We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Bay Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Paradise Bay Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paradise Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 0968, Malta   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE NIGHT LIMITED TIME!
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Sale, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed all-inclusive from 28th Jan - 4th Feb and had a wonderful stay.

The hotel's location is perfect - it's quiet and out of the way, but well connected - the bus stop is two minutes walk away, and the buses are very regular.

The room was spacious and clean, the beds were comfy and the bathroom was spotless. We stayed in a sea view room, and found the views to be stunning, especially first thing in the morning. The only noise you get is a very low amount of traffic, and when the balcony door's shut, it's practically silent - aside from the odd car with a loud exhaust which can be heard from a mile away.

There are two restaurants in the hotel - there's the buffet restaurant (included in the all-inclusive price) with a massive selection of food available every mealtime, and there's an à la carte restaurant which you still have to pay for, although all-inclusive guests get a discount.

All-inclusive is definitely the best way to get the most value for money out of the hotel - the drinks are quite expensive, but in-line with other hotels in the area, and they provide plastic cups for you to take drinks back up to the room. You give your room number and sign a receipt each time you order something - it's a little faffy after a week, but it's an easy way to keep track of everything.

The mealtimes are at reasonable hours, and have large enough windows to allow you to go out during the day, and still be back in time to eat. The à la carte restaurant closes at 9pm, by which time most of the guests are either in the bar, or winding down for the night.

We were some of the youngest guests staying at the hotel - it's definitely geared towards older people, but it made for a very peaceful stay. We stayed in Paceville last year, and the difference between the two hotels was stark. Nobody caused any trouble, all the children staying were well behaved, and there was never an issue with noise.

The staff at the hotel are superb. The receptionists - especially Henda - went the extra mile to help out with any questions or queries, and would always make sure to remember everything that we'd mentioned so that they could help in the best possible way.

The restaurant staff were just as good, too. The whole team - especially Magda, Nicholas and Michael - were always on the ball, provided fast and professional service, and never found anything too much trouble. I left my watch in the restaurant one night, and it was immediately handed in by Magda.

The only issue we had was that the fire alarm malfunctioned one evening and went off a few times before going off for about 45 minutes at 11pm. This was something which could happen to any public building and certainly wasn't the fault of the hotel - we'd packed a bag with essentials in case we had to evacuate - we just went down to the lobby and waited for the alarm to stop going off. Some of the guests were getting agitated, but the staff were doing all they could to turn it off whilst keeping the building safe in case of a real fire. I'd prefer to have a fire alarm malfunctioning for a few minutes over no fire alarm system whatsoever.

If you're looking for a quiet getaway in a relaxed country and in a beautiful location, you can't go wrong with Paradise Bay, unless you don't like cats - the entrance to the hotel has a few cats hanging about - they're friendly, don't cause anybody any harm and provided good entertainment when we were waiting for our transfer back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
I thank you for your comprehensive and positive response towards our establishment and staff.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    429
    263
    137
    135
See reviews for
320
516
78
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I stayed 17th-24th Jan in the Paradise Bay Hotel (on a Bed & Breakfast basis) and had a very, very pleasant stay.
The receptionists, Elizabeth and Catherine, were ever so helpful with advice and recommendations on places to visit.
I had a buffet dinner, thrice, and found the meals (like the breakfast) very good. There was a good variety of food that was obviously done to suit the varied tastes of the guests....British, Germans, Dutch, Danish, Italians and other nationalities. The serving staff were all very friendly and helpful....especially Ana Catarina. She made sure the diners were well cared for.
The pool was not often used because of the weather; but, it (and the surrounding area) was kept absolutely clean.
I stayed in room 419, that overlooked the pool, and had a glorious view of the sea. The room was large, as clean as a hospital room and the bathroom was given the same treatment.
The hotel is definitely NOT remote!!!
Just across the road, there are buses to every part of Malta; and at €6.50 for a week's 'Go-as-you-please' does NOT make the Paradise Bay Hotel 'remote'.
A free service to/from the hotel to the Supreme Sightseeing Tour bus....does NOT allow the hotel to be 'remote'.
The proximity of the ferry, to Gozo, is definitely a major plus because Gozo is most definitely worthy visiting over two days.
It is worth noting that the guests are not the type who'd be singing in the corridors at 2am; having a sing-song at 11am in the foyer with beer glasses everywhere. This is another plus for the hotel.
I will most definitely be back; and I'm even proposing that we spend a family Christmas at the hotel.
You will not be at all disappointed with the Paradise Bay Hotel.

Room Tip: I didn't use the spa...this time. Ask for a room overlooking the sea...if you're going to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
What can I say. Thank you very much for your very positive response to our establishment and staff to who I have personally informed.

