We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkable dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Mithna

Il Mithna
58 Triq il-Kbira, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 03, Malta
(+356) 2152 0404
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 83 Restaurants in Mellieha
Price range: $29 - $36
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Birkirkara, Malta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Remarkable dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This restaurant is definitely one of the top spots in the northern part of Malta. The ambience is superb. The food is great and we are always welcomed by friendly and efficient staff. Last Saturday's experience was definitely a remarkable dining experience. Whether you want a romantic meal or treating your family, this is the place. I highly recommend this restaurant. if you are visiting Malta, you have to try this place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    102
    27
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarratt, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Restaurant Experiance In Melieha”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Whether you are wanting a romantic meal for two or a quiet family meal this restaurant is superb. Excellent chef owner and a team who make the evening a quality experience. There is a quality wine, al a carte and set menu...all are very well priced. If the weather is as expected a table in the open front balcony is a must (forget the view of a normal street and a couple of bars they are far enough away to not notice and to be honest the company and food are the main event). The specials are excellent...we recommend the rabbit and pork belly AND try the Maltese and Gozo wines..very good. The pasta is fresh and excellent.. Overall we would like to thank the staff and owner for a brilliant evening....it was so good we went back for our last night...see you next time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Weighton, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautifully located, lovely old building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful meal here, well presented with some little freebie starters that were very tasty. The ginger and carrot soup was to die for, my mozzarella salad unbelievably tasty and my husband's fillet steak was top quality. Fabulous flavours, superb relaxed and friendly service in a smashing location

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Restaurant itself is absolutely beautiful and very well maintained. Food was lovely, staff were warm and welcoming, lovely place to have dinner. The only downfall was the view from the balcony looking across in to an old English looking pub.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb restaurant in Melieha”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We spent the first night of our honeymoon eating in this restaurant. Their set menu is awesome, such good value and each dish was delicious. We were tucked away inside but being a old windmill the inside decor provides a traditional and romantic feel, whilst also having a delightful outside terrace.We loved our evening here and kicked off our honeymoon to a great start!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Mithna also viewed

Mellieha, Island of Malta
Mellieha, Island of Malta
 
Mellieha, Island of Malta
Mellieha, Island of Malta
 

Been to Il Mithna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Mithna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.