We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTATIC HOTEL, CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK! HIGHLY RECOMMEND” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mellieha Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mellieha Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Mellieha Bay Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ghadira, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9065, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“FANTATIC HOTEL, CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK! HIGHLY RECOMMEND”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

This is a great hotel, and really made my holiday. Lovely hotel, people, food and views!

I think it is in perfect location, fairly quiet with breathtaking views and the bonus of the private beach. The bus stop is literally 7 minutes round the corner from the hotel and is fairly regular the two main routes number 11 and 42 - (i think - 42 being the express and faster to Valetta roughly 1hr30mins - they are air conditioned) and VERY reasonable in price 2.5 Euros for a day ticket! definitely worth going into Mellieha town and also going to the bakery! - the cakes in Malta are divine!

The Food at Mellieha Bay is great. Breakfast : Great choice , everything anyone could want on offer, allowing you to create your desired breakfast. The croissants were really good as was the plain and chocolate cake at breakfast - so lovely and light! Lunch and Dinner: The choice is extensive offering something for everyone, with a selection of fresh fish, meats and veggie options. I absolutely loved the variety of fresh fish the chefs cooked every day and I must add - cooked to perfection! I really enjoyed the choice of mixed salads and vegetables on offer too. We had a BBQ one night (as well as the usual choices) out of the 7 nights which was delicious -I only wish that they had perhaps of done this twice in a 7 night stay as it was delicious! Everynight there was a lovely selection of desserts, fruit and ice cream and they were different most nights.

Bar: Excellent bar staff, really friendly, helpful - In particular Massimo, Tyrone and Kyle! polite and fast at getting drinks - didnt leave you standing round for ages waiting for a drink. Loved the little bar on the way down to the private beach too, great location.

Rooms: Lovely clean, modern room. Really loved the fact there was plenty of storage and i was able to unpack my suitcase and put it away for the week! nice to have a full length mirror too! The maids were lovely and friendly, and always replaced towels everyday and cleaned the bedroom and bathroom.

Pools: Great pools, the Jamaica Inn pool offerswater aerobics once a day and various other activities - I didnt realise that they did water aerobics until the last day ( i didnt see the notice on the board - however towards the end of the holiday they announced it over a tannoy which was a good idea! ) The main pool was great too, very clean and a good size - nice and close to the bar and plenty of sun loungers! there were lots of wasps - but that's nature and typical for August!

I would like to thank the staff at Mellieha Bay for making my stay so pleasurable. Within a week of being back in England I am already looking at flights etc, planning my visit back!

Look forward to seeing everyone again!

Sarah

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    417
    264
    91
    48
See reviews for
301
506
49
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northeast
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

dont usually do AI but on this holiday couldnt fault it. staff/maids etc friendly hard working ,food excellent room clean and modern lovely veiws of bay.21 ov us here on 50th wedding aniverssary and 40th birthday, staff couldnt do enough for us really impressed with customer service.from check in to check out a first class hotel.wasps are a bit of a problem around pools hardley any on the beach. people cleaning up after them selves could prob cure this.
entertainment ok prefered it to be on the balcony rather than inside though.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Having stayed at this hotel four times previoiusly, we were not worried as we loved it. We arrived, were very lucky to have the room we requested. Everything was fine until we went to dinner. We hadn't realised the hotel has become ALL INCLUSIVE (we were half board). The selection of food and deserts was very poor, the lovely waiters had gone and were replaced by, what seemed to be young students, who had a job to understand us. e.g. my husband ordered half a lager one evening and was served with a caraf of wine. Everytime we purchased anything, we had to sign for it and pay at the end of our stay. The entertainment was boring, we were unable to hear anyway due to the influx of small children, however, the reception staff were very helpful and very nice but we certainly will not be returning to Mellieha Bay Hotel again, such a shame as we couldn't wish for a more wonderful view.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Just returned from my second trip to Malta and this hotel. The hotel is in a fantastic location if you want to have lazy days in the pool or on the beach or for the more energetic lots of water sports available on the doorstep. All rooms are seafacing and the views are wonderful. The hotel is going through a transition period from half board option to AI so half the people were half board the others were AI it had a definite affect on the speed of service, however, all employees are so lovely and keen to get it right so I'm sure that things will improve. The food is of a good quality with plenty of options however, they could provide some more options for younger children, and provide more entertainment for the children as it tends to cater for adults, having spoken to the staff I understand they are open minded and happy to consider recommendations. There is a small shop on site which I think is run idependently as the couple that run it are very rude and unhelpful unlike the Mellieha bay hotel staff. There is currently a problem with wasps the pools and loungers are covered with them, however they don't seem to sting didn't see anyone suffering at all it is more a nuisance than anything else the management seem to be clearing out bins regularly but could do with collecting empty glasses and ice lolly sticks from around the pool side areas to discourage them. Overall we had a lovely break the weather was fabulous and generally it was incredibly friendly and accommodating which is very noticeable. Once some of the relatively small niggles are sorted this is a top holiday destination.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We had a great week at this hotel.Although the hotel was opened in 1969 inside it has been renovated to a great standrad. Rooms were lovely and modern - fantastic views of the bay. Food was excellent,something different every night - no complaints there at all from us or our two children. All the staff we met were very friendly and helpfulMiad service excellent.We used the pools at the far end of the hotel by which were brilliant for our children and not at all crowded. The hotel also has its own section of beach with lots of watersports too hand. If I wanted to imporve anything it would be wasp control by poosl - (didn't ruin our holiday but could be annoying !) and the entertainment was mixed . All in all I would definitely recommend

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

The hotel was great, we stayed for 2 weeks and after this the food became "much the same" but it was lovely none the less. The hotel staff were very welcoming and mainly helpful. The biggest problem was the number of wasps round the pool, it was frightening to even put things in the bin on some days with the number of wasps round the bin. We travelled with Thomson and they were well aware of this problem as are the hotel, so I think they could have had more provisions available for people who got stung. Also maybe they should have someone round the pool area's moving cups with fizzy drinks in as people don't tidy up after themselves and then the wasps were everywhere. Apart from this I would recommend the hotel, The food was lovely, rooms were spotless, pools were clean, I think they are trying very hard to take on board people's comments and the entertainment catered for all, just maybe put the kids disco on earlier (or on time) as sometimes it was too late for the younger kids.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

If you are looking for a good hotel, miss this one out. The resturant staff are rude, tables not cleared so your plates just pile up on your table. The food is terrible, hot plates but cold food. Sighns were above the food dishes telling you what the food was which was a good job as you hadnt a clue what you were eating. My husband and I ate out most of the holiday at a resturant called Costa Del Sol just a five minute walk from the hotel, excellent, and great service. W atch out for the heavey glass door into the bathroom as once in the bathroom you might never get out again. If we were offerd a free holiday at the Mellieha Bay Hotel we wouldnt give it away to our worst enemies. j&m. sheffield

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mellieha Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellieha Bay Hotel

Address: Ghadira, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9065, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mellieha Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, getaroom.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Mellieha Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mellieha Bay Malta
Mellieha Bay Hotel Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mellieha Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.