Looking forward to your repeat custom.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

If you're moving from place to place and hotel to hotel spin your stay in this direction. This was easily the best hotel of the three I stayed in. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was huge, comfortable, and clean. Very good breakfast with a magnificent view of the sea. It's a quiet part of Malta but with good bus links to other towns including night buses and is perfectly located for a day (or more) trip to the beautiful neighbouring island of Gozo with the Gozo ferry terminus 5 mins walk away. Incredibly low priced in January using the platform hotel booking websites and with cheap flights as well on a budget airline the whole trip to Malta was great value and I would definitely stay at Paradise bay hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time in leaving a positive response to Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I enjoyed hy stay in paradise beautiful location ,fabulous choice of excellent food help
full staff ,clean rooms with great views ,great outside swimming pool area ,this hotel lives up to it, name . booked for may 2014 that says it all handy gozo good bus service good value get a weeks pass

Room Tip: sea view 3 floor great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for informing us that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your repeat custom.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

First time in Malta, stayed in Paradise Bay on recommendation of a recurrent traveller. Was extremely impressed mostly. Only criticism man on reception on arrival when we asked about the shop he said he didnt know anything as he had never been in it - wrong answer I think. Was very impresed with cleaniness and other staff especially the lovely Russian girl in the restaurant - she is a treasure extremely pleasant and informative and helpful. I marked the location as average simply because it is rather remote. Not a criticism as I knew this when I booked so totally unfair to give a bad comment. There is such an excellent bus service I see the remoteness as an advantage. It was quiet when we were there but that was to be expected in January. You need to do some research before you go anywhere. Didnt use the spa. Very pleasant short stay and will definitely be back for longer next time.

Room Tip: We had a basic room and it was lovely not a brillant view but we only used the room to sleep in. so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
I thank you for your positive response and even for stating that you had a basic room. Yes we are a little isolated but Malta is a small island and everywhere is accessible, we look forward to your repeat custom.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suhl, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

It was my first stay at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, I'm sure it wasn't the last. Food and drinks (all inclusive booked) really very good. Nearby bus-stop and ferry-port to Gozo, good bus connection to the central bus station.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for enjoying your stay with us and for your response to tripadvisor. We look forward to your repeat custom.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Starting from the good comments I must say that the place is clean and very well kept. Rooms are tidy and clean as well. Food was very good and reasonably priced for the occasion.The staff where also gentle and helpful.
One issue that really bothered me was that during dinner people where allowed to smoke next to the door that lead to the pool. This is an enclosed area with glass and aluminium making it better to sit and smoke for smokers. UNFORTINITLY every time the door opened all the fumes in the enclosure entered the restaurant. I spoke to the manager and he said that the problem will be solved and that he would tell the people smoking to smoke outside.
I suggest that a designated area outside the restaurant will be done and this should have extractor fans and an air curtain so that the smoke will not enter the restaurant.
I suffer from asthma and had lost all the fun and could not enjoy the food as I should have. After all I had paid the same money as other people but could not relax and enjoy my night out with my family.
If I had to re visit this hotel I would think it twice and would ask if this issue had been solved before booking.
Would also be greatfull if the hotel management reply to my comments which I think ar of importance.

Room Tip: At the pool the light went off in the afternoon. We stayed waiting but no one came so we changed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
I thank you for your positive responses, yes the weather on this night was very bad with high winds and rain, the smokers did stand in the doorway and not totally outside, it is possible that smoke did waft into the hotel. I am sorry that this caused you some discomfort and I wish that you had mentioned it at that time for us to take action on the matter.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Bay Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Bay Resort Hotel

Address: Paradise Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 0968, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Bay Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Beautifully situated overlooking the picturesque sister Islands of Gozo & Comino with its own private sandy beach, ideal for all ages." This very popular, spacious, comfortable and well-run family hotel has a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean making it ideal for a leisurely holiday in the sun. English is widely spoken throughout the hotel by the staff. The Resort is situated in a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean. The standard fittings for all bedrooms are of air-conditioning, television + radio, direct dial telephone, trouser press with iron and ironing board, mini bar (stocked on request), hairdryer, ceiling fan, safe (local charge) and en-suite bathroom. Some bedrooms are large enough to accommodate 4 persons. We also offer rooms with facilities for the physically challenged and the hotel is fully accessible with ramps and lifts to all public areas. A small ferry harbour to Gozo is situated a short distance away from the hotel and a regular public bus service operates to the main towns of Sliema and Valletta stopping at en-route towns and villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Paradise Bay Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Bay Hotel Mellieha
Paradise Bay Mellieha
Paradise Bay Hotel Malta
Paradise Bay Malta
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.