We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramla Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ramla Bay Resort to your Saves list
Ramla Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marfa L/O, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 7100, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We have just come back from a week at the Ramla Bay on an All Inclusive package, and for a 4 star we were very disappointed. Having been on previous AI packages to the Dominican and Cape Verde which were outstanding this was a totally different package. The rooms were large and clean so was the bathroom , you could only get 2 English channels on the TV and the hotel seriously lacked atmosphere, some of the restaurant staff were not very friendly and the food was buffet style and although the breakfast was ok nothing was hot even dinner was the same and some nights were better than others would not rush to go back to this hotel, the grounds are very spacious and nice areas to sit and have a drink but the brochure photos are alot more impressive than the actual hotel once you are there.

Room Tip: If you decide to go to this hotel choose a sea view room as a lot of the rooms overlook the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear gee564

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Ramla Bay Resort during your visit to the Maltese Islands.
Packages vary from one hotel to another, and as one would expect from a country to another.
Your Travel Agent or Tour Operator should have given you full details of what our All Inclusive Package consist of, in order to avoid any misunderstandings or disappointments. Rest assured that we supply this information to one and all. As you have correctly stated we have different room types at different price levels, ranging from our standard country view to Junior Suites overlooking the sister islands of Gozo & Comino.
Whilst assuring you that your comments have been noted, we hope that you would return to Malta and consider booking your stay at the Ramla Bay Resort.

Warm Regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    373
    179
    75
    28
See reviews for
278
491
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dortmund, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

This resort appears to be the biggest one in Malta. The rooms are very spacious and the resort has direct access to the gravel beach. The normal rate includes half board, but if all inclusive is wanted customers have to pay another € 35,00 per head and day. The restaurant has some deficiencies. Especially at the rush hour half past six people have to line up in order to get a table allocated to them. One coffeemaker is indeed not enough for the restaurant and guests have to line up every morning to get their watery coffee.This place is only good for sea lovers and people who like to walk. The nearest busstop is 20 minutes away and the ferry to Gozo can be reached within 35 minutes.By the way when traveling by bus buy a dayticket for €2,60. People who want a place which is more reasonable can stay with the Reviera Resort adjacent to Ramla Bay. Here they get all inclusive for only €35,00 per day and head. Unfortunately they have to cross a street in order to reach the sea.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear PiwoDortmund

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Ramla Bay Resort during your visit to Malta and for taking the time to post this review.

Whilst assuring you that we have taken note of your comments, may we point out that our Restaurant is open frin 1800hrs to last orders being 2130hrs, at times our guests choose to enter the Restaurant at peak time and this might cause a brief waiting time.

Whilst the location of the Resort is at the Northest Tip of Malta, the nearest village, Mellieha approx 3.5 klms away, and for a minimal charge we offer transfers to and from this village daily.

Regarding the price, every hotel does its own pricing, then it is up to the guest to decide which one suits them best.

Warm Regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laindon, England
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed in this hotel last week, and were left feeling disapponted. The interior corridors were dull, and the carpet were worn. The female staff at the reception were not very friendly, smile or welcome face could make a big difference, but the men were very helpfull.
The "food area/canteen" was constantly overcrowded. The food on the hot buffet was cold, particularly the bake beans. Poor quality coffee and juices were unsatisfactory.
The chanells available on TV were limited to 2 chanells for english tourists. Also no coffee or tea facilities were available in the room.
The steam room withing the spa area did not work and smelt mouldy. There is also no changing facilities.
Charging 8 euros a day for wifi internet and 80 euros for room with a part seaview was a RIP - OFF !!!!!!
On a possitive note, the room was extremely clean, thanks to the very friendly and hard working cleaners.
With these points made, we would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear IvaM

Thank you for your visit to Malta and for staying at the Ramla Bay Resort. We regret to learn that you were not satisfied with your stay.

May we mention that we have a list of television channels that are available in the rooms, and in different languages, including also English, German, Italian, French and Maltese.
As for the Steam room in the Sap, this is a newly added facility and changing facilities are available in the Spa, by the Pools and in the Public area by reception.

