We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel great position” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bungalows Barranco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bungalows Barranco to your Saves list
Bungalows Barranco
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Santiago Puig 3, 38660 Arona, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Arona
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel great position”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We found Bunalows Barranco what we expected from the reviews we read before we booked. The reception staff and general staff are very pleasant. Getting our luggage to the appartment was easy using the lift. The lounge/kitchen is a nice size, two large sofas, dining table & 4 chairs, oven/grill, 2 hot rings, Electric kettle you have to get from reception & leave a 20 euro deposit. The stairs to the bedroom/bathroom can be a bit of a problem, i am 65 and have walking difficulties but managed quite well, although its anoying when you forget something and have to make another trip. The bedroom and bathroom are not all that big. There is also a balcony to the bedroom as well as the terrace down stairs, take your pick which you use. The rooms are clean like the rest of the hotel, very nicely looked after. We would go back again. You are in a great position to go anywhere for shops, resturaunts and the beach. And there are lots of interconnecting paths which are good if you want a short cut to some where. A resturaunt we highly recomend is on the lefthand side of the street opposite the hotel. The Bohemian Gardens, very nice food at a fair price and pleasant staff. Try the lamb chops, very nice indeed. If you want WI-FI ask staff for password.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    39
    30
    11
    11
See reviews for
22
51
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was our first visit to the Barranco Bungalows and was very impressed,they are set in a nice size complex.The rooms are a good size with the bedroom and bathroom on the upper floor but be aware of the spiral staircase as it takes some getting used to.We had a room at the front over looking the main road above the Anchor Bar which was great as it had a large balcony and got the sun most of the day.The staff could not do enough for you we even hired an Electric Kettle from reception we had to pay 20 Euro and when you gave it back you got all the money back.It has nice size pool but does not get much of the sun due to the pools location.There are plenty of places to eat and drink at a reasonable cost beer was 1 Euro between 10 and 6 at the Aberdeen Steakhouse and full English Breakfast 3 Euro just 100 yards from the Bungalows.I would like to thank the staff for giving us a room that we requested and for a great holiday will return again.

Room Tip: Room 109 has a large balcony but is above the Anchor Bar and can get a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhoughton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit to the Barranco and we had a duplex apartment for 2. Much better than the studio that we had the first time but not good if you're not so great on your pins. The staircase is a tight spiral affair. The top is about half way between the bed and the bathroom so could be very interesting if not fully awake - you soon would be!
In a great location for walking either into Los Cristianos or up to Fanabe or just for a general stroll.
Loads of good supermarkets nearby and you can get a great cooked breakfast for around 3 euro including tea or coffee. We found that El Cedro and Montana next door to each other at Parque Santiago III offer the best value and quality along with good service accompanied by a smile.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We spent 10 very relaxing days at the Barranco Bungalows in mid August last year. A very well kept complex of apartments arranged back to back around a mid sized pool with a life guard. A decent sized bathroom withshower over the bath a plenty of hot water.The staff are friendly and approachable but low key. There are a couple of good sized supermarkets across the road and plenty of places to have a nice meal or drink. It is family friendly but the spiral staircase is a bit tricky if you have young children or mobility/health issues. The maids clean every day and leave fresh bath towels and tea towel. The apartments are within walking distance of Veronica Strip leading to a good selection of shops and a McDonalds! We highly recommend going on the Loro Parque zoo trip set in the north of the island. Im not a zoo lover but this is well worth a visit and also Siam Water Park with a wave pool and lots of different water rides which is 5 mins away on the courtesy bus. We will definitely be visiting again to explore more of the island and shops!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back of the pool for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We recently came back from a two week stay in Bungalows Barranco over Christmas booking both a studio room and normal room between four of us.. I would strongly advise you NOT to book a studio room. This room ..... which we renamed 'The Cupboard' was quite shocking. It was tiny, with no balcony, nowhere to dry clothes and quite depressing. We only managed 3 nights and quite happily paid the 10 euro a night upgrade to a new room - to be fair we booked this room, it wasnt the hotels fault and they upgraded us straight away and were very helpful. We got a room next to the pool which was nice (Rm 25 I think). A tip, my parents had a room at the front of the hotel (room 132), and they struggled to sleep at night due to the noise of the traffic (they are overlooking a main road and this is also close to the hospital hence lots of sirens passing by), our room however was really quiet at night, but if you like being nosey and watching whats going on then the rooms on the front are a good view point! Another tip - I would definately not book these apartments if you are not confident on your legs/elderly - the steps in the apartments going up to the bedroom and bathroom are winding and steep and my dad struggled throughout the holiday. The hotel itself was nice, and very central to Las Americas with lots of restaurants/bars close by. You are also only a short walk away from Veronicas strip and the beach. Although the rooms looked clean, and floors were mopped every day they certainly were not swept at all. Towels and bedding were regularly changed. Any rubbish that happened to fall out of the bin in the cupboard was not picked up and left until you moved it yourself - but again we never mentioned this to reception to give them a chance to rectify. Its a good base if you want to be Central, but we found the hotel to lack a bit of personality - not many people were by the pool during the day as it is mostly shaded, and there is no hotel pool bar, so you didnt really get to meet people or chat with other holidaymakers which was a shame. You felt quite safe as the hotel entrance was locked at night. A lovely touch which was very appreciated was on Christmas Eve when we returned to our room, a bottle of Cava, chocolates and a christmas postcard were left in our room from the hotel which was really nice. Overall - holiday was fairly priced for the accommodation, reception staff / cleaners and night staff were friendly and helpful. There is an internet shop next to the hotel which is extremely cheap, and there is also a good excursion shop a couple of doors down with Sean and Fiona (English) who can help you with trips. I would recommend the Quad Safari its brill !!! We tended to venture to Puerto Colon every day, the beach is much better and it seems to have calmer atmosphere than Las Americas. Finally ..... A few other people have mentioned to go in the Jersey Cow .... this bar is for aged 75 +, its like an old social club! The best bit is definately Tango Restaurant next to the hotel - the fillet steaks are the best I have ever had anywhere, we only had excellent meals in this restaurant and the staff are extremely friendly (Also you get 10% off with your room card given on check in) - I would make sure that you double check your bill though -but please don't let this put you off, the food is exceptional and staff lovely. Enjoy your holiday !!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Me &my friend have just got back from a week in the sun at barranco bungalows. Barranco bungalows is in the central of everything and in a perfect location for this self catering hotel.

