We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Ponte

Al Ponte
George Borg Olivier Street | Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 1021, Malta
+356 2289 2745
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 89 Restaurants in Mellieha
Price range: $2 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This celebrated a la carte restaurant is an authentic Maltese bistro under a rustic vault ceiling with a beautiful terrace; the latter being filled with flawlessly presented tables all year round for the enjoyment of a sumptuous al fresco meal. Al Ponte is renowned, particularly among local guests, for its delicious Mediterranean food and selection of local and foreign wines. Feast on a scrumptious pizza, fresh from Al Ponte's stone oven, after watching the progress of your mouth-watering meal in the bistro's open kitchen. In the late morning, the bistro acts as a cafeteria, and later on serves lunch and also dinner. Cakes and coffees are continuously available. Al Ponte Pizzeria and Bistro is one of the Restaurants at the MARITIM Antonine Hotel & Spa.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was recomened to us and it did not fail. The starters were great but wish i had only ordered the main as i struggled to finish the pizza. The pizza was that good, we went back 2 nights later and it was just as good. The staff were on the ball and really frindly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    50
    17
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MALTA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“late customers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We went to eat at around 11.30pm and although late we were accepted. Food was good and we were served decently. They didn't rush us to leave soon.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a pitty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Popped in one day for lunch,no waiter on terrace for about 10mins.Than came jung lady asking if everything is ok,i was dying thirsty so ask for a small beer and menu,and she came in about 10mins so i asked for bill which arrived in another 5mins and then they let you wait for change another 10 mins.Spend here half hour and got half pint.What a waiste of time...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great Mussels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Part of Martim Hotel but had a meal and I had the Mussels and my girlfriend had the prawns both well cooked and ample quantity and good service and not too pricey.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Nice cosy restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a very nice restaurant to go to when you have kids. We ate at the place several times with our 1 year old daughter. Nice pasta's and pizza's. Really liked the torteloni with pumkinsauce. Would go there ones more for sure if we go back to Malta!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Ponte also viewed

Mellieha, Island of Malta
Mellieha, Island of Malta
 
Mellieha, Island of Malta
Mellieha, Island of Malta
 

Been to Al Ponte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Ponte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.