We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from the madding crowd” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mellieha Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mellieha Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Mellieha Bay Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ghadira, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9065, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Far from the madding crowd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

The Melleiha Bay hotel is just a little off the beaten track as far as sandy beaches are concerned but if it's English you want, it's Melleiha Bay Hotel you need.
It's a curious building - just one room thick so every room faces across the bay and at whatever level, provides stunning views. Whilst it isn't actually on Melleiha Bay, the hotel has its own swimming pools, indoor and out door and offers excellent opportunities for snorkelling.
All the rooms have well appointed private bathrooms and some have connecting doors for family use. The dining room is self service and provides a splendid selection for both breakfast (English) and evening meal. Lunch is also available for those who wish to stay nearby, lounge by the outdoor pool or explore the acre grounds in which the hotel sits. There is a lounge bar where drinks and snacks can be had throughout the day.
A dozen or so visits have never failed to provide cheerful and friendly service from the staff and a high standard of room service, if sometimes tardy. There is a little gift shop within the premises. The lowest floor house the "Midnight lounge" where there is entertainment each evening and there are some rooms on the ground floor for children and for games.
If there is a snag to the hotel it is that there are no shops nearby and the sandy beach of the bay is a fair old walk away - as is the nearest bus stop. It's best, if you want to explore, to hire a car: the hotel has a generous car park. It's not the best place for disabled people: though the hotel has lifts they don't quite touch every sub-level, mainly because of the nature of the terrain where it is built. It is possible to get round in a wheelchair - just, and if there isn't a card game going on in the area you have to sneak through. A further snag is that it is still not advisable to drink the water in the en suite bathrooms. Bottled water a must.
All in all, though, if you want a quiet hotel with good food and plenty to do, this might be just the place for you.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms each have a door leading out to the garden and pool areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    417
    264
    91
    48
See reviews for
301
506
49
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Matlock,Nuneaton,Coleshill, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Family of 4 adults 2 teenagers and 1 baby (9 months). We stayed at Mellieha Bay Hotel in August 2011 on an all inclusive basis. We tried to book this hotel independently but Thomson had blocked booked the whole hotel so we had no choice but to go through Thomson.

Not sure what all inclusive means at this hotel as items such as crisps, biscuits, certain cakes & ice creams had to be paid for. Also if the restaurant was open you could not have pre packed sandwiches. You also need to be aware of the times various bars are open, as when one closed another would open (which are all in different locations of the hotel). It would have been good if the beach bar stayed open longer than 4.45pm as it was a lovely spot to sit and take in the fantastic views. What seems to be forgotten is that we are holidaymakers wanting to get away from clock watching, we have paid for the “all inclusive” package and we want to get a drink/sandwich when and where we want it. Beer on all inclusive was Stella Artios.

This hotel is not ideal for pushchairs or the disabled, although there is a lift to floors you still have to negotiate a flight of stairs to get to the lift from reception and there are several flights of stairs to negotiate to get to the swimming pools/beach, which makes it very difficult if you have a child in a pushchair and you are on your own, we often had to relied on the goodwill of other guests to help us.

First impressions of this hotel is that it is outdated. Our room was pleasantly decorated, had modern furnishings, air conditioned and clean. Bathroom door was a sliding frosted one, which did nothing for privacy. All rooms have sea views with balconies. On a health and safety point the balconies have three bars across, which can be climbed on. As we had a baby in our group one of the balconies had a safety grid attached – not much good when baby visited another room. We also noted that the Bar lounge had the sliding window open which also had three bars across but no grid – the drop was about 7ft onto a concrete path.

Flies and wasps are a constant nuisance. Large quantities of wasps are attracted to the soft drinks that have been spilled or left. Dead wasps were seen on the floor close to the pool where they could be stood on and were by one of our party.

All pools were clean and did not use seawater, unlike other hotel pools in Malta.

We found the staff to be friendly and reception staff very helpful.

At lunch and dinner time you need to wait to be marked off and shown to your seat. One evening we waited over 20 minutes to be shown to our seat due to low staffing.

