We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“avoid this restaurant” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Panorama Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Panorama Hotel to your Saves list
Panorama Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   New St off Valley Rd, Mellieha, Island of Malta SPB 14, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“avoid this restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Although the view is excellent the food was absolutely terrible. We didn't stay at the hotel just visited to eat one evening . The quality of all food both local and international was terrible quality. The mussels were really salty and inedible. The shanghai chicken had more sesame seeds than chicken and was inedible. With 6 of us being unhappy we mentioned our dissatisfaction at this point and we're met with only what can be described as a blasé attitude with no interest Whatsoever! We were told that 'that's how the chef cooks It! We were then avoided as much as possible by the waitress and when we asked to see a manager they wasn't one available to talk to us. The chef however came to speak to us in a very aggressive way telling us it was our Problem! The waitress told us she had never had a complaint in four years which is laughable reading the other reviews. Just look around and take note if there is no one else eating around you it isn't a good sign.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    93
    83
    64
    95
See reviews for
70
191
55
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

For a (cheap) budget hotel I don't think the Panorama can be faulted. I was there this week with my daughter, and while I agree that the accommodation floors would benefit from a refurbishment we loved it. Yes, the breakfasts were essentially the same every day, but how many of us can honestly say that we offer our families a choice of cereal, toast, melon, rolls, ham, cheese, eggs, sausages/bacon and beans every single day?? Thought not! We were all inclusive and although I missed the lunch cut off one day I was still served without a murmur, and we found the dinners perfectly adequate with soup, salad, a choice of three main courses, three desserts and cheese and biscuits.
The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and Joe made a point of speaking to my daughter every day about what she had been doing.
Should you stay here if you want a 5 star experience for a 2 star price? No, but if you are realistic about what your money can buy and can appreciate a small, locally run hotel with spectacular views and friendly staff then give the Panorama a try, it is far from the nightmare some would have you believe!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from looking at their website which shows the hotel to be of good quality - how very shocked we were when we arrived! There was no room for us, so we were shipped off to an apartment up the road with no air con which we had paid for due to the heat and our young family. Be wary if you have young children - they had no cot for our baby who had to sleep in a full size bed. Not ideal. When we did get a cot it was a health and safety nightmare - it was broken in numerous places and held together by tape. If our little girl stood up and held onto the cot bars they would bow out in the middle because they had snapped and were only held together by a little bit of tape. Disgraceful! The cot mattress was ripped so she would end up sleeping on uncovered foam. The only had one highchair for the entire hotel, therefore we ended up eating out one morning because our baby could not sit and eat. They did buy 2 more after we complained.
The food was terrible. We had breakfast but by the end of the week could barely eat it because it was the same tasteless, poor quality food day in day out. There was no variation. The food was left uncovered for flies to land on. The tables were not cleaned between guests using them, only at the end of the breakfast service, so we ate on dirty tables.
The rooms are very basic. No kettle to even make yourself a drink! The TV didn't any channels worth watching - only BBC world news that gave you weather reports for India not Malta or the Med! The bathroom facilities left much to be desired - the toilet had a bad smell emitting from it 24/7, would on occasions not flush and It had brown stains on the floor around the toilet. The shower door wouldn't close properly. The ceiling slats were falling down.
The reception area is lovely - If the rest of the hotel was this standard it would be a 3 star hotel as it is advertised. The views of Mellieha are beautiful - one of it's only good features.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The location of this Hotel is probably the best on the island.

All inclusive does not apply. I am surprised that Mercury have put their name to this hotel, as I have travelled with Mercury to Mauritius and they were very good.

We missed lunch one day by one minute and were told we would not be served. We had to buy food in. If you have a day out there are no lunch pack-ups available. A couple of members of staff, Bev and Ray, went out of their way to accommodate us and make our holiday. Our thanks to them.

We complained on our second day that one of the grilles in the swimming pool on the floor was missing, a small child could have out their foot in this. This was still the same two weeks later. Be warned if you are taking children to this hotel. Also the metal steps up from the pool are lose and wobble. Be careful.

Also one of the railings overlooking the view, near the sunbeds are very lose, again we complained. It is a very long way down if this gives way completely.

For a 120 (average guess) the pool holds 15 people at one time, not enough sun beds and most are in the shade til late afternoon.

The showers are either boiling hot or suddenly freezing cold, nothing in between and not enough room in them to turn.

The air-con packed up during our stay.

The food is the same everyday, very boring and done on the cheap, where did they find the brussel sprouts and the only fruit available was melon in the whole of the two weeks. We ate out a few times and can recommend Escargo's up the hill in Mellieah or Maltese Mama in St Julian's.

The beds were kept clean and towels changed regularly, but the stairwells were never swept as the same bits were still there two weeks later.

Good luck !!!!!!

Room Tip: Top floor is best on the left hand side facing out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

