We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“maltas 'frankie and bennies'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al ponte Bistro & Pizzeria

Al ponte Bistro & Pizzeria
Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa Mellieha Northern Malta | George Borg Olivier Str., Mellieha, Island of Malta, Malta
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 73 restaurants in Mellieha
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: "This restaurant is in Maritim Antonio spa in Mellieha Malta. The food choice is extensive and prices are affordable. The decor is typical Maltese Bistro and one can see cooks preparing your pizza while you are waiting and enjoying a nice glass of wine".
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“maltas 'frankie and bennies'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

visited twice during our weeks stay. both times were good experiences.

first visit we had 2 courses, a shared starter and 2 burgers. the burgers were nice, home made and tasty.

second time we went for dessert and coffee after our hotel meal. desserts were nice and the service both times was excellent.

the prices were resonable, the cheapest on the main street but not reflected in the quality

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    27
    30
    10
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great portions, attentive staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Really lovely food, ranges from burgers and chips to more traditional Maltese dishes. Something for everyone.. Lovely milkshakes and a wide range of desserts. Open late so great if you want to grab a late night bite. Staff are really friendly and happy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Overall not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We used this restaurant twice during our stay at the Maritim Antonine Hotel within which it is located. The first time we were quite impressed, probably as a contrast with the substandard main Les Jardins restaurant in the hotel, but to be fair the swordfish steaks were generous and nicely done. The Cajun chicken salad was disappointing because the chicken pieces were deep fried in batter and lacked any serious spiciness (not the same as almost every other presentation of Cajun chicken we've ever experienced). The taster platter of Thai dishes was very good. The dessert cake - baccio cake - was seriously rich and yummy, too much really. Coffee was excellent.
However, the second time we used this place it was to order a takeaway burger to eat in our room, and this is where the problems arose. The staff were as friendly and prompt as ever in serving, and even made it appealing on a proper plate with a side salad instead of putting it in a takeaway box. But the experience of eating it went instantly bad when it became clear there was a serious amount of gristle in the meat of the burger. When told of this the staff just shrugged as if to say 'what do you expect?' When pressed to admit this wasn't acceptable they offered a replacement dish, but no apology. This is supposed to be a four star establishment - no way I say. If you do eat here, ok but take care.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good food and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We ate at this restaurant during a holiday to Malta. We sat in the outside area, close to the side road. Although a little noisy, it is very pleasant to be able to sit outside and you get a good view of the bay as well as a cooling breeze. The restaurant is well furnished and the food very reasonable. They tend to cater for the European tourist but if you delve a little deeper you can find local cuisine as well. Most of the restaurants in this area have similar style menus. We had the greek salad and the club sandwhich, both very good. Pricing is good and we would happily eat here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“CHEF'S SPECIALS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I broke my own golden rule to travel: "Do not repeat an experience". I am guilty as I returned to al Ponte Bistro.

Firstly, to have the mouth watering "Meltdown", again. This is the chefs signature apple pie with banana ice cream and a shot of sambuca - on fire. The combination is exquisite!

Secondly, the chefs Italian pasta as my first visit was fantastic "Ravioli di Coniglio" filled with rabbit meat and served with porcini mushroom and beef broth and next visit also good was "Trio Pasta Ripena al Sapore di mare" with ravioli filled with 1. Scallops and pawns, 2. Crab and lobster, 3. Mixed white fish, blended with baby tomatoes, olive oil , prawns and rucola.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al ponte Bistro & Pizzeria also viewed

Mellieha, Island of Malta
 
Mellieha, Island of Malta
Mellieha, Island of Malta
 

Been to Al ponte Bistro & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al ponte Bistro & Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.