We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salty Pasta” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Al ponte Bistro & Pizzeria

Al ponte Bistro & Pizzeria
Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa Mellieha Northern Malta | George Borg Olivier Str., Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 1021, Malta
+356 2289 2745
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 82 Restaurants in Mellieha
Price range: $2 - $27
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: This celebrated a la carte restaurant is an authentic Maltese bistro under a rustic vault ceiling with a beautiful terrace; the latter being filled with flawlessly presented tables all year round for the enjoyment of a sumptuous al fresco meal. Al Ponte is renowned, particularly among local guests, for its delicious Mediterranean food and selection of local and foreign wines. Feast on a scrumptious pizza, fresh from Al Ponte's stone oven, after watching the progress of your mouth-watering meal in the bistro's open kitchen. In the late morning, the bistro acts as a cafeteria, and later on serves lunch and also dinner. Cakes and coffees are continuously available. Al Ponte Pizzeria and Bistro is one of the Restaurants at the MARITIM Antonine Hotel & Spa.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Salty Pasta”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Located at a busy corner on Mellieha's main road the place has plenty of seats outside, the food, however, is only average. My wife had a salmon pasta, which had not much taste other than that it was very salty. I had a chicken burger, ok but nothing special. Overall an average place to eat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    40
    14
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely view from the terrace!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Al ponte has a great atmosphere with an incredible view. I've tried their pizza and it was really good. We enjoyed sitting on the terrace, drinking beer, while watching the TV. The dough of the pizza is really good and the last thing you eat will be the crust. It was a superb meal with no disappointments at all!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a good place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had good food the 3 times we ate here. Dishes from the specials menu impressed us most. Wine and drinks good, staff were friendly and accommodating.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Total waste of money.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

I got the burrito calzone which was cold inside and just horrible, really disappointing. My mum got a cold cappuccino. Staff were not at all customer focused

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Certificate of excellence what??!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I went to eat there on a Saturday evening. As we sat down we were given the menus. By the look of it, it seemed to offer good food but it was only a thought. After sitting down for twenty minutes my husband had to call a waitress to see if she was going to take our orders. Finally a waitress came. Another twenty five minutes the drinks FINALLY came. (We were seeing the beer we ordered on the bar inside but they weren't given to us.) The food came after half an hour after the drinks. We saw other customers who started complaining about their late food. When the food came at last I saw my pizza that I had ordered and I was going to scream..... a quarter of an egg divided into three pieces, half an artichoke divided into four pieces, mozzarella and three slices of salami!!! And, by the way, the way they were put on the pizza was as if the chef threw from a long distance. The taste was not good too. Infact I didn't eat it half of it. I am very sure there are other restaurants much better than this in Mellieha.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al ponte Bistro & Pizzeria also viewed

Mellieha, Island of Malta
Mellieha, Island of Malta
 
Mellieha, Island of Malta
 

Been to Al ponte Bistro & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al ponte Bistro & Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.