It's a small budget hotel, which makes the most of its limited footprint given the geography of Mellieha. Don't go expecting the luxury of a 4 or 5 star all inclusive resort hotel on the usual All inclusive deal where food, drink and service is on tap 24/7 because you'll be disappointed, and if that's what you're expecting you'd better stay somewhere else.
We stayed for a week on a B&B basis. Our room was kept very clean, and fresh sheets and towels were available every day if required. We had a great view over the bay from the 4th floor and managed to catch any breeze going . Our air con did work, but was noisy- so we kept the balcony door open and used the fan most of the time. I'd agree it could be updated to a more efficient system when the re-furb budget permits. The chamber maids were helpful, friendly and knew how to work hard!
I'd agree that the breakfasts lacked a little variety, and the addition of a couple of other types of bread, a more varied selecton of fruit , meats and cheeses and possibly yoghurts would have made breakfast more exciting, but when we booked we were told it would be a basic continental breakfast,- so the addition or sausages or bacon or eggs or some sort was OK. Even if it wasn't top quality, that didn't seem to stop most of the guests loading up if quantity was more important. The coffee machine, juice machine and conveyor type toaster which heats rather than toasts the bread can be found in lots of other 3* and and over hotels, so in that respect the Panorama wasn't any different from some of the other hotels we've stayed at. There was always a choice on the dinner menu, and although we only dined in on our first night,The Italian Night buffet dinner was better than we'd thought given some of the comments we'd read in the reviews. If you need to supplement the breakfast ,there's a good bakers a couple of streets away and supermarkets on the main street- or the fruit and veg lorry that stops in front of the church.
We found the reception and dining room staff friendly and helpful.
They information sheet in the room gave all the info about meals/ etc.. that one would need and clearly stated what was expected from its guests.I don't have a problem with the hotel not allowing breakable glasses and tumblers round the pool area, or asking that guests dress appropriately in public areas or dining room, or dry themselves before going to their rooms rather than dripping all over the tiled foyer and the floor of the lift- it's just courtesy and keeping folk safe and lessening the workload for the staff.
The entertainment during the week in the evening was OK too- it wasn't too loud and stopped at 11.30- a couple of the guys were really good, and chose a wide range of songs - some surprisingly current!
We enjoyed eating out at Commando ( pricey but worth it) Greystone next door was always busy, Al Ponte at the Maritim Hotel did good steaks and pizzas and the ftira rolls were fabulous.
The Arches, Guiseppi's and Bouquet Garni further up the main street were recommendd to us too, but we ran out of eveinings!
Best bargain ? The 12euro weekly bus ticket - valid for all over the island. Tourist info in Mellieha were very knowledgeable and helpful- so wih their knowledge and the bus ticket you can pretty much do all the tours yourself.
We had a really good week and would certainly go back to Malta- we didn't see much of the centre and south of the island, so we'd probably stay elsewhere in any case, but if your'e just needing a clean room for sleeping in, a quiet location on a B& B basis , helpful staff, reasonable entertainment, a short walk to good restaurants , a fab view than the Panorama would be OK if you didn't have a huge budget for all the luxury extras.

Room Tip: One with a view over the bay- 4th floor caught the breeze, even if the lift was slow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I booked this hotel through Mercury Direct as a single traveller and had paid for a twin room with sea view (paying a single supplement). On arrival my room was at the side if the building on the 2nd floor and my view was of the apartment block opposite ( I could have seen some of the sea view if I were a giraffe - but at 5ft tall my neck isn't long enough!). When I complained to the "manager" - Joe- he said yes there was a sea view if you looked hard enough! He thought it was funny! I asked if I could have another room 3 times in as many days - but he wasn't interested! The room itself was very basic but I had to keep the curtains closed all day as the people in the apartments opposite could see directly into the room. The bathroom was awful - the top of the handle for the cistern flush was broken and I had to get used to pushing down on a chrome lever! The shower cubicle doors would not close - shower was intermittent - hot/cold/tepid! The make up /shaving mirror had only 1 out of the 3 bulbs working - the maid could have changed these at any time during the week I was there - but they were just left! I could hear the people in the room upstairs whenever they used the bathroom (very off putting). The hotel boasts that it is family run - about 5 years ago it was family owned - it no longer is and the refurbishment did not extend to the hotel corridors which were shabby - navy carpet that is dirty and badly stained - it also smells. The walls are decorated with 90s style prints and the woodwork is scruffy and dirty. The food was dreadful - they start cooking breakfast at 7 then put it out onto one of those buffet food warming counters where it sits and bakes until they open for guests at 8. (the water that sits in the trays below the food was grey and full of stale food. No-one had taken the decision to clean it out and put fresh water in so that the food trays were sitting in filth. The choice of food was awful and most days it was inedible. It is easier to eat out than bother with the dried up food that sits around uncovered for hours and is crawling with flies! The tables in the patio area were dirty and when they were cleaned it was with the same cloth that was used on every table - there was no sign of anyone using a proper antibacterial spray or even bleach to clean them! There are simply not enough staff to keep this hotel-clean - I counted 8 in total including the chef, receptionist and 1 barperson each day! Lots of people were arriving and being told there were no rooms free - then being shipped out to another hotel or being put up in an apartment up the street. WiFi access was not available in the rooms and satellite TV access was poor - some obscure Middle Eastern channels or BBC world service/Sky news if you were lucky enough to have a TV set in your room and also if you actually had a set that worked. There were loads of cats around - they slept on the patio area overnight (on the sun loungers) and the whole place smelt of their scent marking. They often jumped onto the tables in the dining area - which was never cleaned properly. The area around the infinity pool needed a proper clean as did the pool itself - the maintenance man added in extra chlorine each day but only used a brush to clean the pool edges.
This hotel has the best views in the area and the worst manager I have ever come across - the staff are overworked and underpaid and they struggle to keep the place ticking over! This hotel is so poor it should not have 1 star let alone 3! I would suggest looking for an alternative hotel in the area. Such a shame as the current management team seem to be only interested in making money - not in providing a good level of cleanliness or service.

Room Tip: Beware all of the rooms - none are really good and the internal rooms are even worse -you might even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband and I have stayed in this hotel many times over a period of 10 years or more and have found the staff, cleanliness and food perfect for us. The guy in charge, Joe, is a wonderful character who puts the happiness of his guests first and foremost. The views over the bay are stunning. There is a bar which employs entertainers and which opens out onto the area around the pool, perfect for warm, balmy evenings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Hotel

Address: New St off Valley Rd, Mellieha, Island of Malta SPB 14, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Panorama Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and HostelBookers so you can book your Panorama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Mellieha
Panorama Hotel Malta/Mellieha
Hotel Panorama Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panorama Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.