We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Holiday Complex

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Luna Holiday Complex to your Saves list
Luna Holiday Complex
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marfa Rd, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9063, Malta   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct-Added Value
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
kent england
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“relaxing holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Arrived at Luna Complex approx. 12.30pm but was told we hat to wait for check in at 2pm.
Hubby decided he wanted to upgrade to a superior Apartment and we then waited until 3pm for it.
Lovely apartment, very clean, bedding and towels changed more often than I expected.
The shower/toilet room was great , I have never known the kids to shower so much, the only downfall was no shelf to put your toothbrush etc on.
The superior apartments would be better if they had a microwave and a toaster, the only way to get a toaster was to go on the list and wait for one to become available.
We had a 15yr old boy sleeping in the lounge, the sofa bed was a leather material, really not suitable to put sheets on and to sleep for two weeks, he wasn't comfortable at all. Apart from the pool and a pool table there wasn't anything for the children 13, 14 and 15yrs to do
Linda in the pool bar was lovely she was so pleasant and cheerful all the time.
All the other staff were very nice and very helpful,
Although the hotel was nice and clean and staff pleasant, we wouldn't return to Malta.

Room Tip: If you book a superior apartment there are 3 floors and no lift, you can ask for help the staff will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Good Morning!

I am glad to read you had a relaxing holiday with us and that you thoughrally enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to write your review!

thank you for your commetns the the kitchen equipment we will keep it in mind for future investment.

Thank you once again for staying with us!

Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    299
    144
    40
    40
See reviews for
186
359
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have just had a lovely holiday at the Luna from 2/8/13 to 16/8/13. Room was a bit basic but had everything we needed and was cleaned regularly. Air conditioning was a vital addition as temps were over 30 degrees for the whole of our stay. All the staff were very friendly and keen to help. Two swimming pools - one on ground floor for children mainly, we spent our time by the pool on the roof which was relatively peaceful. Lots of umbrellas and beds available. Beach a short walk away and lots of restaurents nearby. Great holiday - would go again.

Room Tip: Pay extra for air conditioning - it is sooo worthwhile!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Hi there!

Thank you very much for your review! I am happy to read that you had a great holiday :-) I am glad you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us! Thank you very much!

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel between 7th-14th August and really enjoyed it. The decor of the room is probably older than other european hotels but to be honest no different than other hotels we've stayed in Malta previously. The food areas were clean, reasonable selection of buffet dinner each evening and food of good quality for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

The common areas of the hotel were always clean and the pools were nice, particularly the rooftop pool area.

Generally we found all the staff friendly and helpful, particularly Gabrielle on reception and the waitress in the evenings (didnt get her name but Maltese with frizzy dyed blonde hair) but others in the evening were a bit hit and miss with service.

The location was great, 5 mins walk to the Melliaha bay beaches, yet an area less spoilt by mass tourism development than Bugibba (Little Britain) or St Julians.

Our biggest grumble if anything was the charge for air conditioning in the room, 10E a night on top of a hotel bill that's cost £500 already is a bit much particularly when the aircon is already installed in the room and it only requires somebody to turn it on via a computer. I'd urge an otherwise very enjoyable hotel to reconsider this charge.

Room Tip: We had an inland room, was quiet although the road outside is quite busy with traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Good Morning,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us!

I understand your comment re the decor, we are infact changing the rooms in phases, having completed Block 1,3,5 & 6 we are now moving to start Block 4.

Monica and Gabrielle were very happy that you mentioned them, and both send their regards!

With regards to the Aircon, I understand your comment however most Tour operators require to keep it seperate to keep their rates low. (Indeed the AC is installed in all rooms and requires us to activate it, but also please do keep in mind that their is a cost to run the AC and is not simply turning it on) If you book a Superior Studio or Superior Family room AC is indeed included in the rate.

Thank you very much for your comments. Should you wish to return in the future do not hesitate to contact me.

Thank you and Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MALTA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We are local residents and we usually go abroad for summer but this year we have decided to stay locally due to my 8 month baby.
We chose this hotel due to location and decent price. We wanted to stay near the beach and near to bars and restaurants. Price is what you get what you pay for.
At the beginning we booked a standard room but we weren't informed that a standard room does not include a TV and AC, we only had a ceiling fan which in Maltese weather it was useless. AC we were told that we had to pay extra EUR 10 per day. Moreover it didn't include a Bath which I specifically asked for. When we asked at reception to get the AC we were told that the person authorised to give the ac was not around and that we had to wait for the following day (we have spend one hell of a night !!!!!!). But we were also suggested if we wanted to upgrade the room to a Superior room for EUR 15 per night and we would have the Bath, TV and AC as well as a more decent room. So we opted to upgrade.
Once upgraded all went well and we enjoyed the stay.
The only think that was funny is that room cleaning is done every 2 days and with my baby's nappy change the smell in the bin wasn't that enjoyable.
Breakfast was good and on the whole the hotel / rooms were very clean. Pool was also nice as they had child area too. Although this hotel is ideal for families with children there was no noise to be heard from other rooms, so my daughter could rest any time of the day without being disturbed. Hotel has also a mini market which is highly equipped with all type of food, from freshly baked bread to frozen food.
It was a nice stay but I will never recommend to book a Standard room, for as little as EUR 15 per night opt for a Superior room.

Room Tip: Choose superior room. Standard rooms do not have AC's and TV. AC is an extra charge for standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Good Morning,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Apologies about the misunderstading re the standard room. Descriptions are indeed clear on the website, in fact most locals prefer the Superior Studio due to the bath, TV and AC. We have no Standard rooms with a bath, they all feature a shower, TVs will be installed in all room this winter, and AC is availble but at an extra cost.

