We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not as good as I had hoped” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Cafe Mencey

Restaurante Cafe Mencey
Calle Gorrion 1 | Palm-mar, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
922748084
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 193 Restaurants in Arona
Cuisines: Spanish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: "Café Mencey's" interior has been designed with care and taste for you to enjoy in relaxed style. From its sunny terraces, you canenjoy those long, warm evenings by the sea. Thiscontemporary modern grill combines a traditional rusticbarbecue (always with wood), with quality and elegantpresentation of its imaginative, specialty cuisine. You'll besurprised at the variety of creative desserts as well as theexcellent selection of tapas. And in the chill-out area, youcan enjoy simply taking a drink with your friends. Come and discover anew dining experience at an exceptional restaurant rightin front of the sea in Palm Mar.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good but not as good as I had hoped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

We went to Cafe Mency on our first night in Palm Mar and the restaurant was quiet considering it was a Friday evening. The service was excellent and looking at the menu and the interior of the restaurant (we particularly liked seeing the chefs at work in the open plan kitchen) we had high expectations. Sadly although the food was OK - I agree with the other reviewers on here when the prices are too high for what was provided. I had the russian salad to start - which wasn't hugely tasty my partner had the scallops - again not the best but OK. For main I had Poussin which although was nicely cooked (not dry) it came plonked on a dish with some potatoes. My partner ordered (or he thought he ordered Iberian pork) but it tasted more like duck so we wondered if our order had got mixed up. Anyway we went to Sea Lounge pretty much for the rest of the week as the standard of food was much better and on a similar price scale. Shame and I hope they learn and improve - we definitely plan to go back to Palm Mar and we will surely give it another chance.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    13
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hull Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Expectations (not realised).”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

We visited this restaurant on the first Sunday in October. We were a group of 11 friends.on arrival we were shown to a perfectly arranged table, the setting inside the restaurant hinted at a first class evening. The interior is impeccably decorated, the atmosphere was calming and relaxing, staff were atentative and helpful.

It was not a busy night, the place was relatively quiet apart from our group. We elected to have main courses only, although some of the girls ordered little croquettes as an appetiser. These turned out to be quite expensive. Mains arrived for 10 of us, the other arrived a good fifteen minutes later, vegetables were side dishes and again expensive and small in portion.

We all felt our mains were of average quality, an expensive meal, the bill per couple was 80 euros, we were all dissapointed with the experience, a second visit was definitely not on the agenda.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genk, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good, not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

This is a lovely restaurant. The atmosphere is really nice, and their staff is very friendly and skilled at what they do. The ocean view on the second floor is absolutely stunning.
It's a shame that there's a wasteland right in front of the restaurant though. Hopefully that'll get taken care of in the future.

The starters were tasty and creative. The main course was somewhat plain, even for a steak and chips. A bit of a let down for a restaurant of this calibre.
Our dishes where also a bit over salted. I tend to appreciate salty food, but this was too much even for me.

The restaurant is rather expensive for Tenerife standards. The bill was rather steep in comparison to other restaurants.

All in all I'm a bit disappointed. I expected spectacular, but I got "good" instead. I'd give it a 3.5/5, but it doesn't seem like that's possible.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
1 review
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Great and creative cuisine, very nice decoration, excellent customer service and reasonable price. Nothing bad to say about the place. We'll go back for sure.

Thanks,

Fran and Abi

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere but very expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Had a lovely meal here but was very expensive. Once seated we were given some bruschetta with octopus, we had not requested these but just given them so thought they were complimentary, they were charged to our bill! Beware of the specials, the waiter/waitress will tell you of the specials but doesn't tell you that they cost double the amount of the average menu prices, €40 for a steak was ridiculous! And €10 for 3 slices of cheese for a starter was also too much and also very sickly! Our bill for 2 starters, 2 mains and 1 bottle of wine was €90, far too expensive for a restaurant in Palm Mar. Service was very slow, we were there for 2 and a half hours because they were under staffed (as advised by the waiter). View of the sunset was great though even though the restaurant is situated over looking a wasteland.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWeytjens, Propietario at Restaurante Cafe Mencey, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Hello Michelle,

First of all, thank you for coming to our restaurant, and we are glad you liked the meal.
Maybe there is a confusion with some of your coments. The little starter we give everybody when seated is not the charge you have on the bill specified as "Comensales" We charge 1.80€ per person which includes not only that starter, but also the bread, the special butters and the service.
Our specials we offer are always in the same price range as on the menu. Our steak is 21€ and not 40€, and if it was the steak on the specials it is 23€. And swe apologize if the service was to slow that day. I hope you understand our answer. Best regards! Cafe Mencey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Cafe Mencey also viewed

Palm-Mar, Tenerife
Arona, Tenerife
 
Palm-Mar, Tenerife
 

Been to Restaurante Cafe Mencey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Cafe Mencey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.