a single female, with no fuss
- the food in the pool bar, which unfortunately did not open until 3 days before I left
- courtesy bus into the village
- british plug sockets, no adaptors needed

The not so good points:
- if you are all inclusive you have to sign for every meal and drink and show your room card, even at the pool bar when you are wearing a swimsuit and not a lot else, even though you have a wrist band, very irritating
- limited salads at lunchtime, and never any cold meat or fish to go with it (am I the only person who doesn't want heavy food at lunchtime when it's 25 degrees?)
- Sunday buffet lunches in the restaurant, which are open to the public, where the food is much better than usual, but the guests at the hotel are only allowed to sit in one corner inside, and the public visitors allowed to sit in the main part of the dining room, or outside. Made to feel like 2nd class
- tiny balcony in the bedroom, just wide enough for the chairs and table
- nothing do do in the evenings, the only other building within reasonable walking distance was another hotel

A great hotel for getting away from it all and relaxing, but there really is nothing else to do except for the amenities in the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Dolphinsu,

Thank you for choosing our Resort and Malta for your recent stay. It is a pleasure to note that you have enjoyed your stay. We have noted all your comments and shall take them into consideration.
Meanwhile it would be a please to host you once again should you ever return to Malta.
Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I travelled to Malta for a holiday from Tuesday 17 - Tuesday 25 June with Thomas Cook and stayed all inclusive at the Ramla Bay Resort, and we absolutely loved it. I was a bit wary after reading some other reviews, but we were not disappointed. We arrived at the hotel at about 10.30pm and check-in was very quick and easy. Contrary to some other reviews we found the staff at the reception were helpful, polite and welcoming. When we went to our room (462) our jaws both dropped because we were so impressed - the room was enormous, lovely and clean, king-size bed, big bathroom and out balcony overlooked the entire complex and the bay, and we were able to look out to Comino and Gozo. We were so happy with it!

The food was brilliant every night - I'm a vegetarian and allergic to cheese, but found that I was able every night. The desserts were especially tantalising and we both loved all meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner were different every day, and we were always looking forward to our next meal).

The hotel itself is incredible, and lovely. The bar was well stocked, and I found the alcohol that was included in the 'all inclusive' option was of a good variety. The staff, especially Eric on the bar, were all brilliant and we were so impressed.

The swimming pools were good, and I felt there was a good variety of activities throughout the day that you could chose to be included in, or simply sit and watch.

The resort is a bit far away from nearby towns but we were not worried - if we wanted to go to other parts of Malta we simply walked 5 minutes to the nearby bus stop or used the complementary hotel bus service into Mellieha.

I would really recommend this hotel - the location is perfect for a nice relaxing holiday, and you are also close to Comino and Gozo as well.

Absolutely perfect for what we wanted from our holiday, and we are very much looking forward to going back in the near future!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Travellersjane2013,
Thank you for choosing our Resort and for positing such a positive review. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and look forward to host you once again in the near future.
Best regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I went from 31/5/2013 to 14/6/2013. We had a lovely panoramic sea view suite with a balcony, which was really worth the extra. free safe and mini bar. ( You pay if you have it restocked). The room exceeded our expectations for comfort and design. We booked with Thomas Cook. It was a very good deal. John on reception is only to willing to help. The Hotel is excellent. Spotless. ALL the staff were very pleasant and nothing appeared too much trouble. The Restaurant staff all had an excellent attitude. The food was very good indeed, excellent choice. This is the only holiday that we have ever been on where we took the trouble to compliment the restaurant manager on the quality of the food and the attitude of the waiting staff. 4 large Swimming pools and enough free sunbeds I think to cater for everyone. It is remote and we didn't want to mess with buses. The Thomas Cook rep was excellent too. She arranged a deal on car hire 3 days for the cost of 2. We couldn't better that. So we hired for 9 and paid for 6. There are a couple of other hotels to walk to if you want to, but I would not have wanted to have the hassle of having to go out every night for a meal. There not much choice locally. But the quality of the Hotel food with sea view meant we didn't really want to anyway. We were there on half board basis. We ate in the pool bar some lunch times . Again spotless, good service. The people that work at the Ramla Bay resort appear to enjoy the fact that they have a job and realise they are in a service industry.......It shows by their attitude.

Room Tip: Panoramic sea view is excellent, overlooking small harbour beach, and the Islands of Gozo and Comino
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Derekh186338,
Thank you, Thank you on behalf of all concerned. You comments are much appreciated and we are glad to note that you have enjoyed your stay and our facilities to the max.
Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again at the Resort
Warm regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramla Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramla Bay Resort

Address: Marfa L/O, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 7100, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramla Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramla Bay Resort is situated on the northernmost shore of Malta, limits of Mellieha. The Resort offers spectacular views of the sister Islands of Comino and Gozo and is blessed with ample land and surrounded by landscaped gardens. Malta’s most popular Sandy Beaches of Mellieha is just a few kilometres away accessible by public transport.Amenities include: *Private Sandy Beach,*3 Outdoor /1 Indoor Pool, SPA, and *Water Sport Centre,Tennis Court as well as Meeting and Conference facilities.(* May to October) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Ramla Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramla Bay Hotel Mellieha
Hotel Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Resort Malta/Mellieha
Ramla Bay Malta
Malta Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Hotel Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramla Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.