The hotel room was very clean, excellent location we was in room 10 and it was literally 10 footsteps to the pool and sunbeds. There are stairs in these hotel rooms which do take abit of getting use to, however you do have your own private balcony as well as being able to sit outside your hotel room door.

The kitchen facilities does not include a microwave. Our room was offered to be cleaned nearly everyday as well as fresh bed sheets clean towels and kitchen towels.

If you read the handbook provided in your room, it tells you that the restaurant attached to the hotel is 10% discount to all people staying in barranco bungalows, as well as the cocktail bar a few buildings down.

Reception is 24hours and all staff were very polite. We was informed that the doors get locked at 2 o clock so to get in after 2 we had to ring a bell - which made us feel extremely safe. On arrival we was asked to give a € 15 pp deposit incase of breakages which we would receive back on th day of checkout.

On the same street as barranco bungalows is approximately 6 places to eat, ranging from Chinese, Indian and steak houses as well as Italian food. On the street is also an Iceland and 2 mini-markets. Opposite the hotel is another strip of supermarkets and places to eat as well.
At the bottom of our road if you were to turn left, you walk towards countless shopping centres open at all hours, many restaurants, and bars. As well as the beach. If you turn right at the bottom of the road, you will see Burger King, McDonald's, and subway! And at night time it becomes a strip of nightclubs and bars where you do get pestered every 10 yards to go in their clubs!

I don't really have anything negative to say, we loved our week there it was so calm and relaxing in the hotel everybody was so friendly. I would defnitely recommend this hotel for all types, as there is something to do that will cater for everybody!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackburn
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in apartment 25 next to the metal stairs ,apartment was spotlessly clean as was the whole complex,towels changed a twice a week ,bedding was not changed after 9 days (possible oversight???)so asked on the 9th day and it was done .
The shower/bath was the best i have ever come accross ,very hot and powerfull ,brilliant.
The lounge/kitchen was downstairs ,found this to be very drab ,we found it hard to stay in here at night ,upstairs via the spiral staircase was the bedroom & batroom with a balcony this was better than the lounge ,people with climbing difficulties would certainly find the staircase very hard .
Outside the apartment was a type of inner court with most the bungalows accross and around close to each other .
The swimming pool is disapointing ,small surrounded for 3/4 by apartments with sunbeds around and are very hard as they have no mattrass on it .
A safe can be hired for 13 euro a week
.Downstairs next to the entrance is a internet cafe 1Euro per hour or telephone 15pence a minute to the UK .
Also there is a restaurant were guest get a 10% discount .
The apartments are on a dual carriage way ,but this does not get to busy most of the time.
Within a 3 min. walk are 2 supermarkets ,plenty of restaurants ,Spanish ,Lebanese , Chinese etc.
Accross the road is the "Jersey Cow" pub ,this is well worth a visit as they have a resident compare guitar player come singer and also at least one act some nights 2 acts .(the Buddy Holly show is brilliant) and very reasonable drinks prices.2.5 Euro a pint.
The apartment are in a very good location ,5 to 8 walk from the sea ,to the beach is 10 to 15min. walk,Safari shopping centre 10 to 15min.
I don't think we will return to these apartments again but they will suit a lot of people as they have a lot going for them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bungalows Barranco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows Barranco

Address: Avenida Santiago Puig 3, 38660 Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Arona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bungalows Barranco 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Budget Places, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Bungalows Barranco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalows Barranco Hotel Arona
Barranco Hotel Arona
Bungalows Barranco Tenerife, Canary Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bungalows Barranco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.