We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuffed Squid - Excellent !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Amigo Restaurant

L'Amigo Restaurant
Gorg Borg Olivier Street | (Main Road ), Mellieha, Island of Malta, Malta
00345 21520822
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 89 Restaurants in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $62
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Stuffed Squid - Excellent !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed across the road in the Solana and ate here mid week. The meal was excellent !!

I started with Garlic Bread which was a meal in itself and the best I've ever had, followed by Stuffed Squid which was really excellent.

The whole meal was delicious and accompanied by a local red wine - fabulous value for money.

We tried a different restaurant each night but this one is by far the best !!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    55
    12
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best of the Bunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My fiancée and I tried most of the mid-priced restaurants on the main street of Mellieha as voted this one as the best, so we went back on our last night having been on the Saturday night as well.

The atmosphere is quiet although sometimes if they have the window open the hustle and bustle of the main street can be a bit disturbing, but it's a lovely family-run restaurant and as with most other Maltese restaurants cater for foreign tastes. We however on both occasions chose from the Maltese cuisine menu and were not left disappointed. Upon ordering you are served with some puffed crackers with an olive paste and an anchovy paste. Both are good to whet the appetite. The food itself is done really well, the traditional fare is rabbit, the chef at L'amigo did an amazing dish where he stuffs rabbit livers into a quail and serves it with bacon bits in a tomato-based onion sauce. On the last night I opted for the stuffed oven-baked squid which, while tasty was too much after the Gozo salad (a hybrid of various produce from the smaller inhabited island neighbour of Malta).

Dessert was a bit less imaginative, like most traditional restaurants inspiration is drawn from neighbouring Italy, though the almond sponge Cassata comes recommended.

Prices are reasonable, expect to pay around €12-17 if you're ordering a main off the Maltese menu. Desserts are approximately €4.

All-in-all, a highly recommended restaurant for anyone either staying in Mellieha, or coming back from Gozo en route to the major cities for a quick dinner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best gammon ever.!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I had gammon, and it came served with great potatoes ( baked in stock and fennel I think ), and vegetables. Everything was delicious,and the gammon must have been an inch thick, as well as being just about the best we had ever tasted.!!! We both had spaghetti bolognese as a starter, and it was excellent, as was the complimentary olive dish we received after we ordered. Service was quick and friendly too, so all in all we had a very pleasant dining experience and not too costly either.!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORWICH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had been to this restaurant 12 years ago and found it was one of the best places to eat, so when we went back there last month we were glad it was still there! And we went back to eat there almost every night during our stay, the King Prawns were excellent! The staff were so attentive and nothing was to much trouble. Next time we are in Malta we will be back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We went for a dinner two of us on our last night in Malta and did not regret this. We tried the primo dishes- pizza and spaghetti frutti di mare and they were both excellent. We also loved the complimentary dish of two different tapenadas. And the staff was very helpful and nice. Would definately come back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Amigo Restaurant also viewed

Mellieha, Island of Malta
Mellieha, Island of Malta
 
Mellieha, Island of Malta
 

Been to L'Amigo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Amigo Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.