The food selection in the restaurant was good and catered for most people’s tastes, even having a BBQ on one of the evenings, although it would have been good if this could have been available more often.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

All rooms are sea facing over 4 floors overlooking the bay towards Mellieha. From the moment we checked in we were made welcome.
The food menu was excellent to cover any taste and very well cooked with ample quantity not to run out or be in short supply if you came in late. We were all-inclusive and the wine that we had at dinner was very good not the normal bitter stuff that you get at some hotels.
The staff we always helpful with local information about buses etc. The hotel beach is sandy with the larger beach 5 mins walk down the road which is shallow and also sandy ideal for children. It is situated in an ideal location outside of town but not far enough if you fancied a walk into town/village.
The local buses run about every 30 mins and for a day runabout ticket costing about £2 the island is open to a visit. There are many Churches on the Island with different styles so there is always something to see.
The rooms were cleaned and the towels were replaced everyday by very polite staff who always said good morning and wished us a very pleasent day.
All in all a hotel that will be revisited in the future by us and our family.

Room Tip: All the rooms were facing the sea but over 4 floors so depending on which floor you wanted the choic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westmidland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

this was our sixth holiday in Malta ,but our first to this hotel,what have we been missing? ,our late arrival 11.45 pm was made extra special by the fact that the bar remained open for snacks & drinks for late arrivals,the entire staff are dedicated to the care of their guests,nothing is to much to ask .We had a wonderful two weeks and cant wait for next year we had a top floor room with a view across the bay to die for ,
the entertainment was first class ,the bingo diidnt have mecca prizes,but mecca dont have johnny gee or his quizes,the night entertainment,the dancers and danny de vitos look alike were fantastic the clenliness of our room was superb thanks to our maid cathy all in all a great experiance not to forget the services of our holiday rep,

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Mellieha Bay Hotel is a lovely hotel and I had a great holiday there. The restaurant staff are very gracious and kind and they work so hard.The Reception staff were always efficient and polite.The chamber maids were very helpful and they cleaned the rooms very well.

The food is very good for an all inclusive option. Lots of salads and vegetables and fruits and the vegetarian range was good too.

I would certainly recommend visiting 'Paradise Bay' beach as it beautiful.
There is also a Dog Sanctuary called 'Noahs Ark' near Paradise bay. We took some lovely dogs out for a walk and that was a very rewarding experience.

My partner thoroughly enjoyed the Dolphin Swim at the 'Mediterraneo Bio Park Malta' and he said it was an unforgettable experience. I was pleased to see that the animals are well looked after in the park by the staff.

Comino is a beautiful island and the water is fantastic for swimming.
Medina is a very atmospheric place and it is a very quiet and ancient city. It's well worth a visit.
I'd recommend returning home before rush hour though as the buses can get very crowded and they run less frequently after a certain time.

A weekly bus pass at twelve euros is very good value.

I had a great holiday in Malta and the weather was surprisingly warm and sunny for November. I certainly have many happy memories from my holiday.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

We had stayed in this area before but not the same hotel earlier this year and liked Malta so much we decided to return. Mellieha is not as busy or commercialised as some other areas of Malta so it is a great place to relax with a lovely sandy beach. The hotel is situated in a quiet part of the resort away from the main area but within easy walking distance of the beach, although the hotel has its own small, private beach. The hotel was excellent with lovely views across the bay. We had a comfortable refurbished room on the 4th floor with a fantastic view. There were good facilities with just about something for everyone including tennis courts, watersports, diving, bowls as well as peaceful areas in the beautiful landscaped gardens to sit and read or just relax and enjoy the views. The restaurant was buffet-style with varied dishes of excellent quality and efficient service. There was nightly enetertainment which was also varied an entertaining. Malta itself is an incredibly interesting island stuffed with history and fascinating places to visit - a must is a trip to Gozo, Medina and the capital Valletta. We would definitely return not only to Malta, but also this hotel without a doubt.

Room Tip: Request a room on top floor for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich england
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

after visiting this hotel for twenty odd years sometimes twice ayear,i now find that i am expected to pay extra for any room above the ground floor..previously all ground floor rooms were reserved for people with young children in push chairs and the elderly.i feel i shall be looking at other hotels this year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mellieha Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellieha Bay Hotel

Address: Ghadira, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9065, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mellieha Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, getaroom.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Mellieha Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mellieha Bay Malta
Mellieha Bay Hotel Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mellieha Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.