We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's eve one night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Bay Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Paradise Bay Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paradise Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 0968, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Zurrieq, Malta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“New Year's eve one night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My family and I came to Paradise Bay Hotel for the first time.We couldn't find a better place to celebrate the end of 2013.Everything was at its best.Our room was very spacious and the bathroom was too. Although it was raining and couldn't go out in the big balcony, from inside we could enjoy the sea, watching the Gozo ship coming in and out of the port.
Then in the evening we joined in for the new year's eve dinner. There was a nice atmosphere and fantastic, large variety of different kind of food. Everything as it was planned on the menu provided including the bottle of champagne as the clock struck 12. We had a good nice sleep ,enjoyed a good bath and down for breakfast.For the price of 226 euro for a family of 4 is more than excellent value for money.We couldn't ask for more to start the year in a better way. This is not going to be our last visit being Maltese but we encourage others to do the same. See you soon in the near future. Thanks and well done.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Welcome to our establishment and thank you for posting your review on tripadvisor. It is so nice to hear that you and your family enjoyed your break with us and intend to return.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    396
    239
    128
    127
See reviews for
299
474
72
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Qormi, Malta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Rooms were clean, service was excellent. A wide variety choice regarding food and drinks. The location is perfect for a trip to Gozo and to visit Paradise Bay by walk. We will book this hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your positive response and we look forward to your repeat custom. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I was in the month of November 2013 there at this hotel. The tour guide gave a reception, the stay was very pleasant. The population speaks good English, the shop that I liked in Valetta.
The service was good.
The Wellness appliances are very outdated - not to be compared with the club in Germany.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
I thank you for your response in saying that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosta, Malta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Vey good service, a good value for money, food is really good and there is a good choice. The hotel is very clean all over the place. We where 4 people and the room was spacious enough. The location is perfect for a trip to Gozo and enjoy the sea. The kids really enjoyed the indoor pool and kids area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for appreciating good value for money and for saying how much you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I along with my friends had a great weekend there.Food was great, nice views, quite big rooms and excellent staff.Another great thing is that just 2 minutes away on foot one finds the gozo ferry terminal and can easily walk and take a trip to the sister island

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
I thank you for stating your appreciation of our establishment.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of October, which we booked through onthebeach.com. Onthebeach.com were very good to book with and we had no problems with the company at all. The hotel was great for what we paid, the rooms were clean, modernly decorated but the mattresses were a little hard. The hotel offered a number of indoor and outdoor pools that were never crowded and nice to swim in. The position of the hotel was great as it was right next to the ferry for Gozo and Comino, which is were you can swim in the blue lagoon. There was a bus stop right outside the hotel so there was good transport to the more touristy places in Malta, as the hotel is quite isolated. The hotel has its own private beach which was small but nice.

The hotel was nice for a short cheap break away, we only used the room as a base as we were out exploring most days. Most of the staff were really nice and the food in the Al la carte restaurant was great. However, if you are someone that enjoys luxury rooms, plush surroundings and 1st class treatment then don't stay here as you will only be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated rooms over looking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for posting your response to TripAdvisor and for stating that we gave value for money. The hotel does offer various standards of rooms from economy to Promo to sea view to bay view and to Junior Suites so the standards offered will suit all.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Smooth check-in, lovely hotel foyer and bar area. We originally had room 420 which sprung a leak following the first torrential rain in 7 months. Reported it and shortly after we were shown to another room. Only single beds which we had to push together. Nice big room recently refurbished and large balcony overlooking the ferry terminal and Gozo. I suspect this position to be noisy in high season. Medium sized flat screen freeview TV with popular English and European channels and courtesy tray and fridge also in the room with extra blankets and pillows at our disposal.

Can access free wifi and internet connection in the lounge area but required to pay for private connection in the rooms. The breakfast was amazing with an extensive choice of full English and continental varieties. The dining room may look a little dated but was clean and overlooked the pools and bay area thus positioned on the sunny side. There was a smaller restaurant which we used a couple of times and the food and service was very good although a little on the pricey side. The plate of spaghetti was enormous! A choice of 4 pools, the indoor pool was lovely and warm and clean but the jacuzzi costs €2 and the €5 for the sauna. There are nightly events in the bar area for guests to enjoy free of charge. The hotel staff were always friendly and helpful. We required soya milk with our breakfast and this was produced each morning on request.

Just a short five minute walk to the ferry terminal with crossings every 45 minutes. There is an extensive bus service which stops outside the hotel and a day return ticket for €2.60 will take you anywhere on the island on any bus at any time on the day of purchase. Situated right at the end of the island so the restaurant and hotel shop have the monopoly as you would need a bus ride to get to the nearest town. Plenty of activities to do in the hotel complex for adults and children if you don't want to venture out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Bay and the pool area as this position gets the morning sun directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
I thank you for posting your assessment of our establishment and for appreciating the various aspects offered. Yes it is true that the Bay View rooms are southerly facing and are warmer rooms.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Bay Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Bay Resort Hotel

Address: Paradise Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 0968, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Bay Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Beautifully situated overlooking the picturesque sister Islands of Gozo & Comino with its own private sandy beach, ideal for all ages." This very popular, spacious, comfortable and well-run family hotel has a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean making it ideal for a leisurely holiday in the sun. English is widely spoken throughout the hotel by the staff. The Resort is situated in a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean. The standard fittings for all bedrooms are of air-conditioning, television + radio, direct dial telephone, trouser press with iron and ironing board, mini bar (stocked on request), hairdryer, ceiling fan, safe (local charge) and en-suite bathroom. Some bedrooms are large enough to accommodate 4 persons. We also offer rooms with facilities for the physically challenged and the hotel is fully accessible with ramps and lifts to all public areas. A small ferry harbour to Gozo is situated a short distance away from the hotel and a regular public bus service operates to the main towns of Sliema and Valletta stopping at en-route towns and villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Paradise Bay Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Bay Hotel Mellieha
Paradise Bay Mellieha
Paradise Bay Hotel Malta
Paradise Bay Malta
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.