We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Panorama Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Panorama Hotel to your Saves list
Panorama Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   New St off Valley Rd, Mellieha, Island of Malta SPB 14, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Only stayed for a week over Christmas time, great service, great staff, rooms always kept clean, food very good and the special Christmas Eve evening was excellent, joe the manager always pleasant and helpful, would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front, beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    93
    83
    64
    95
See reviews for
70
191
55
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Hi' Mark from Clacton-on-sea Essex,stayed at Panorama hotel between 29/10/13 to 12/11/13. Small staff team but attentive and helpful with guests. Manager was away on holiday while I was there but they carried on very professionally some work very long hours! Bev, Alex etc but really lovely people and new receptionist (day) very helpful. Right the hotel! Fantastic view was in 414 right side facing bay 4th floor on side of building still great view of bay. Room twin with sea view was very clean( thanks Alex and cleaning team! Furniture good quality, decoration good touch up on paintwork round balcony door needed but acceptable wear and tear. Bathroom great! All white sparkly and all fixtures including hair dryer Woking most importantly water was hot when you needed it for showers washing etc just need to run little while. Bed furniture was good but mattresses in my room were a little worn as uncomfortable mid springs and could do with soon replacing. Plenty of daylight and sunshine entering room through windows. TV is okay for those odd rainy days.Many different international guests but No moaning Brits while I was there just lots enjoying their stay! this is a very intimate quite hotel but fast turn over of some guests with others staying longer. Lounge very nice furniture, bar , tv tables and chairs. Restaurant is good basic breakfast that alternates over two days but really good never had a jippy tummy ever! I only did bed and breakfast but those around me who did all inclusive seemed very happy. Furniture in restaurant tables were good solid no wear and tear, chairs little worn need recovering, but very comfortable, decoration very good, excellent on cleanliness and that stunning view of bay makes this hotel stands out. Never used the pool but it's clean and in good condition. All in all this is a lovely hotel, think there has been some recent refurbishment from talking with other guests and the I house handyman responds quickly to all problems when informed by staff. Unfair criticism yes few cats you either like them or you don't but not a problem! Didn't see any mess"Outside hotel/terrace was very clean. Some scratched graffiti in lift but lift works fine! Always some vandals where ever you go! And floor hall carpets only bit of hotel with carpets were little old but clean odd bit chewing gum. But hoovered regularly and good condition these are heavy wear areas after all.
So summing up! Outstanding value but shop around most guests come via mercury direct or Chevron and seemed very happy with what they got deal wise for their money. I came via Thomas Cook (shop booking) and flew with Thompson airways so bit more expensive and no rep but still good value. Don't' expect 5 star and all the bells and whistles! But this is a great hotel and if you want a quite base and then visit rest of the island then fantastic place to be. Melllieha is a wonderful place and I'll be back soon and staying at this hotel!

Room Tip: Winter side! Summer front! Top floor littltle bit of air con noise in some rooms (hummimg)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, Midi-Pyrenees, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Arrived late one evening on half board basis but no food left out. Room subject to a terrible humming noise - seemed to be coming from the electrics cupboard which had been left wide open. Complained in morning and moved to another room but still same noise all night. Air conditioning did not work and fan on wall hanging off. The room was fairly clean but the small balcony very dirty. Manager and staff not very helpful especially Ramona who seemed to think we should be so grateful to have an average buffet of stodge each night. I looked every day but never saw her smile. Plenty of customers queuing up each morning to complain of noise and aircon problems but no action taken. The view was totally superb over the bay - if only we could have had a different hotel it would have been perfect. Definitely NOT recommended but if you insist on going stick to B&B only as there are several good restaurants in easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Choose a balcony facing the bay and don't forget those ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was our 5th stay at the Panorama, and things were pretty good. The staff could not have been more helpful, moving cots, providing extra pillows and being very good when one of our party was poorly. The hotel is clean and comfortable, and everyone looked after our junior member very well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotels sits on an amazing hill overlooking the fantastic bay of Mellieha. The view is incredible. Which makes it all the more a total travesty having an incompetent miser running the hotel. I moved out after the first night. My parents and brother and his wife moved out after 2 nights. We all happily paid significant sums to get away from the total lack of professional, miserable food offering, minimalist cheap furnishings and without doubt the most arrogant and dismissive hotel manager on the planet (let alone Island!!). This managers name is Jo and he owns the hotel. At all times on our trips near the Reception, there were people queuing up to complain. For your holidays sake don't rick it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My friend and I had a lovely holiday in Malta which was helped by this hotel. we were provided with clean accommodation and a good choice of food. The themed food nights - Italian, British, Maltese went some way to cater for the international groups who were at the hotel. My favourite night was the Maltese night. The food on our all inclusive holiday was well cooked at all three meal times and should have catered for all tastes although a small group of UK people present would have been better at Blackpool eating fish and chips every day as they did not like some of the variations. (Some people are never satisfied are they?)The entertainment provided for 5 out of 7 nights was good and generally catered for the middle aged person. We would recommend this hotel which we will certainly be revisiting in the future. Thanks to all for a lovely holiday in Malta and special thanks to the hotel staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed bed and breakfast, as we wanted to explore the islands as much as possible, and this hotel was perfect for us.

The staff were all very friendly and the room was clean and neat, with a wonderful view across farm land to the bay and Comino and Gozo beyond. We spent many late afternoons and early evenings on our balcony, watching life going on below us - the farmers in their fields, buses hurtling down and struggling up the hill, boats in the bay, etc. Probably sounds rather dull, but we found it amazingly relaxing!

Breakfast was no frills but got us off to a good start each day - all you can eat eggs, bacon, sausage, toast, cereals, fruit, etc.

The hotel's location near the middle of Mellieha means that it is only a short walk (through quaint residential streets and past the church) to the bus routes, going north to the Gozo ferry and south to the rest of Malta. A lot of the other hotels in Mellieha are right on the main road, but we liked being slightly removed from this, as it allowed us to see normal Maltese life going on as we went to and from the hotel, and to be away from the noise when we were relaxing.

Being Bed and Breakfast, we were found that it was also only a short walk to a variety of restaurants - Chinese, Italian, Burgers, etc, whatever took our fancy - all very good.

Hoping to return next summer!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Hotel

Address: New St off Valley Rd, Mellieha, Island of Malta SPB 14, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Panorama Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and HostelBookers so you can book your Panorama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Mellieha
Panorama Hotel Malta/Mellieha
Hotel Panorama Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panorama Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.