We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Large pool with pool area
Large pool with pool area
Large pool with pool area
Mangnificent Surroundings1
Mangnificent Surroundings2.
Living and dining room
Terrace with overlooking views
Mellieha
|
Condo/Apartment – 
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
BomberOGr...
Kungsbacka, Sweden
1 review
“A very nice holiday!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We had a very nice stay in Villa Lyss with our teenagers. Our plan was to explore Malta, live close to restaurants/shops in a village, have a pool to relax by AND have access to good beaches nearby! With our rental car it was a short drive to several nice beaches (5 - 15 minutes) and for the evening dinner its a walking distance (a few hundred meters) to a number of pleasant restaurants.

We choose Mellieha because we wanted to spend most of our time in this region - the beaches up here, and close to ferries for Gozo and Comino. Paradise beach became our favorite. Valletta and Sliema was only about a 40 minute drive. Mdina maybe 15 minutes. All nice excursions.

Lovely, relaxing pool-area and a quiet neighborhood.

Ray and Maria were very nice and helpful. And Ray gave us lots of valuable information that made our stay even nicer - thank you!

For us it was the perfect place to stay.

All the best
Mikael H / Sweden

P.S. I'm glad that the house-cat found its way home again, after the un-authorised outdoor adventure :-)

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Wi-Fi should be included. AC?
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Berghjes
Oirschot, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks. Very large and clean apartment. Lots of space. Quiet environment. Beautiful view. Big pool with enough sunbeds and umbrellas.
Restaurants, supermarket, bakery etc nearby. Rental car is advised.
Owners very friendly and helpful. Really enjoyed our stay.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: the inside space
Liked least: nothing but if i have to pick something: no airconditioning
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Allydud
Brixham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic location, lovely accomodation, perfect owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 for a stay in October 2012

We went to Villa Lyss in late Oct 2012 (Half Term) with partner and 2 children (7&12). We hired a car for the week which we collected from the airport on our arrival, an easy drive to the Villa of around 40 minutes.
Lovely apartment, spacious and well maintained. The views and pool area were fantastic and from what we saw around the island you would be hard pushed to find similar apartments. The owners were very helpful and friendly and provided the perfect balance of being around to answer any questions but let you get on with your holiday.
The beach in Mellieha is lovely, really great for the children with soft sand and shallow water with a few places to buy lunch.
Hiring a car to get around the island is useful and the local car hire companys offer good terms.
We would definatley consider coming back to Malta and returning to Villa Lyss.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location and apartment
Liked least: Nothing....
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
dormHertf...
hertfordshire.uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value,excellent facilities,excellent weather and excellent owners.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

My wife and I and our two children who are eight and five had a great time at the villa,the owners ,Raymond and Maria and their son Donald could not be more helpful and accommod ating.It really felt like home for the time we spent there,we would definite,ly think about returning.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The shared pool was immaculate and extremely well maintained.
Liked least: Unfortunately there was no air con which on very hot nights was a small gripe!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Bearbridg...
Weymouth
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A gem within a private residential area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

It is a pleaure to be able to write about Villa Lyss and its owners Ray and Maria. You are aways guarenteed a warm welcome.
Situated on the Sana Maria estate the apartments are spacious and clean. There are only three so you are guarenteed no more than 12 people staying at any one time. The private pool overlooking the valley to the sea is meticulously clean and there are ample beds and brollys.
It is a quiet haven
A ten minute walk to the town of Mellieha where there are enough restaurants of varying tastes and prices to suit all. You can walk to the excellant beach in the bay in about 30 minutes or catch one of the regular buses. These same buses will take you to Valletta and from there all around the island.
Only two things to take into account. The apartments are not air conditioned thugh ample fan are provided. Also Mellieha is built in a valley, so where ever you go it is up and down a hill.
I would highly recommend Villa Lyss as a place to stay.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Tranquility and cleanliness of the apartments and pool area
Liked least: Cant think of anything of note
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2014
Thanks for your kind review. It was a please having you with us and we look forward again to your next visit. Regards Ray and Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
munchkins...
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delightful location and great appartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Just come back from a week staying on the ground floor of Villa Lyss with husband and 2 kids aged 5 and 8. The appartment was very clean and had everything we could ask for. It's very spacious and we really loved being on the ground floor as there was quite a large terrace area just for our use and we could easily go and sit by the pool even once the kids were in bed.

The owners could not have been more helpful or more welcoming and they take great care of their appartments and the pool area. The pool was perfect, with a shallow area that our 5 year old could stand up in.

The thing that really stands out about this appartment is the location and the outlook. Malta is really quite built up and we found it hard to find somewhere to rent with a garden / greenery. The surroundings here are lovely, with palms and a small garden to the rear and an outlook down the hill to the sea. It's in a very nice area, surrounded by expensive looking villas!

Mellieha is an excellent family destination. The beaches here were great for the kids as the sea is so shallow and the beaches sandy. We found lots of nice places to eat and the appartment is only just down the hill from a supermarket. All in all a great place....but if they wanted to spend some money on it air conditioning would be a big bonus!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The ants
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2014
I would like to thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you in our Villa and look forward in welcoming you again. Regards Family Debono
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Holger un...
Burgwedel, Germany
1 review
“Traumurlaub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
Google Translation

Wir haben unseren Sommerurlaub hier Ende August bis Anfang September verbracht, besser gesagt genossen: Es war unglaublich, aber Ray und seine Frau haben uns das Gefühl gegeben, in der Villa Lyss zu Hause zusein. Dies begann schon bei unsere Ankunft damit, dass schon ein paar Lebensmittel vorhanden waren, so dass wir nicht gleich einkaufen gehen mussten. Auch während unseres sehr erholsamen Aufenthaltes bekamen wir von beiden immer wieder sehr gute Tipps für Ausflüge, aber schönsten war es, wenn wir von einem unser Ausflüge nach Hause kamen und in den super gepflegten Pool hüpfen konnten. Übrigens war die gesamte Anlage super gepflegt und sehr, sehr gut in Schuss, Ray hat jeden Tag - meistens vor seinem abendlichen ‚Schwimmtraining‘ - saubergemacht und die Spielsachen der Kinder aufgeräumt. Während unseres Aufenthaltes wurde sogar die Wäsche komplett gewechselt. Kurz gesagt, es war ein Traumurlaub und wir denken schon darüber nach, nochmals hier Urlaub z u machen. Vielen Dank jedenfalls an Ray und seine Frau für zwei wunderbare Urlaubswochen.

Die Drei aus Burgwedel, Deutschland

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$87
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Ray. D
356 21 520365
Speaks English, Italian
Listed since : Jan 2009
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 347 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing