We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We saved the best until last” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Amigo Restaurant

L'Amigo Restaurant
Gorg Borg Olivier Street | (Main Road ), Mellieha, Island of Malta, Malta
00345 21520822
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 89 Restaurants in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $62
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We saved the best until last”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

My partner and I went to this restaurant on our last evening in Mellieha, we were seated straight away by welcoming and friendly staff. The food was amazing, and the wine we were recommended was just what we wanted. We defiantly saved the best restaurant in Mellieha until last I would definitely recommend a visit.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    55
    12
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Best value restaurant in town - go for the maltese specials”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Our favourite restaurant in Mellieha - we had to have dinner here twice in a week. Very tasty dishes. Lovely service albeit slowish - go for the maltese specials (the rabbit liver entree is just awesome!). On our first visit we each had a different animal for mains: horse stew, stuffed quail, fried rabbit, beef olives - all were really really delicious, we wish we left room for dessert as from what we saw they also looked scrumptious. Our waitress was really nice and came to our table as soon as we caught her eye, so we had no real problems with getting served at all. Best of all was the price, for such delicious and generous-sized dishes we were pleasantly surprised of how easy on the pocket it was (82 euros for 4 of us, 4 mains and entrees plus a bottle of wine - awesome!). No wonder it was busy, this has got to be the best value restaurant in town.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Well done!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Had very little choice but to go here as the rest of Mellieha was in darkness, only other places open were the big hotels. So they obviously have there own generator. Service was slow but from other reviews that's normal. But when the food came it was very good. The service even though it was slow which may be normal or because it was packed with a queue half way down the stairs by the time we left was very friendly. Got to take hat off to them. Will go back before we finish our holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Very slow service; when asked where our main was, within seconds it miraculously arrived. The food arrived cold and overcooked. No apology given nor gestures to indicate they cared

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mouthwatering”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Oh my goodness, the food here is to die for! The service is awesome. The décor is lovely. The view is nice. It's perfect. It's such a chilled out restaurant that provides amazing service, with very welcoming staff and delicious food for such a cheap price. I went for a meal with my mum and dad, and overall we had a pizza - which was delicious - a tuna salad - which was gorgeous - a cannelloni - which was superb - as well as a bottle of wine and a soft drink and it came to the cheap price of only 43euro, which I think is superb, as the food was delicious and at any other restaurant it is much more expensive! Definitely go there, as it is perfect for anyone!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Amigo Restaurant also viewed

Mellieha, Island of Malta
Mellieha, Island of Malta
 
Mellieha, Island of Malta
 

Been to L'Amigo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Amigo Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.