We are pleased to read that you were satisfied with the cleaning standards. We hope you wil be returning to Malta, and should you consider visiting us, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Warm Regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

I cannot resist writing my 3rd review of Ramla Bay Resort. My husband and I went for 4 nights in September and stayed in a Junior Suite which was on the 4th floor. An Amazing room with beautiful and modern furniture, well decorated and so comfortable with a spectacular and breathtaking view. Everything about it was perfect. The bed was the most comfortable ever. We had a gorgeous ensuite with a bath and a seperate shower. The service was superb as the staff were very attentive, extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast and dinner which were buffet style were delicious and we were spoilt for choice. It was a super break, really relaxing and enjoyable.
Thank you, Ramla Bay Resort.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear Madam

We thank you once again for staying with us, and for taking the time to post this review on TripAdvisor. Our very beautifully decorated Junior Suites are the latest room type addition since our last refurbishment during winter 2010/2011.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future, which we hope will be in the nearest possible.

Warm Regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

location is nice, as it offers nice walks in winter and lots of swimming locations in summer. Hotel interiors leave much to be desired. corridors are dull and almost look like a hospital. rooms are clean and spacious. went for a weekend break in November. outside area is pretty nice and i assume that in summer it is a great place to stay, but in winter it doesn't. indoor pool is not very big and amenities to pool are lacking. food is reasonable for a 4star hotel. Had a couple of bad experiences where i was told one thing by one reception and another by following day's receptionist, ending paying money for lack of understanding of basic english and/or lack of understanding of basic knowledge of hotel's services by it's own staff. Overall i dont think i would go again in winter, but had i been there in summer probably would have been much better. Also, unbeleivable but true, hotel doesnt offer free wifi!! this is absolutely incredible for a 4star hotel in this day and age.

Room Tip: seaview is the best, as it overlooks the island of gozo and comin, although country view also give y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear Ika013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Ramla Bay Resort for your holiday break and for taking the time to post this review. We are continuously upgrading our products and services to meet our guests' expectations.
Guests' feedback enables us to address any flaws as we strive to continually enhance the service and experience we deliver.

Our indoor heated pool is available throughout the winter. Spa facilities include also a Steam Room and a Sauna. Kids room and games room are also available.
Evening entertainment is available 4-5 times a week.

We hope to be able to offer our services to you in the future and be able to welcome you again.

Warm Regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Spent a week at Ramla Bay at the end of October. We upgraded to a panoramic view room, and had an excellent view and a large, well-furnished, clean room. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We particularly enjoyed the large, attractive bar garden area, where we could enjoy a cocktail or three under the palm trees! The only thing we we were not extremely happy with was the food quality, particularly for dinner. It was generally OK, but nothing special.

Room Tip: Panoramic view room on upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear p0ppy5

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Ramla Bay Resort during your holiday in Malta. Your review on TripAdvisor is much appreciated. We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and our staff met your expectations by being friendly and helpful.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Warm Regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east sussex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Stayed at the Ramla Bay Resort last week of September, we found the rooms to be very clean, and roomy, large bathroom, and always kept nice by the cleaning staff. The food was fine always something nice to eat, although sometimes the menu was a little stange, but we loved it all. Found all the staff to very friendly and efficient, could not fault any of the staff at all. The people on the reception were always helpful and friendly, and we are looking foward to visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear dodgekew

Thank you for staying at The Ramla Bay Resort whilst in Malta. We appreciate the time taken to post this review and thank you for your lovely comments, which we are more than happy to share with the rest of our team.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you again, hopefully in the near future.

Warm Regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramla Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramla Bay Resort

Address: Marfa L/O, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 7100, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramla Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramla Bay Resort is situated on the northernmost shore of Malta, limits of Mellieha. The Resort offers spectacular views of the sister Islands of Comino and Gozo and is blessed with ample land and surrounded by landscaped gardens. Malta’s most popular Sandy Beaches of Mellieha is just a few kilometres away accessible by public transport.Amenities include: *Private Sandy Beach,*3 Outdoor /1 Indoor Pool, SPA, and *Water Sport Centre,Tennis Court as well as Meeting and Conference facilities.(* May to October) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramla Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramla Bay Hotel Mellieha
Hotel Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Resort Malta/Mellieha
Ramla Bay Malta
Malta Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Hotel Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramla Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.