We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Holiday Complex

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Luna Holiday Complex to your Saves list
Luna Holiday Complex
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marfa Rd, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 02 , Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
1 review
“good trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

staff very opened
apartment very clean
location good situated
think to take bus to go to the city, short in time, but big slope...
supermarket in the hotel : i t's very practical....
restaurants and bars are very nearby : a bacan and eggs in one of them very nice...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    296
    144
    40
    39
See reviews for
185
355
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good location, close to the sea and amenities, with ample car parking.
Room was ok except for the old, noisy fridge and very uncomfortable third bed (more of a camp bed).
The view from the balcony of the church on the hill was really good - worth bearing in mind as the sea-view rooms are more expensive.
Food was mediocre, and breakfasts particularly disappointing - no fresh bread, croissants, fruit or jam.





  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello stepheng555,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review your comments are very important to us.

I am happy to hear that you found the location of the hotel, amenities and parking to your liking and that you enjoyed the view from your balcony.
I have made a note of your comments regarding the food and shall be discussing these points with the Chef.

I thank you again for your feedback and hope that you will consider visiting us again in the very near future.

Warm regards

Kyle Borg
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

After a terrible hotel experience in Malta we heard about the Luna complex and took the chance and returned to Malta for short break in October we where not disappointed.
The Luna has most of the things needed for a relaxing holiday it has two pools with the roof pool overlooking the surrounding countryside with excellent views of the bay.the staff where friendly and helpful, our room was kept very clean with regular clean linen.
Overall our stay at the Luna was very relaxing and would recommend it to our friends I am sure we will return there.
Thankyou to Trevor and staff.

Room Tip: We have seen the Luna in summer and autumn with this in mind it has to be said that the sun is to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hello John B,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review. I am very pleased to hear that your return visit to Malta was an enjoyable one and your stay with us was to your liking.

I am very happy to hear that you would recommend the Luna to your friends.

We hope to see you visit very soon.

Warm regards
Kyle Borg
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

This was our first visit to Malta and our first trip abroad with our grandson. We wanted everything to be perfect especially for him. The apartment we were allocated was not where we had specified being on the second floor and not the top floor. Our accommodation was very poor, the apartment was definitely in need of a refurb. The mattress in the main bedroom was blood-stained, sheets were grey and very thin pillow were made up with chunks of foam. The head-board in our grandson's room was disintegrating as it was located under the air-conditioning unit and high humidity. Air conditioning was an extra cost being 15 euros per night. The kitchen worktop was cracked, no door on the ice-box in the fridge which had to levelled up to stop the noise. There were a definite lack of electric points. The lounge are consisted of a café table and three wooden seats.
We could not fault the staff. The food was excellent with a different menu every night. The roof swimming pool was spot on.
Unfortunately the accommodation marred a special holiday and was not what was expected as described in the various brochures.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hello Norman W,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review, your feedback is very important to us.

I can understand that you wished for your visit to Malta with your grandson to be perfect in every aspect and I am very sorry that this was not the case with regards to your accommodation. We are presently in the process of refurbishing our rooms so that all of our guests may be happy with their accommodation.

I am happy to hear that you found the staff and the rest of the facilities to your liking.

Thank you again for your review.

Warm regards
Kyle Borg
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

The rooms are well maintained and spacious and has good facilities. The staff is friendly and welcoming. Definitely recommend for anyone looking for a good stay in Malta. Close enough to the bay and has enough eateries around.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hello Sangamesh T,

Thank you for your recent visit to the Luna. I am happy to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one and you found the rooms to be spacious and with good facilities.

I am happy to hear that you would definitely recommend the Luna to anyone visiting Malta.

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in the future.

Warm regards
Kyle Borg
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

I only spent one night here, and that was because another hotel had double booked my room. but out of the two hotels , this was the better one.. I had a large room with dining table and kitchen. The bar food looked really good and was reasonably priced.. There are 2 pools here, but the lower one does not get the sun in the Autumn months.. I really liked the outdoor cinema, which I could watch from my balcony, and the breakfast was good.. They even had fried eggs!! There is also a supermarket at the back which had everything u needed for self catering and the wine was very cheap. My room was clean and the reception staff were mostly English and very helpful and the maintenance man even offered to carry my case upstairs.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hello Diane B,

I am very happy to hear that your unexpected stay with us was a pleasant one and you found our facilities to your liking and your room to be spacious and clean.