Glad that you enjoyed your stay after you changed rooms!

Thank you

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromer, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Had a wonderful time here. Clean, modern rooms. Really friendly staff. Regular change of towels and bedding. Excellent pool for children. Excellent location with easy reach of the beach. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Hi Jayne,

Thank you very much for your lovely review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay here with us and will not hesitate to return in the future!

Thanks, do feel free to contact me should you wish to return to Luna.

Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have just had our family holiday at the Luna 30th July-13th Aug and were a bit disappointed. Our room (1 bed aptm) was very dated and lacking the facilities it should have had. No comfort anywhere (just plastic dining chairs and hard beds). No ventilation in the bathroom and the window in the bedroom opened on to a shaft. The balconies facing the countryside are noisy as the main road is busy. We enjoyed sitting watching the farmer across the road plough his fields!We booked in as self catering but ended up upgrading to Half Board as it was easier. We are glad we did this as it was much easier and the food was lovely.It can be expensive eating out when there are 4 of you.

We lost all my daughter's medication on day one due to the fridge not been cold enough. If it had been insulin she would have had to go to hospital everyday for injections! Luckily it wasn't but it has still made her lose 2 weeks of medication and wasted expensive drugs.

Basically, nice clean hotel, good food, some lovely staff (10/10 for Sinead - lovely lady!). Pools small but clean. Weather stifling in August but lacking air con in reception area and dining room. You also have to pay for air con in your room if required (expensive). Needs more evening entertainment as it's too quiet - not much to do in Mellieha. Beach very near, water is warm and crystal clear! Beware on buses... children are adults at 11!! We got charged a penalty from an inspector due to the driver of another bus issuing us wrong tickets! (10 euros each!!).

Steep climb up to Mellieha town, but the views are beautiful at the top! If you want a cheaper holiday near a beach and a good bus route this is ideal. I don't normally read reviews much but I have to admit some of them are spot on!

Room Tip: The rooms without a sea view can be noisy due to main road (nice country view). Some sea view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Hi Kirsty

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I am sorry you were a bit dissappointed with some aspects of your stay.

I am glad you enjoyed the dinners and found the Halfboard to be good value for money. With regards to the rooms, as mentioned we are currently refurbisihing rooms in phases, having more than 50% of the apartments complete we will continue with more rooms this winter.

I apologise with regards to the fridge, I am sure the team replaced the fridge immediatly.

Glad that overall you rated us 3/5 having mentioned that Luna is a nice clean hotel with good food and some lovely staff!

Thank you

Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kloosterzande, Zeeland, Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

we stayed in Luna 5 aug-14 aug.
Our room was with a vieuw on the beach, beautifull!
the room was clean, but looked old! The beds are very dirthy.We pay a lot for this!
Compliments for de cleaning people. Pity that you must pay so much for airco.
Everyone was very friendly and helpfull .De hotel is clean.
The breakfast buffet could be better .Put the cheese and ham on ice ,when the weather is so hot. All by all we had a great holiday,

Room Tip: rooms at de sea side are quieter. when you booked, read if their is airco on the room!! 10 E. a day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Good Morning!

Thank you very much for your review! I am glad that you had a great holiday overall!

As mentioned in previous responses, we are in the process of refurbishing rooms, we will be doing refurbishment in Block 4 this winter. I am not quite sure what you mean by beds are very dirthy. I assure you all our linen is laundered and if the linen is stained it is removed from our stock.

With regards to the AC it is clearly stated on the website as well as documentation sent to the agents. it is not included in the prices as some agents prefer to keep it seperate to secure the lowest prices.

thanks for the review, and that overall you had a great holiday!

Thank you

Kyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luna Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Holiday Complex

Address: Marfa Rd, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9063, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mellieha
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Holiday Complex located in Mellieha Malta, is rated one of the best three star apart-hotels in Malta.DescriptionWhy Choose To Stay with us?The Luna Holiday Complex is situated in the heart of the north west of the Island in the town of Mellieha. Whilst this is a thriving tourist resort it still maintains it’s authentic Maltese charm by not being overly commercial. There are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants in the town to suit all tastes and budgets.Mellieha is well situated with direct bus services to the majority of the island including: the Airport, the Capital City of Valletta and the ferry terminals to Gozo and Comino.The Luna is located less than 300 metres from the best and longest beach in Malta, ‘Mellieha Bay’ and is only 15 minutes walk from the famous ‘Popeye Village’.At the Luna Holiday Complex we pride ourselves on giving a 4 star service at a 3 star price. We have a fantastic family of staff, speaking many different languages all ready and willing to give that little bit extra to ensure your holiday is one to remember.Within the Complex we have much to shout about. Once you’ve been welcomed by our staff on arrival the complex is yours to explore. We have a 24-hour reception with a great, informative team who can give you the best advice on tours and places to visit whilst in Malta. All tours can be booked directly through our reception staff. We also have free Wi-Fi and an Internet café in the reception area.We have two fantastic pools. The ground floor family pool is superbly located next to the main bar and the games room whilst our roof top pool has fabulous views of the Mellieha coastline, Red Tower and Mellieha church which is a must for relaxation and enjoying both the Maltese sunshine and sunset!There are three bars on site, with one open from 10am until 1am, which includes entertainment multiple nights a week from local artists. Our main restaurant is ‘Al Fresco’ (weather permitting) serving a great variety of food to suit all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, AvailPro, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Luna Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Holiday Complex Mellieha
Luna Hotel Malta
Luna Holiday Complex Hotel Mellieha
Luna Holiday Complex Malta/Mellieha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Holiday Complex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.