Thank you for all your lovely comments and I hope to see you again in the very near future.

Warm regards

Kyle Borg
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

This was our first trip to Malta and we're so glad we picked the Luna!

We had a one bedroom country view (of the church and allotments). It was lovely and clean and had a fully equipped kitchen. We had 3 towel changes in the 7 days we were there and one bed change, so can't fault it. My only issues with the room were we were placed on the 4th floor - not ideal with a 3 year old - and also we had 4 beds - two in the bedroom and two in the living area, next to the kitchen. It would have been better to have a sofa.

We never used the pools or the restaurant, so can't comment on them. The little bar, Don Tonino, is lovely and the staff really nice. It was around 5euroes for a glass of wine and a pint of Cisk.

Overall a good basic hotel in a lovely location.

Now, if you turn right out of the hotel, you come to a couple of restaurants. We tried Last Paradise, Maya and the Mexican restaurant - all absolutely gorgeous food to choose from and reasonably price. The beach is a bit further down as well and that as well it beautiful.

There is also a little museum called Tunnara near the beach. It's like a little watch tower and has some really interesting stuff inside, if you are interested in history. It's a donation to get it.

Now to the left of the hotel is the horrible big hill to Mellieha village. It's about 15 mins to walk. I would recommend visiting the church, it's beautiful. There are some lovely little shops and restaurants in the village. Our favourite one was Bar and Grill 717. The food is IMMENSE! There is also a bar/pizza place called Cross Keys a bit further up the village.

The buses take you all over the island and cost 1.50 return. We went to Bugibba and Valetta.

We'll definitely be returning to the island!x

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Helllo Chezwah,

I would like to thank you for staying with us during your first visit to Malta.

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the accommodation was in a good location and to your liking. I am also pleased to hear that you will definitely be returning to Malta.

Please do not hesitate to drop us an email in the future and we hope to see you again very soon.

Warm regards

Kyle Borg
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Luna Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Holiday Complex

Address: Marfa Rd, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 02 , Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Holiday Complex located in Mellieha Malta, is rated one of the best three star apart-hotels in Malta.DescriptionWhy Choose To Stay with us?The Luna Holiday Complex is situated in the heart of the north west of the Island in the town of Mellieha. Whilst this is a thriving tourist resort it still maintains it’s authentic Maltese charm by not being overly commercial. There are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants in the town to suit all tastes and budgets.Mellieha is well situated with direct bus services to the majority of the island including: the Airport, the Capital City of Valletta and the ferry terminals to Gozo and Comino.The Luna is located less than 300 metres from the best and longest beach in Malta, ‘Mellieha Bay’ and is only 15 minutes walk from the famous ‘Popeye Village’.At the Luna Holiday Complex we pride ourselves on giving a 4 star service at a 3 star price. We have a fantastic family of staff, speaking many different languages all ready and willing to give that little bit extra to ensure your holiday is one to remember.Within the Complex we have much to shout about. Once you’ve been welcomed by our staff on arrival the complex is yours to explore. We have a 24-hour reception with a great, informative team who can give you the best advice on tours and places to visit whilst in Malta. All tours can be booked directly through our reception staff. We also have free Wi-Fi and an Internet café in the reception area.We have two fantastic pools. The ground floor family pool is superbly located next to the main bar and the games room whilst our roof top pool has fabulous views of the Mellieha coastline, Red Tower and Mellieha church which is a must for relaxation and enjoying both the Maltese sunshine and sunset!There are three bars on site, with one open from 10am until 1am, which includes entertainment multiple nights a week from local artists. Our main restaurant is ‘Al Fresco’ (weather permitting) serving a great variety of food to suit all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Luna Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Holiday Complex Mellieha
Luna Hotel Malta
Luna Holiday Complex Hotel Mellieha
Luna Holiday Complex Malta/Mellieha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Holiday Complex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.